We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #37 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Charming and quiet hotel, a bit far from the city center, but feasible walking. Quite ordinary breakfast, however. Very nice and helfpful staff. If I come back to KTM, I ll stay again at this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms have small and low windows, so don t expect to have sunny bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for leaving behind such a wonderful review.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    501
    176
    44
    13
See reviews for
230
356
157
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were a group of boys and had our first bad experience with the front desk which was very uncooperative towards Indians and super friendly with foreigners. We stayed there twice on entering and leaving Kathmandu and both times our requests were not entertained.

Wifi is chargeable and rooms have become outdated. The feel is very palatial and breakfast room is pretty but breakfast was very bland.

The service was not upto the mark and could improve. Location was little off Durbar Marg and Thamel where all the night life is but taxis are readily available outside the gate.

The swimming pool and lawn are around the pool are beautiful and fun.

Overall, an average stay with average service with worth a try if cheaper than other options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am sorry to learn that our team could not satisfy your needs. Nothing that we say this point forward will change anything about the way you feel about your stay at our hotel -- but we do take each and every customer feedback seriously and dissect every critical remark to further improve the way we conduct our institution.

Your complaints have been duly noted and we will act on them so that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erftstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights in one of the suites (found a good deal on the internet) and enjoyed it very much. The room was nice and very clean, though a little dark, service at the reception was excellent. Sitting in the garden around the pool and having a genuine Italian coffee after a day of hiking through Kathmandu was really relaxing.
No comment on the restaurant since we never tried it. The complimentary breakfast buffet was OK.
For fans of heritage hotels this place is a "must visist" in Kathmandu, it smells history.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner_Kirchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Really appreciate your kind remarks.

We are very happy to learn that you liked the heritage character of our hotel. I do hope that you would visit us again.

Till then,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The marketing is a bit of a hype. It's not nearly as nice as the website will make you believe. The breakfast is very limited - but served in a really nice hall. That's what this is about: the place really has a flair, but it's not quite as a 4 star should be. Internet is pretty bad by the way. Perhaps it's more a tourist place than a business hotel. Location is quite ok.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We do put a lot of effort to make sure that travelers enjoy our restaurant offerings -- especially breakfast, which is the most important meal of the day. We do maintain state of the art servers to ensure that business travelers are always connected -- very few hotels in Kathmandu maintain the kind of IT infrastructure as we do. I think the Internet problems that you faced were external issues (ISP issues). We do maintain a dedicated high speed connection for our facility.

Nevertheless, thank you for the constructive feedback. I hope that you return to stay with us in the future -- and find that things are different in a positive way.

Thanks,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel Shanker was a beautiful oasis, just a short walk from the hustle of Thamel. The gardens very peaceful, room very quiet, cornices, carvings and old palace remnants a delight to observe.
Staff were wonderful, all requests were dealt with in a prompt, courteous and efficient manner.
Breakfast in the wonderful courtyard dining area was excellent, as was dinner - loved the Thali plate. Good marguarita in the bar. We were able to use the pool shower and changeroom to freshen up before a late night flight.
Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Good to know that... We really appreciate your spreading the word.

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments.

Best,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip to Nepal. Check in was relatively easy however the reception area was rather manic with some members of staff appearing to be doing nothing to try remedy this. We weren't given any information regarding the location of our room/elevators/dining area upon check in, or times for breakfast and check out and had to query this with other members of staff on site (there seemed to be a lot of staff milling around the hotel, not really doing much?) The room was acceptable, TV/Wifi was good. Room service was expensive for what it was, much better off going to the restaurant downstairs. The hotel itself is very dated and run down, not so much "old world charm" as it is being marketed. With a bit of money I have no doubt it could be a spectacular hotel, but we wouldn't stay here again as it is at present. We stayed at another similar priced/spec hotel at the other side of Kathmandu which was far superior in both customer service and hotel quality than the Shanker.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
The management is very upset to read about your dissatisfaction. We will look into the various issues that you pointed out.\

Normally all guests are shown around the hotel when they check in. I will look into this matter to ensure that such event do nor recur.

I do feel sorry that we were not able to have met your expectations. I will share your feedback with our management to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robe, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel because it was so convenient to walk (or take a quick taxi) into the main shopping areas of Thamel. It is beautifully tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. The staff are very friendly, and the breakfast buffet is amazing (ate the most amazing mango and curd there). I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kathmandu.We stayed in a suite, why wouldnt you?...it was so cheap in comparison to Australian prices! The decor is slightly dated and getting a little tired but stays true to the character of an old palace...if you remember that you are in Nepal it is easy to see past this!

Room Tip: We chose a suite for the extra space and it worked well for us...accomodation is so cheap in Nepal w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello there,

Thanks for the wonderful review.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing