We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week when I arrived in Kathmandu and got situated before heading up to Pokhara to start the Annapurna circuit. Had a clean room, the price was great, and it's right in the middle of everything. I liked it so much I spent another four days when I got back into town before heading to India. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    376
    179
    92
    74
See reviews for
135
242
234
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I travelled with a girlfriend in Nepal and we booked here based on her great experiences here over a decade ago. It sounds like it's not lost it's charm - and only grown in size since then. The accommodation was clean and well appointed, food was generous and tasty but by far, the staff stole the show. Truly it felt like no request was too much for them. They were always happy to say hello, know how your adventures were, offer recommendations and generally be helpful in anyway they could. I would love to return to Nepal and would gladly stay in this hotel again. Namaste!

P.S - the only reason sleep quality lost a point was because we had carrel cats fighting outside our rooms on numerous occasions. Truly this could happen anywhere, but it was an impact to our sleep. Generally the hotel is a quiet slice of heaven!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinkFromVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed In KGH 2 nights before Everest Base camp trek.

i would say this is the best hotel in Thamel. Huge hotel area, nice garden, cozy restaurant and comfortable room. I had a great time in this hotel before and after my trek.
i have booked trip to Pokhara through agent from KGH s well and it was organized all in best way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agartala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My stay was excellent. Excellent service. good staff. heart of market peacefull environment. mantains the heritage of the guest house. great value of money for a hotel of its range. not so expensive also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank suraj1982486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The KGH has two big elements in its favour: location and atmosphere. It doesn't matter that rooms can be rustic and shabby. The KGH for many comes to signify the eve of a big adventure in the mountains. And that's its magic. That and the fact the Beatles stayed there in '68. That they've added the name The Beetles to the courtyard walk of fame just added to its cooky charm.
Go, expect little, and you'll get a lot in return. And of course, don't forget to trek.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyShanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel has good overall ambience, with places to relax during the day. Clean and good room interiors. Although, breakfast is repetitive and needs some variation. Staff is very polite and helpful. Worth for the money.

Room Tip: Nice clean rooms. Breakfast needs variation. overall good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RAJENDRA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We traveled on business with two other colleagues in May Stayed here because it was well rated and close to the office where we worked in the day. Must say that I was blown away by the setting - especially the inner courtyard - and the service at the restaurant and the rooms as well. The rating would have been a five but for the fact that the wifi was disappointingly slow - though at times speed was better. Best near the lobby and the inner courtyard, In addition the bathroom amenities could be a bit better - but all in all I was very happy with the place and would stay here again if needed.

Room Tip: I got a larger room - but they all seem to only have twin (single) beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harissa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 202 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 202 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#29 of 202 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Square, Ward no. 16, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing