We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe for Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
Ranked #40 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This is a deluxe hotel for kathmandu and it is certainly good to come back to after a few weeks trekking. It has nice comfy beds with clean sheets and lovely pillows. Drinking water is supplied along with tea making facilities. Air conditioning and local cable TV. A swimming pool with nice changing rooms and fluffy towels. Seedily magnificent!
Buffet meals are good but a la carte is a disaster - expect to wait about an hour for your meal.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

Had a great time at the Shanker Hotel. Good location walk to Tamil District. Staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed at Shanker with family pre and post trek. My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room, which was very nice. The beds were really comfy, with great pillows and there was a flat-screen TV in the room (we didn't watch it very much, but there was the Discovery channel and some channels with Indian soap operas, which we found hilarious as we don't speak Indian). The breakfast was fantastic and I would recommend trying the Marsala tea. It is made to the chef's own recipe and is lovely and spicy. They even let my boyfriend into the kitchen to learn how to make it. Shanker is an easy, ten minutes walk out of the centre of Kathmandu, so is nice and quiet. There is a outdoor swimming pool which looked great, although we didn't go swimming. The hotel has a great, faded glamour and the staff were all lovely. The only problem we had was that we had been booked out of the hotel for one night of our stay for some reason (still unknown) and there were no rooms available. We had to leave the hotel for that one night and find somewhere else to stay, which was not easy given that we were travelling during the peak time. I would recommend double checking your booking before you go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

A former Palace set a little back from the noise and traffic of Kathmandu. A little dated but that adds to its charm.Staff extremely courteous including saluting doorman! A greta relief to get back to it (and to hot water and a hotel with back up generators) at the end of a trek in the Himalayas. Food is buffet style or from Menu.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanaFord_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stayed one night at the Shanker at the end of a 2 week trip in Nepal. We wanted to give ourselves a treat of staying in a top hotel on our last night. The Shanker is one of the most expensive in Kathmandu (ok, the price is still reasonable by international standards but very expensive by local standards).

It is located in an old palace with lovely gardens outside as well as a swimming pool and it gets highly rated by Lonely Planet...but I would not stay there again. The value for money is not there and we liked Kantipur Temple House better. The rooms are fine (we got upgraded to a large room with a sitting area, which we didn't use) and it was the only room in our entire stay in Nepal that had air con (which we never needed in our 2 week trip anyway). The view out the window looked at some rooftops and an empty interior courtyard. The breakfast buffet was fine, but takes place in a sunlightless basement room and the wait staff was not attentive at all. The front desk staff appeared bored and generally uninterested in our business.

We stayed 4 nights in the Kantipur Temple House with attentive staff, great ambiance, and a better location for visiting Thamel, Durbar, etc and if I went back to Kathmandu I would definitely stay there instead of at the Shanker.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at Shanker Hotel for 3 nights and subscribed a package from their website, which included 3 nights + breakfast and 2 half days sighseeing.
We were upgraded to a Suite (corner room) and space was not a problem, it was even too large for us. Overall, the hotel is a bit degraded, a fact that the photos from the website totally hide (especially the rooms).
ROOM: BIG and was all about it. The sheets and floor were not clean. The towels smelled musty and bathroom was quite bad.
BREAKFAST: simple, but you can get it in your room for free. Toasts, coffee, milk, corn flakes, and could not eat anything else.
STAFF: very nice and helpfull.
RESTAURANT: pretty bad.
LOCATION: 10 minutes walking from the Thamel, however the way during the night time is very dark. A good place to get a good rest outside the messy Thamel.
OTHER FACILITIES: a nice bar, swimming pool (we did not use it) seemed nice. We got internet connection for free and it worked very well.
SIGHTSEEING: car without A/C, poor guide, not recommended.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking just for a room and not using other facilities (such as the swimming pool). You can probably get a better room and more central (Thamel) for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kap1tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Itis a very good hotel.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
The food is very good.
I was there for 2 weeks and ik had a good stay. My wife was in the hospital and
al the personnel would help me from all sides. I had there a very good time.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlakien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
825 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing