We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kathmandu Guest House - Rusell K's Review Revisited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kathmandu Guest House - Rusell K's Review Revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Further the the review by Russell K as week ago, I thought that I should follow it up with the conclusion to our experience with the KTMGH. After spending 2 nights at the Samsara resort in lieu (see separate review) we were taken back to the KTMGH for the balance of our stay. We received many, many apologies and were given an early check-in and a reasonable discount as compensation for our inconvenience.

The deluxe rooms in the new wing are very nice indeed - spacious, clean, nice bathrooms and amenities and we would have been happy to spend our entire stay here if we had been able to.

The breakfast buffet was quite ordinary with not a great deal of options but the location in the heart of Thamel close to shops and a number of great restaurants made up for the shortcomings.

Room Tip: If you can afford and/or get a good discount stay in the newer wing in a deluxe room. Just be carefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    354
    175
    92
    74
See reviews for
123
233
225
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I checked into Kathmandu Guest House in Thamel (booking through Agoda) for three nights. On my last night a Nepali friend from Pokhara was coming over to Kathmandu because he wanted to see me off at the airport. Unfortunately, because of a fatal car accident on the Prithivi Highway, he arrived four hours late at midnight.

However, at the reception he was refused to check in with me as this was explained to be the policy of the hotel even though I offered to pay the extra for double occupancy. The room had two beds.

As I could not leave my friend sleeping on the street I had no choice other than to check out at midnight and find another hotel that had more liberal policies towards foreigners and Nepalis staying in the same room. I find this experience unfortunate and discriminatory on behalf of Nepalis, and I will never book into the hotel group again, nor advice anyone else to so.

Upon complaining to the hotel management in writing, I did receive an apology, but no indication of any compensation, so this apology did not cost them a penny. Still will not book into the KGH again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VikingtravellerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had to cancel the reservation and did that early enough, but have not received the refund. Therefore rating the experience poor. And what to do, as the stay was already paid.
Th location is very good, in the city center. Though number of less expensive hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaguniSS, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Lila,
Your refund is under process. These finance matters take some time as you know and it will be refunded in due course. Please do not worry.\

regards
KGH team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Besides the location and the garden (in which drinks were expensive), the whole place felt like an overpriced, under-loved establishment just used to squeeze money from the traveller looking for somewhere to stay. If the basic price + tax isn't enough for a substandard room, their cash desk - where you have to pay - rinses you with their opportunistic exchange rates. Unsatisfactory, better alternatives elsewhere. Chummy staff, but poor service, cleanliness...I could go on...

Room Tip: Good luck...lucky dip regardless of room class as they overbook some categories significantly - had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaguniSS, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sir,
We are a boutique three star hotel category. We have rooms starting from $8-$180. We cater to guests with all kinds of budgets. If you felt we were expensive, you should have stayed in a less expensive room and if you felt our drinks and food were too expensive, then there are so many cheaper options out in Thamel.
We are sorry you had to complain about the price but we have to maintain our standards too.
regards
KGH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff is amazing, so very helpful and nice. The location is noisy (it is Thamel) but very central to several good restaurants . Very near shopping as well, if you forgot anything. The hotel rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The gardens are lovely and provide a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: There are 2 sections, a new one with really modern rooms and an older one. The older section has sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibylle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in a garden facing room which was not cheap- I can't remember the exact figures but ~$60 per night before tax, and we were hugely disappointed. The room was very noisy with voices/ movement being heard from above, through the window and through the door. The beds were uncomfortable, pillowcases filthy (smelling like they hadn't been washed) and the bathroom was very very basic and in dire need of refurbishment: the shower head barely squirted out water and there no where to hook it, and I would not have had a bath in the grubby tub if I was payed to do it. The inclusive buffet breakfast was pretty poor- I just stuck to the soggy pancakes as I didn't trust the rest. We ate dinner here one evening and found the food to be bad value for money. The only redeeming part of this hotel was the garden which really was lovely. In the end we left the hotel 3 days early and went and stayed at a cheaper and infinitely nicer hotel in Boudha!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurenF002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We booked our deluxe rooms at the KGH 6 months ago, confirmed our booking 2 weeks ago, confirmed our pickup from the airport 2 days ago and when we got to KGH there were no deluxe rooms available. They had overbooked. They wanted to put us in basic rooms for one night before moving us to the rooms we had booked. We got sent to another hotel with the promise that if we liked the rooms we could stay there the entire time. The rooms were fine but only available for two nights and we would have to go back to KGH. Total debacle and there seems to be nothing you can do to make sure the rooms you book at KGH will actually be held for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing