We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #36 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stuff is very friendly, pool temp is 18c, pool stuff is also friendly and helpful, hot water by the pool and in the room, room service 24h, good food, location not the best but good enough, medication center is very near, electricity and wifi in hotel all the time. I would highly recommend this hotel! Spa is located in 10min walk away, but you can order it to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
We are pleased to see that you took the initiative to upload pictures from your trip into this review! Thank you. Noted that you liked the in-room spa services. I have also noted your comments about the food. We are introducing a revised menu and I will tell the concerned F & B executives to take your suggestion. Hope to welcome you back to our property again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    490
    170
    43
    13
See reviews for
221
349
152
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I rate this hotel number one. The location is great. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel staff excellant. The check in is quick along with check out and the hotel personnel is more than willing to help with whatever you may need. Ammenities are as listed and it was nice to be greeted with flowers, chocolate and a bowl of fruit in your room upon arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTakala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We appreciate your generous accolades! We'll keep trying to do whatever it takes and always take that extra step to make sure that your stay is more than comfortable. Thank you once again and I hope to see you around in our hotel upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maienfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I had to stay a couple of days for business in Kathmandu and my partner booked the Shanker for me. This was a great experience and I hope to be back soon.
I especially appreciated the historic building - I guess it is an old palace which is nicely renovated and has been brought in a moderate way to an up-to date standard.
The rooms are nicely furnitured, spacious (ok I got upgraded into a suite :-)) and with appropriated infrastructure to enjoy a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Very happy to know that your partner booked this hotel for you! Appreciate it that you got interested in our old neo classical style architecture and the way that we've adapted it to a modern setting. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to KTM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I really enjoyed being at the hotel, everything was great! The service is great, the staff is polite and friendly, the room is cosy and clean, the location is comfortable! I also enjoyed the garden area! The only think i didn`t like is food service - the choice was not so huge as I expected. But still all the rest was great, hope to return here next time when i will arrear in Nepal again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Pleased to know that you had a nice time while you were staying with us. Happy to hear that you rated our service very highly and also our decor/garden area. We're offering a limited cafe style menu at the pool side bar whereas our Room Service and Kailash Restaurant menu's are extensive. The management is in the process of updating the menu with many exciting new dishes. I look forward to welcoming you on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed four nights at the Shanker Hotel and were perfectly happy with our choice. The hotel, though not actually in Thamel, is an easy walk (even in the dark). The building itself is a lovely and well maintained historical spot. It feels old and quirky, but we had few moments without power or air-conditioning. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with the exception that the mattresses were thin and hard. A lot of variety was offered at breakfast, though the quality of the food was just okay. We ate our dinners in nearby Thamel rather than in the hotel dining room. It was nice have the tourist-central eating options but be able to retreat to a quieter location up the road to sleep. The hotel staff were professional; all of our needs were met. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltadenaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for describing our building as a charming one. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. It gives me immense pleasure to know that you were happy with our professional services and facilities on the whole and I'd love to have you back at our property when you do return to Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimphu, Bhutan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Have recently stayed at The Shanker Hotel in March, booked based on TA reviews. As mentioned in previous reviews the outdoor pool/garden area is pleasant to relax away from the Thamel chaos.
The staff are friendly and service overall I would rate as good. However, the breakfast buffet is poor, we walked to the Radission Hotel nearby one morning to avoid eating at the hotel. Room Service dinner one evening was half eaten due to poor quality and a casear salad ordered poolside one lunch left alot to be desired. The rooms are below acceptable - musty, damp smell in the bathroom 24/7; airconditioner does not work properly, beds are the worst I have ever slept on - lumpy & old spring mattresses; our mattress actually sloped on one side. Wardrobe doors didn't slide at all, no minibar, poor lighting, curtains old and didn't close properly - fine if you wished to wake up early.The supposed free wifi - was free it just didn't work 80% of the time. The character and charm of the building ; the warmness of the staff unfortunately is not enough to warrant a repeat visit. Location is good, walk into main Thamel area easily - although no street lights at night - not recommended for solo travellers. The Shanker Hotel does not live up to its potential.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolcevitadruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
I am happy that you took the effort to make us aware about our shortcomings from your perspective. We work very hard to deliver the highest level of satisfaction to you and I'm sorry to hear about your experience at breakfast. Usually our breakfast spread receives a great many accolades but clearly we seem to have left a couple of stones unturned here. Due to our governments road widening drive optic fibre connections have been taking a real beating.

On the whole your feedback will carefully studied and we hope we will delight you on your return visit to Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Shanker Hotel Kathmandu after a few days trekking. The staff on Front Desk were friendly and spoke English well. The breakfasts were amazing. The food in the main restaurants is good but nothing to rave about for such a well rated hotel. Would definitely return.
Tour desk excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Our tour desk is managed by professionally trained people in the travel industry who are trained to design the best itineraries our country has to offer. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings. I have noted down your comments about the food. Thank you for taking time to pen down your rating. I hope to see you again on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#54 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing