We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning and end of a trek so 4 nights in total. It was really great place to arrive to from Kathmandu airport and felt very welcome. The staff are superb and very friendly - they really cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable.
They catered well for the gluten free diet when I ate in the restaurant the first evening. The breakfast buffet is huge so there is always plenty of choices for gluten free diet.
The first bedroom I stayed in (think it was room 101) had a problem with the shower leaking across the bathroom floor each time it was used - I mentioned it at reception and they changed me to a different room in an instant. Actually preferred to be higher up in the hotel anyhow so that was good.
After the trek it was great to arrive back in the Shanker and sit around the pool relaxing and taking a swim - it really is a little oasis in an otherwise busy city.
I would prefer if the wifi was available to guests in the lounge/bar/restaurant but you have to pay for it wherever you are.
I would always happily return to the Shanker as it is so conveniently located and the staff are great. It is not a 5 star but it has plenty going for it. I liked that it had plenty of character rather than being a corporate hotel.

Room Tip: I preferred to be higher up in hotel - rather than 101 which was ground or first floor but windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaznayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel following your stay with us.

It gives my team great pleasure knowing that you perceived the staff members to be superb; and also that we were able to come across as very 'welcoming'. Glad to know that you appreciated the work that our F&B team is doing. My apologies for the incident due to which your room had to be changed. We conduct frequent inspections in our rooms but perhaps due to the high season the shower problem went unnoticed.

Moreover, it gives me immense pleasure to know that you appreciated the historical character of our hotel. We take pride in having such a long history; something which cannot be replicated by any corporate chain hotel. Thank you once again for leaving such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    496
    173
    44
    13
See reviews for
227
353
156
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is at the top end of the price bracket and generally gives value for money. The rooms and beds are large and comfortable and we enjoyed the selection of options for breakfast.
The garden is very pleasant and relaxing and quiet after the frenzy of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for review here on trip advisor.

It is good to know that you perceive our hotel to offer services that you consider "value for money". Happy to learn about your satisfaction with our large rooms and options for breakfast. Our team works very hard to give services that should generally exceed one's expectations. As do most travelers, we're happy that you enjoyed your time spend basking the warm sun of our spacious outdoor lawn and poolside areas.

Thank you once again, and I hope that the Shanker team has the opportunity to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband have been here for a week. We booked a suite which we found was good value for money. It has a very large sitting area and a smaller sleeping one with lots of windows. The bathroom is small but adequate. Plenty of hot water. WIFI internet is available everywhere and we had very little speed issue with it. Room service was very prompt. The garden in front and the pool area are pleasant for a rest. The location is good as one can walk easily to Thamel and Durbar square. It is an old building and it is quirky but that is what we like! All is all we are very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
It gives me great pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your week long stay with us. Happy to learn of your satisfaction with our spacious suites and the general amenities of our accommodations.

It is also good to know that our room service was prompt and you enjoyed your time spent in our gardens and poolside areas. Overall, it gives our entire team great satisfaction in knowing that we were able to have satisfied you in all aspects of your stay in Kathmandu.

Have a good day, and do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you know how crowded and noisy is Kathmandu, you will appreciate this little hotel rested in a secluded area. Obviously you will not have the utmost comfort a 5 star hotel will offer but basic comfort in enough when we are on a trekking trip. We appreciate the breakfast which is included in the room and it has a nice garden in front of the hotel. Service personnel was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our hotel following your recent stay.

Glad to know that you liked our property's location. I have shared your feedback regarding the breakfast with our Chef, who will really appreciate your comments with regard to the breakfast offerings. Happy to know that you perceived our service personnel to be attentive and helpful.

Thank you once again, and I hope that we get the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Standard rooms are small. Bathroom is too small. Bath tub and toilet seat somehow make between the two walls. . Breakfast is ok but no fresh fruits. hard bed and very poor wifi reception which often goes off and front desk can;t do anything about it during night. Overall, an overpriced hotel. Don;t call taxi thru the hotel front desk. There would be a good markup. You may get much better price if you reach the road and walk left for 50 yards. Avoid taxis near the

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Visitor_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
I was very disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with your stay with us. I will discuss your review in detail with our team to pinpoint any potential shortcomings and improve our services and product into the future.

While we may not be a typical chrome and steel type chain hotel that you might be used to, we have taken great efforts to retain our old world ambience that many guests appreciate. Many of our guests in fact appreciate the relaxed atmosphere of our surroundings that evoke a charm of the bygone days.

Your point with regard to the restaurant definitely be looked into to ensure that guests do not feel the same way about it. Infact, many guests rave about our breakfast spread. I will look into this matter to find out what went wrong during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Shanker us a converted palace which leads to an interesting interior. Some of the rooms are very small with tiny bathrooms but having said that they are clean and comfortable. Don't expect views from the windows because some of the rooms are subterranean. The staff are friendly and the food is cheap and tasty although a friend of mine did have to send chicken back on 2 occassions because it was raw. I stuck to vegetarian dishes which I felt were the safer option. The pool area is lovely and the gardens are well kept and attractive.

Room Tip: If possible get on the 5th floor which us actually just above ground level so you don't feel lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Your positive words were very encouraging, especially in regards to our associates, whom you perceived to have provided 'undisputed levels of service'..I will be happy to pass these comments on to them.

I was also glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant offerings as well as our architecture.

Your comment about your room has been duly noted and will be taken up to the management for further action.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I found the Shanker Hotel on-line and after spending 4 days and nights here, I would recommend it to any traveler. When I return to Kathmandu I will stay here! The staff was absolutely excellent. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The courtyard and pool area were peaceful and beautiful. The accommodations were comfortable and quiet. The spa was the only disappointment. It was a 5 minute taxi ride away and really very ordinary, but other than that, I loved it. It is not your cookie-cutter chain hotel. It is one-of-a-kind, chock-full of history and intimate. I recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the front of the hotel. They are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review posted here on tripadvisor.com and for staying with us during your visit to Kathmandu.

It was a pleasure for all of my team to read of your great and encouraging feedback. We have noted down your negative comments so that we can improve on the points that you mentioned.

Thank you also for your recommendation to other tripadvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing