We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful facade & Staff but needs refurbishing”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #37 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful facade & Staff but needs refurbishing”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here twice whilst travelling with Kathmandu and Bhutan. The first stay was on the 20/21st of May. This time the room was fine with a temperamental AC and bathroom that was adequate. We went and saw the manager with our various problems and he was most helpful and the next time we arrived we were given a lovely room and lovely welcome. However, the hotel needs refurbishing. A great and well used pool.
The Staff were great.

Room Tip: The suites on the 7th floor facing the front are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ellavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello!

Thanks for taking time to drop your candid comments here on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to hear that you favorably rated our staff.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    499
    175
    44
    13
See reviews for
229
355
157
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

all I can say is that I enjoyed my stay at the Shanker tremendously...a bit quirky though. rooms are perfectly fine, AC and bathrooms more than adequate. wifi desperately needs improvement. super location and great grounds.

the staff are really fine people, Mr Bikash (guest relations manager) is most helpful and a true gentleman. my stay was made better because of him.

Natraj Tours (located in Lobby) does a good job and is not all that expensive. you really need at least three day trips to see the many sites in and around Kathmandu. and one day for a walkabout. if you need taxi service for dining, shopping, etc., call Mr Naresh at 980 315 1600.

the only downside is the dining - the indian dishes are tailored (watered down) for western tastes. I had fabulous Indian at Crowne Plaza Soaltee and Annapurna Hotels !!!

PS, on your tours of temple sites - agree the cost of your guide up front. mine were quite knowledgeable and really really nice guys, but complete rascals when it came to the price. when they say "it is up to you" - wrong! they will ask for thousands. depending - all you need pay is 500 to 1,000.

Room Tip: hard to say...from what I saw down the corridor, rooms seemed to be pretty much OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful comments.

It was great to know that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

I have shared your concerns about the F&B issues with the concerned people.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We had booked Hotel Shanker after reviewing the various comments on TripAdvisor and we were glad we did. We stayed for 2 nights; 1 night on our way to Chitwan (suite 619) and then 1 night on our way back from Pokhara (suite 709).
We had booked a suite with airport transfers. The car was ready when we arrived at KTM and the driver extremely friendly. The drive from/ to the airport is about 20 minutes.
At check in the staff, particularly Ms. Sharada was extremely polite and helpful.
Our suites both times were spacious and comfortable with all the amenities. The bathroom is well equipped and has one of the best showers I've had. Our suite on the 6th floor had lovely low seated carved windows and the layout of our suite on the 7th floor had an excellent layout.
However none of the rooms face the garden/ pool area. The staff at the restaurant are also very friendly and happily catered to my 3 year old's meal requests even if they weren't on the menu.
The hotel itself is a 15 minute walk to Thamel which is a bustling shopping and pub/ bar area mostly frequented by tourists.
The pool although small is well maintained and my husband and son enjoyed their splash.
Overall, really enjoyed our stay, will definitely stay here again and will also recommend to all our friends visiting KTM.
Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Shanker for a memorable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. Thank you again, and please come and stay with us once more during your next visit to Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

WOW! My husband and I have traveled ALL OVER the world...and we have never seen a hotel this dirty. Our room had several stains on the sheets, brown towels to conceal dirt, mold and mildew covering the entire bathroom, including the mirror and shower curtain, dust and dirt on the floor, a non-working refrigerator, and a tired air conditioner. The bathtub/shower floor was peeling off the bottom of the tub, leaving disgusting residue everywhere.
Yes, it is true that the water is discolored brownish, yellow!
The room curtains were too small to close, thus the light shown in.
Our tour guide went to the front desk to request clean linens, etc. We were later told our room "had been sanitized" by the manager at the front desk...only to find NOTHING had been done in our room (same stains, same dirt, mold, and grime). A real disappointment and a shame. Unhealthful!
The only redeeming factor for this hotel was the dining room service. The evening wait staff was excellent and tried to accommodate our needs in a friendly manner. The food was tasty. The breakfast selection was less than average.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ec4stx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello and good day,

Very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the amenities provided.

I am very unhappy to learn that you had cleanliness issues. In fact, we put a lot of effort in that area and 99.9% of our guests just love our hotel and do not have any such issues. However, I thank you for bringing this up -- we will look into this matter and ensure that such instance do not occur in the future.

Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Hotel Shanker was included on our tour with Himalayan Glacier Trekking, both before and after our trek! Great choice!! What an oasis, especially after the trek and no showers!! They have a wonderful pool, breakfast buffet, and restaurant. My room was 2 stories with a gorgeous bathroom! The staff went out of their way to help you with every little thing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StorkRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for the review.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A great location, somewhat of a peaceful haven yet just 10 mins walk away from the busy tourist area of Thamel. Lovely garden and pool. Old charm and character very much in evidence, it was like stepping back in time. Staff were very polite and helpful. Only 15 mins by car from the airport

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Splendid knowing that enjoyed your stay with us on an overall basis and I am glad to know that we were able to have left a favorable impression.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here after completing my EBC trek. It was great to have a hot shower/good water pressure and a warm room, not to mention a comfy bed. Somehow I managed to get a large duplex room. The decor was a traditional/modern mix. It seemed that this room may have just been renovated. The large and modern bathroom was great. The staff (from the housekeeping to the front desk) was professional and friendly. The hotel itself could use some updating in some areas, but still retains much of its traditional elegance. The grounds were beautiful and a nice plae to relax/unwind after a grueling trek. While not located in the heart of the city center, it is still a very manageable 10-15 minute walk to many of the restaurants, shops, cafes, although there are several places to eat just outside the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello and good day,

Thank you for taking time reviewing us at tripadvisor. I am very glad to know that your stay was a very good one and that you felt comfortable in our rooms and with our facilities. I also appreciate that you mentioned the quality of our restaurant food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#27 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Property: Hotel Shanker
Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing