We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Shanker Hotel for 3 nights , the room was cozy, comfortable with all the required basic amenities, the room service was quick and impressive. They have a 24/7 kitchen service which great, one can order cocktails, food , snacks at late hours. They welcomed us with fruits and chocolates and even sent chocolates with an invitation on Christmas eve. The hotel is spacious and clean . The exterior of the hotel is not less than a palace. Our package included breakfast but we were not able to avail that as we slept really late so we ordered breakfast in the room around 12 which was not the "breakfast " time, but they were generous enough to not charge us anything for that meal which happened twice. The food was reasonably tasty (Indian) and the continental food was awesome. Their breakfast buffet had variety and was really tasty. The hotel is situated in Lazimpat which is a 5 to 10 min drive from Thamel, one can find taxis at 150 to 200 NPR which is quite reasonable or you can walk . Overall it was a great experience. I am looking forward for my next trip to Nepal and Shanker Hotel. Thank you .

Room Tip: Standard rooms are reasonably spacious but if you have extra luggage so one should upgrade to a delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oorja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
It is good to know that you liked our hotel; that your stay was comfortable and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of service provided by our staff members.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    517
    179
    44
    13
See reviews for
233
371
160
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The best part of my stay was the friendliness of the staff. The room was clean and quiet. I have read complaints by other reviewers about the size of the bathroom. It is small but I have seen similar size bathrooms at hotels in NYC. The location is great. You can find far cheaper hotels in Kathmandu but if you value cleanliness and security the value of this hotel is hard to beat plus you get a free breakfast and the wireless internet connection is free for one device. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli-Ben-Zani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Shanker is a grand old hotel situated slightly outside the main Kathmandu tourist district of Thamel, although still within walking distance (or a very cheap taxi ride)

Considering the building is a historic palace, the owners have done a great job of keeping the facilities up to date. We had no issues with the wifi, and the bathroom was modern and immaculate.

The garden and pool area are beautiful, and help make Shanker a real oasis away from the madness of the city.

Highly recommended for those with the budget and who are looking for something out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments.

It was great to know that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Spent 4 nights here after 3 weeks in India, booked independently before joining a tour. Nice touch with fruit and chocs but maybe not given if on a shorter stay. Staff very lovely and genuine, good meals, walking distance to Thamel and further sites. Hot water every time! Very well priced compared to similar places further out, book ahead if possible for good rates, (booking.com. Can I say that) Wish we had more time to sit in the pretty gardens, although we did enjoy the tranquility. Hired a car and driver from the tour desk, one day, fine but little English, xK

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
It is good to know that you liked our hotel; that your stay was comfortable and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of service provided by our staff members.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Shanker is in a great location less, than 10 minutes walk to the main tourist district Thamel.

Positives:

Clean, good bathrooms, quite location, buffet breakfast (large selection), flexible with booking changes, nice pool to relax around

Negatives

WiFi issues (had to use their computers, Ipad would not work), extremely hard beds, some rooms are two storeys (entrance top, room lower),

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.

Your comments regarding the WI FI and double storey rooms has been noted and taken up to the management for further perusal. We are in the process of converting our two storey rooms into single level rooms. Thank you for your suggestions.

Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.

Best regards from Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel Shanker is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Thamel area -- about a 10 minute walk. I found it to be a nice, if not quirky, hotel When I arrived I was given a room on a higher floor in a quiet area as I'd requested, but unfortunately it smelled like cigarettes. I was graciously moved the next day to a similar room one floor higher which a much larger window. The room is clean, their is a smallish TV with some cable stations and even HBO, water is complimentary, the towels are soft. I had to add 2 extras days not covered by my tour and I got a great rate on Hotels.com, so if you are booking yourself, look around.

Breakfast is included and is a hodge podge of cuisines including Indian, Nepali and versions of Western foods like pancakes, omelets, muffins, etc.. The food can be trusted to not get you sick, even the fruit. The bacon is pretty darn good. The other meals are the same mix of cultures, but as elsewhere in Nepal, you can be pretty sure that if you order something with a Western name, it will NOT match what you get at home. Just be open to that possibility and enjoy what you get.

The pool area is really wonderful. It's lovely to sit out there and get a cup of tea after a day of sightseeing in Kathmandu's crazy traffic. They will, most probably, try to bill you for internet. In my experience, this can be negotiated. At least give it a try.

Something I discovered toward the end of my trip was that they are associated with the Tranquility Spa, which is about a 10-15 walk from the hotel. That said, you can arrange to have an in room massage for $25 with tip. It was fabulous. Be aware though that the spa itself doesn't take credit cards. I learned this the hard way after booking something for the day I was leaving Kathmandu. If you are staying at the hotel you can arrange to pay through them, but unfortunately for me, I was already checked out. Get the in room massage, it's a bargain and fabulous.

In general, the staff is welcoming and helpful, always greeting you with a "good morning" or "Namaste". There are exceptions, once while I was arranging some things through the front desk, the clerk repeatedly interrupted our transaction (which wasn't a long one) to deal with the next person who stepped up, most of whom are happy to interrupt you and complete their transaction, leaving you to wait until they are finished. One fellow American had the nerve to get sarcastic with me because I was annoyed! Oh well, such is life.

I'd stay at the Hotel Shanker again if I came to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I asked for an upper floor (6th or 7th floor); 7th floor has larger windows. It's quiet up ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY10040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for posting this wonderful review here on Trip Advisor.

I glad that you enjoyed all aspects about your stay with us -- in particular that you appreciated the way we have maintained our old world charm. I am happy that you perceived our associates to be very friendly and service oriented.

Thank for having chosen to stay with us. I hope that you stay with us on your return visits to our fascinating city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is one of the best at this level of price I have visited in Asia (I have stayed in more than a hundred since 1980). Efficient and courteous staff, being never intrusive or too familiar. Good restaurant and impressive buffet breakfast. The bedrooms are comfy and decorated just like 30 years ago. The only concessions to modern times are the flat screen TV and electronic safe. The bathrooms have bathtub, and everything is well maintained.
I would be less laudative for the bedding, which is to my taste a little too soft. But this is personal.
Outside, a manicured garden surrounding a large swimming pool with a bar next.
The location is good, 10 mn walk to Thamel, and shops not far.
I will certainly come back !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominique756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are humbled by your remarks. Thank you for comparing us to the very best of hotels in Asia. Glad to know that you perceived our staff to be courteous. I have shared your remarks about the breakfast with our Chef, who is happy to hear about it.

Thank you once again. Hope to welcome you on your return visits to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 203 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
541 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing