We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate - Professional Service”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #42 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In comparison to many hotels I have stayed globally this hotel is not in my top ten, however this is Nepal and I am reviewing based on comparisons in this country and standards commensurate to this culture and way of living.

The Hotel is run by friendly professional management who have a workforce of dedicated helpful employees. I stayed in a suite room which was roomy and clean. The whole hotel is dated and tired but it is maintained in an efficient way by it's employees using all resources they have available to them. The breakfast room is large and has no atmosphere but again was adequate and fairly good for standards in this country.

The best part of the stay was being able to return to peace and quiet because of the grounds that this hotel is fortunate to sit in. Perhaps they should open up a pathway through the gardens towards the main entrance so that you don't have to walk along the whole entrance road way where taxis and cars frequent.

There was a problem with the satellite channels for more than 24 hours which we were not informed about and also the internet was intermittent but worked well between this. Again this is Nepal where some situations are not controlled directly by any hotel management team. It would have been nice to be informed of the situation.

Overall I enjoyed the stay and would come back here because I know you get hot water and a clean comfortable bed. It was my first visit to Nepal and I expected low standards of living but received better than my expectations from this hotel.

Nepal is an interesting country with beautiful , friendly people , it is landlocked which in my opinion keeps this country from becoming more prosperous.

If you are not sure which hotel to book and have this on your short list it will provide you with comfort , cleanliness and a safe place to sleep , it is slightly away from any central activity but taxis are available and the peace and quiet with the swimming pool in the gardens is a bonus.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are large and have the comfort of sofas in the living area which is worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doncasterlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

I am sorry to learn that our team could not satisfy your needs. Nothing that we say this point forward will change anything about the way you feel about your stay at our hotel -- but we do take each and every customer feedback seriously and dissect every critical remark to further improve the way we conduct our institution.

Your complaints have been duly noted and we will act on them so that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The gardens are the real highlight of this slightly faded old hotel. In a very hot and dusty and crazy city, it is an amazing refuge of green, space and calm. Not a fan of the over friendly and obsequious Indian style service, but I am sure many people like it.
Restaurant food good and very cheap.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premium room for a lot more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorchbearerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello, Glad to know that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope that you stay with us again!

Best, Pratik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having returned from an intensive trek in Khumbu Valley (and sleeping on the Nepalese equivalent to plywood for a couple of nights) our expectations weren't particularly high for a hotel in Kathmandu. Hotel Shanker was a brilliant surprise - a stunning property, beautiful heritage building in a convenient location (walkable distance to Thamel and Durbar square) and the staff was an absolute pleasure upon checkin. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and oversized. Wifi works well in the guest rooms. An exceptionally charming ending to an incredible Nepalese adventure. Highly worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeddingGirldotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed comments following your stay at our hotel.

On an overall basis, I am happy that we were able to keep you happy during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Shankar is located within easy walking distance of Thamel and Durbar Square but it provides a wonderful respite from the hectic nature of Kathmandu . The suites are spacious and great value . We enjoyed the breakfasts and the grounds and pool are better in real life than the pictures . Staff are friendly and plentiful . Having stayed at the Crowne Plaza four years ago this is a better option on all fronts ; authenticity , value and location !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the review. Appreciate your spreading the word.
Best,
Pratik S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having shifted from Yak & Yeti due to the musty odor in the room, Hotel Shanker with its "period" and heritage was a mighty fine hotel to stay in (Indians please note that Rs.500/- & 1000/- notes do not get accepted here). The staff is very courteous and the elegance of the years gone by shows in the decor and the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VandanaVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello there!

Thank you for your most wonderful comments!

Glad to know that you appreciated all that we had to offer.

Look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I booked Hotel Shanker off a popular booking website for 4 days. Saved $25 per night compared to booking directly. Complimentary breakfast & wifi. Well worth the money. If you've been trekking in Nepal and want a little bit of old world charm to end your holiday, stay at Hotel Shanker. The rooms were spacious, western facilities, bed was extremely comfortable, air conditioner & television were perfect. The buffet breakfast caters for all tastes and has many selections. The staff are approachable and courteous. The Kunti Bar is fun. 200 rupee taxi ride to Thamel nightlife & shops. The pool area is fantastic with a great menu. I'd definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
9  Thank Ward1981honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the lovely recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Pratik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Shankar Hotel and were happy during our stay. Our room was comfortable, the bathroom however was tiny! The staff at the hotel were really friendly and always greeted you. Breakfast was really nice and the choices were excellent - really enjoyed having an Indian breakfast, made a change from the usual egg and toast.

Lovely gardens and pool area and the hotel is 15min walk away from Thamel the main shopping area. Really glad we didn't stay in Thamel - too busy!

Downside - NO FREE WIFI, this was rather annoying, it was not even available for free in the restaurant area or reception and it was pretty pricey for Kathmandu. Luckily there was an Illy café only 5mins away, which we went to everyday for a coffee and funnily enough saw several hotel guests there on their ipads and phones. We would have spent more money in the hotel having coffee and lunch etc ... if we had free access to wifi - they really need to look into this. We have travelled to so many countries in the world and WIFI is FREE everywhere - even in cheap hotels and hostels!!!

Otherwise a pleasant stay - the staff really do give it a personal touch. For a hotel of it's class it really could also do with a fresh lick of paint on the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank r_shah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello there,

It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay on an overall basis.

I can understand you concern about Free Wifi. We do provide free wifi to all our guests who booking through online channels. We do provide free internet access in our business center though. It is possible that you booked through a tour company -- we do not currently provide free wifi service to guests who are booked through those channels.

Nevertheless, thanks for the overall favorable comments.

Thanks, and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#51 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 209 in Kathmandu
818 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#68 of 209 in Kathmandu
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing