We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Guest House Compare to the Price & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #36 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Thamel! The most happening place in kathmandu! If you ask me then Thamel is the right place to stay And the guesthouse is right in the heart of Thamel! Room is ok! Batthroom compare to subcontinent it was clean! Food in the restaurant is good and cheap. Staffs ware very professional and polite. We booked 5 Rooms for three days and in one room Bathroom had some problem we asked them to change the room they upgraded the room to Suite ! Sweet! Overall it was a pleasant stay in KGH.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kashefrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great place, cozy & comfy atmosphere, awesome courtyard, great hospitality. Nice buffet breakfast in the morning. Friendly people all around. The Travel Desk can arrange you anything you want. Bookshop, Jewelry shops and Souvenir shop inside the hotel are quite good. The Courtyard is fabulous! You can spend your whole day relaxing, reading books and having chit chats there. So peaceful and breathtaking! Therefore...Kathmandu Guest House, Thamel...The place you really want to be!

Room Tip: Our room number was 201. It was on first floor and garden faced one. The room had 3 single beds. Enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zahid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

"Guest house" name gives us a different feeling but its a good hotel to stay at Kathmandu. Its safe and centrally located at place called Thamel. Everything is stones throw away. Restaurant is small but serves good food. Good place to stay with family as well

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panditrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Im an 18 year old traveler and was on a very tight budget but the Kathmandu guest house was perfect. They gave us a very very reasonable price after a little bit of negotiation and the rooms were perfect for us, basic needs were met with a nice bed and warm shower alongside a lovely atmosphere that just made all of us feel so at home. The hotel was like a solace from thamel, even though it was positioned right in the center having everything a stones through away the hotel was like a whole other world of safety and tranquility. The gardens were lovely and the people were amazing, they were able to help with every question we asked along with a nice chat.
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A good hotel in the best location, close to everywhere. I had a room on the 3rd floor of their new Siddhi Annex which had a excellent views to the garden. The room was large and well appointed. Staffs were really friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.

Room Tip: Try their new "Siddhi Annex". It's really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOldHouseKtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Last week I returned to Kathmandu after teaching for a full year in China. I was horribly worried that I wouldn't be able to get a reservation -- especially since the contract's ending date was uncertain, and my needs were for a rather inexpensive room. However, the Reservations Manager wrote to me in China and even arranged for a complimentary 11 pm pickup at the airport! Later, the Operations Manager smoothed the way when my dates got scrambled.

I didn't think it would be possible to relieve my exhaustion and soothe my nerves, but this place has. For one thing, they've added several young professionals, Nepalese people with very good English and sympathy for how hard work and travel can be nowadays. Two young women made my life so much easier that I can't say enough. Both Pragya Tuladhar, the Guest Relation Officer, and Narayani Maharjan, Housekeeping Manager, were educated in the West, and they perfectly understand our needs.

My favorite rooms are in the old Rana palace part of the guest house, though all the rooms are comfortable and very clean. The garden, with or without the excellent restaurant service, is peaceful and soothing. I spend an hour a day reading on the well-padded swing, or sitting in the shade of a palm tree, watching the sky.

I hope you'll give Kathmandu Guest House a try. It's worth it!

Room Tip: My personal preference is for a room close to where the Beatles stayed in the '70's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have been staying at the KGH on and off for many years - I find it convenient, welcoming and good value (I usually have one of the cheapest rooms), but there are often problems of overbooking in high season and even those who have reserved rooms may be required to spend a night or two in another room before they get access to the one they booked. Many of the staff have been there for years, which makes it generally friendly and familiar. But it needs a clear cold hard look at itself to re-invent itself and cater - as it tries to do - better to a wide range of visitors, from lowly to high spending

Room Tip: have a look first if you can, if not then book for a night first and have a look if you decide to sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 797david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £31 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing