We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island of calm in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #57 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here before our trek and after. The hotel stored our bags while we trekked with professionalism. Spotless property. Gorgeous shops in hotel lobby. Older architecture added to the charm. Friendly staff at desk and the bellmen - everyone greeting us and making sure our stay was top notch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear such a wonderful comment.

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. We hope you visit us again on your next potential visit.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is located in the centre of Kathmandu, near to Thamel district and the airport. It was an old palace which was converted into a hotel. It is situated in a quiet part of town. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are of average size. The hotel provides airport transfer on arrival and departure free of charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azizi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing such a detailed feedback on your stay with Hotel Yak & Yeti.

It was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Room condition is big. Furniture is butiful. But bedding has some bad smell. I request to change its and changed all bedding. But still smell.
Breakfast is poor for hotel class.
And i lost money in room. It's small money but i feel bad. I told it to hotel manager. He say to me that ask to employees.
But he not answer yet and he doubt me that use the money or kept the other place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank hairung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, we would like to apologize for this very rare case to have happened at our hotel. We could further identify the main issue, had you provided which room you had stayed in.

We are unable to comment on the issue of lost items due to ambiguity, but we have a 0% tolerance on misplaced items with out staff.

We have contacted all the necessary departments regarding your issue and it will be dealt with, with the highest priority.

We would like thank you for staying with us, and once again apologize for any inconveniences caused.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I've been to Kathmandu on several occasions and most times I stay in the backpackers district but after a week and a half in the rural central Nepal, the Yak and Yeti was worth the splurge. The hotel is still in a good area to walk to most things in Nepal but can feel like a world away from what can be a loud, dusty, and congested city. Service was great (they helped book us an Everest flight tour at a great price and allowed us to keep our bags there overnight for free when we ventured off to nearby Bhaktapur) and I thought it was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor overlooking the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in posting a review on your most recent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti. We are pleased to hear your appreciation of our quiet and relaxing atmosphere amidst being located in central Kathmandu.

We would love to welcome you back here again!

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was the most confused soul to book the hotel in Kathmandu since it was my first visit and read various mixed reviews about all the five star properties. Booked my hotel at 2 AM in the night and had to catch the fight at 1(afternoon) the next day. Narrowed the decision to 2 hotels - Annapurna and Yak and Yeti and thankfully chose the latter. As my trip went by I kept loving my decision. Check-in was very quick with the smiling front office staff who upgraded us to a suite, which was a lovely welcome to us. The suite was spic and span and overlooked the lawns and the pool. Wi-fi worked fine and is free with the room tariff (it just works on one device though). I misplaced my password and the business centre kindly helped me with the same.

The Best Bit - was the casino - Casino Royale - surely not the bond's casino royale but still kept the charm of the name. Filled with people me and my friend had a splendid time playing Black Jack and Little Kitty , not to forget the countless coins I lost and countless my friend won. Some of the dancers were really pretty and danced amazingly on bollywood numbers :)

The buffet was average not expanse but enough and hot. I will not say it was bad but would like to mention that croissants and tea were really nice.

The location of the hotel is at the right spot Durbar road and very close to Thamel. I was happy to be back on Dubar road after having bought variety of tea from Thamel and eating dimsums.

My entire weekend was spent wonderfully and the main reason was my hotel. I went to Casino Anna but was totally disappointed by the people in there and the layout. The staff and the manager at casino royale also always recognised the guests and gave us good welcome whenever we were at the casino. Made friends there who moved to Yak and Yeti on our recommendation from Hyatt.

Well whenever I go back again , I will book it once again on the hotels website. The only drawback or feedback would be for the hotel to offer some counters for the casino to resident guests .. Thanks

Room Tip: lawn facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jazneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review on your stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti. We are very glad you chose us and that decision did not go in vain despite the mix reviews you might have encountered.

We hope you visit us again during the spring time when our garden appears even more beautiful.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Yak & Yeti.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Really feel at home here. The masala tea is a must. Just ask them ready made Chai and you'll be pleased. Enjoy a cool waok at the Garden and you will love the tranquility there for sure. Anyways just make sure that your bed has been clear of bugs

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank brajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. As per your comment on the beds regarding insects, this is a very rare occurrence. Our house keeping staff are always on duty for any assistance our guests may need.

Nonetheless, we apologize that you had this particularly uncommon experience. We still hope that you visit us again so we can deliver an excellent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we spent our first anniversary there and we're welcomed like honey mooner.
we were very well looked after and the staff was very warm and courteous.
The room was very good and so was the bath room.
we had a garden view.
breakfast was good.
it was in a lane on the main road and every other important place was close by. We even got a return present from the hotel which was a warm shawl made in Nepal.
had a great nice 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venudhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our garden facing rooms and the buffet breakfast during your special 1st anniversary.

We hope you have further wonderful moments and visit our hotel upon your next possible visit.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £102 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing