We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gokarna Forest Resort(Kathmandu)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,329)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveller rating
408
505
281
86
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
505
281
86
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschimney restaurantcasino royaledurbar margtennis courtsswimming poolclub floorbusiness centerbreakfast buffetroyal palaceold palacethe heart of the citybusiness tripgarden viewan oasisnew wingrooms are comfortablecentral location
Filter
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We holed-up in this coiffed experience between trekking expeditions. For the tourist who never gets off the beaten track this highly stylized hotel transports the guest into a sanitized version of Himalayan culture. This is not a criticism just a preference for the authentic experience. I'd go back only only if other more authentic hotels are booked.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

it was really a nice hotel. the view from the hotel is really beautiful. hotel staff were very helpful and nice. breakfast is good. they charges really high price for wifi connectivity and there is no free wifi zone even in public area. otherwise its a good value for money hotel and the location is really good. there is a casino on the backside of the hotel.

Room Tip: alwayas go for gardenview rooms which is really beautiful
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nskfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were on our own in Kathmandu and couldn't have felt safer at the Yak and Yeti and in it's immediate neighborhood (we're seniors). The decor was very old world eastern and we loved it. The bathrooms are due for an upgrade, but everything is spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The dining was excellent, and the garden was a lovely surprise. We'd go back any day.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandalf974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Each time we visit Kathmandu, we find a nice little hotel in Thamel (the heart of the tourist district) to stay in prior to, and after, our trek. Nothing fancy. But when we return to town, after our trek, we gather up our group and walk down to the Yak & Yeti for the dinner buffet. Last time we invited our Sherpa guide (who was visiting his children in school after the trek) and his wife to join us.
The buffet, which is around $20 USD (as I recall) was amazing! So many different dishes to sample! Everything was delicious. It seems that after a long trek in the mountains, we are always more concerned with hot water showers and good food (anything but fried eggs and french fries) than the nature of the room architecture or quality of the lighting. Having said that, the dining area and entrance area are very beautiful - lots of polished local wooden beams, big rugs, and a shiny black grand piano.
The Yak & Yeti is always the place we go for a well-earned semi-formal sit down meal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I liked the Yak and Yeti for lots of reasons.

It is a standard 4* sort of hotel with decent beds where you can sleep off your jet lag. There is a kettle and supplies so that you can brew your own tea and coffee when you wake up - and something really good that more hotels should consider – the Y and Y give you a couple of bottles of drinking water each day. Fantastic idea! How many times have I been gasping in some weird place where I have to tramp around bleary eyed, trying to find suitable drinking water that wont cost an arm and leg and wont poison me??

The bedrooms have clearly had a bit of a make over recently but the bathrooms could do with a refurb and show distinct signs of wear and tear. Having said that, everything works adequately and is clean

The food is not the most imaginative. On the other hand nor will it poison you and the staff are obliging and helpful. I especially enjoyed being saluted smartly by the doorman every time I came in and went out! It was like being transported back to the days of the Raj….and I loved it! The Chimney restaurant provides a delightful westernised meal for those who are missing their home cuisines. We ate there twice and it was good, well served, well balanced ect , if slightly pricey

I have seen other reviews about noise at this hotel and I took particular note with regards to this point. Yes, there is a loud disco that faces the front of the hotel and this is intrusive, especially over the weekends. I therefore requested a garden facing room as suggested by another review and was pleased that I had. However, being a country full of gentle people who live and let live, there was a real pigeon problem so don’t be surprised to find them roosting (and more…!) on your windowsill!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms will avoid the disco
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews