We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Well Positioned Kathmandu Hotel”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #47 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Well Positioned Kathmandu Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed as a family at this city centre hotel. Nepal is a developing country and this review reflects this. The porter service was very good and our rooms were large and light. The staff were, without exception, willing, charming keen to help. The location of the site is ideal for business and sightseeing. Every effort was made to make us welcome; the breakfast was perfectly adequate, we did not dine at the hotel and I was told that that meal was acceptable if not exceptioal. The only watering hole was the "Pub" and this turned out to be a rather souless corner of the foyer. The gardens are attractive and well maitained and a good place to relax.
Al in all the management make every effort to make guests feel welcome. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Bedrooms overlooking the garden are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your kind and encouraging review on our hotel.

Along with the ongoing renovation of the rooms in our Newari Wing, the Pub area will also be renovated.

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti. We look forward to welcoming you again.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    418
    237
    75
    39
See reviews for
155
226
124
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My stay at the Yak & Yeti in the heart of Khatmandu, Nepal, was excellent and very peaceful. After the trek to the EBC and when needed time to stretch, I found Yak & Yeti the right place to relax. Though the hotel as such was busy during the time, but I was glad the Customer service was top notch. Will recommend a stay to any one if don't mind spending, extra for the hotel stay in Nepal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We would love to welcome you again to Hotel Yak & Yeti.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Good historical property to experience a short stay. It is best to visit during early winter to experience the weather and also the excellent service from the hotel. I visited on a business trip but would like to try going for a holiday as nepal as it is good for adventure sports and this hotel is good for stay as it holda many of advantages in its kitty

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boojnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

We are very glad that you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My daughter recommended this hotel having eaten there while a student studying abroad, as did our travel agent. The location is good in the city, the grounds of the hotel quite picturesque (garden side, at least) but it is a fortress with dreary city on the opposite side. We were upgraded to the Club floor, which was a nice surprise. Apparently occupancy is quite low, and there were no services on Club floor for first 24 hours. There was essentially no air conditioning in the room (the front office first sent someone up to clean our vent and later said it was "centrally controlled") yet instructions were not to open the window to the balcony which was, at any rate, covered with pigeon droppings. Later they offered us a fan and did clean the balcony. The decor, carpets, curtains were somewhat shabby and amenities not very good (only one tiny robe for two people and of course too small slippers for western males). I asked for and received a small teapot, but also requested some real milk for tea and instead received extra sugars and not even powdered milk product on the second day. Electricity did go off regularly and internet was correspondingly intermittent. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very complete and eclectic (whole long tables filled with slightly plump monks and nuns toting fancy cameras and gadgets and drinking wine!) and service in the restaurant was attentive and friendly. The Russian "chimney" restaurant was romantic, but the fish was not very good so we were not charged for it. The pool was small and frequented by very aggressive geese, and there were no attendants or towels onsite. Health club very tiny and dingy and was closed due to water leakage for a couple of days. We requested room service breakfast on an early departure tour day and relied on this for our wake up call. The restaurant staff apparently listened to our tour guide instead of to our directions (which we gave them twice), and packed a flimsy box breakfast full of carbs instead of waking us up with something healthy. We were late for the tour, which was supposed to include sunrise. The only bright spot in the visit was the concierge in the Club Lounge, who really went all out to try to improve our stay and he ended up chastizing the restaurant staff for not heeding the requests of guests. The hotel was also very helpful in getting a repairman to come to our room to repair a suitcase damaged by Air India.

I mentioned all of these concerns in a detailed on-site evaluation form (which asked me to compare their facility to "other 5 star hotels", but of course have heard nothing back from them after more than a month. I think this place is well past its prime and needs a management overhaul, or at least an infusion of cash which it will not get if it keeps treating guests as we were treated.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and ask for garden side. It will be noisy (geese and ravens and pigeons) but at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagafemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that your experiences were not as you expected. We have noted your concerns and are kept under serious consideration.

We would like to let you know that our standard rooms are going under complete renovations. After the renovations are complete, our new rooms will be equipped with state-of-the-art climate control system amongst many other new facilities. The pictures of the new rooms will be posted on our brand site soon.

Should you choose to stay with us again, we will leave no stones unturned to make your stay comfortable in every possible way.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed on the Club floor of this grand but slightly faded hotel. Rooms were excellent as was the service. Food also very good. But the hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up in the paint work in places. Location near one of the mian shopping streets is also very convenient. Be prepared for the electricity going off regualrly but the hotel has its own generator back-up so any inconvenience is minimal. The onkly problem was poor internet connection - I hope they will work on that. Highly recommended for a business visitor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davids27892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a enjoyable stay at our hotel. We would like to let you know that we also offer additional internet bandwidth speed upon request at an extra cost.

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have stayed in the Yak and Yeti a couple of times when I have visited Nepal, it is a lovely hotel. It is a short walk to Thamel. The staff are very friendly and ready to help you whenever, nothing is to much trouble for them. The food is very nice and fresh. I have stayed there with my family before we have been trekking, it is a lovely base to come back to after a long trek. I will return to the hotel next year, and can't wait.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are in process of being upgraded and are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, 16 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful feedback regarding our hotel.

Thank you for highlighting our high class services, facilities and central location.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in not the distant future.

Best Regards,
Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed at the Yak and Yeti recently and found it to be a good hotel but pretty average in the heart of Kathmandu. After arriving at the hotel, I got checked in pretty quickly by the helpful front desk staff. I was given a key to the room--not electronic but an old fashioned manual key. The room was pretty decent. King bed. Not a very large room. A good wooden desk to work on with ample US power connections. The power goes off a lot in Kathmandu so they provided a flashlight which was a nice and helpful touch. Wifi was good and code provided at front desk when you check in. Good bathroom with nice amenities. Good shower pressure but not great. Room was overall ok. I did not avail myself of any of the other hotel amenities as I was not there very long. Checkout was simple and I was on my way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephlandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#60 of 198 in Kathmandu
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#75 of 198 in Kathmandu
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Property: Hotel Yak & Yeti
Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing