We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Everest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Everest Hotel
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Property was most disappointing . 2* rating. Bath room was depilated with cracked, stained , unhygienic Basin/Tub/Commode. Need complete refurbishing. Room fridge was rusty, noisy. Lightning was poor. Room/ Corridor has stale smell.
Devoid of basics : complimentary water bottle, face cleaning tissue, room slipper,writing pen not provided. No provision of suitable plug in the room for charging cell .WiFi charges are extremely high. Poor A/C cooling.
Has no view from any room. Buffet breakfast as average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jawan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

There is poor lighting in the rooms and the corridor area and rooms were smelly.The manager of the hotel is very rude and doesn't listen to customers.There were insects in bathroom and window handles were broken.WiFi charges were extremely high. I would have left the hotel but unfortunately couldn't do it as i went there in a package from Thomas cook. Please save your money and find some other alternative as this hotel seems comes from 19th century.I would personally give 2 stars to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank drvijayramnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A good Hotel with good rooms at a reasonable price. The room service is fast. The food quality and taste is good. They have got a nice pool as well. there is a cafe just across the road which serves very good food and offers some great views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajatmaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was my 5th stay in everest. They hv improved on services, pool in place now, gym working, room services prompt n 24 hrs. Closed Casinos give large disappointment but live ghazals in eve this time was fantastic n soul touching. Soothing ambience have been maintained and you still find lots of indians to make u comfortable. Would give 5 star once pickup facilities are bit improved. Old coaches wont work for 5 stars anymore.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank VikashSaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel has a good structure: different places to eat/drink, swimming pool, shop facilities within, etc... However, staying in this hotel seems like a time travel. All the installations and the aspect of the hotel, inside and outside, date back to 20 to 30 years ago. In front of my window (and it seems on all windows as well), several pigeons stayed, mainly for the night, creating noise and a bad visual aspect. The remote control in my room did not work and the hotel staff was not able to change it after some tries. In total, I would accept it all as part of an "old-fashion" experience, but the price they charge is extremely high, for the services they provide in return. I honestly do not recommend, but I am not sure if there are many alternatives in Kathmandu... As consolation, the staff service was ok (except for the remote control problem...) and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuriloSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

His is why we booked the Hotel. We flew from Pokhara in the morning and had a late flight from Kathmandu that evening. The distance was good only 10 minutes from the airport. The hotel was Ok. My husband used the gym which he said was fine. The service from the staff was very good. The one thing that really annoys me is paying for wifi. This should never happen nowadays and you usually find the more expensive hotels are the ones that charge this. As I had all day there, of course I needed wifi, very annoying. We had a day stay only booking so can not comment on breakfast, food etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Everest hotel is a good 3 star plus property near the airport. The rooms are not that small but not big enough. Breakfast in the morning is adequate and they sometimes have a live egg station.
The lobby is impressive .. and the staff are helpful. Food is also good.
The Casino is one of the old Casinos .. and they have live dances to hindi music ... a distraction for people who really want to play.
Opposite the hotel is a lovely quaint cafe for good tea and snacks. Also on weekends there is a sort of flea market ...just 7 minutes walk from the hotel. It is so crowded but I understand you get fabulous bargains on woolen clothes, shoes, imitation jewellery.
The Ball room of the hotel is very good ...pillarless.

Room Tip: Actually there is no view at all from any room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#89 of 207 in Kathmandu
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Everest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Everest Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 659 | New Baneshwor, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £76 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Everest Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier 5-star hotel with 160 rooms, club rooms, executive club lounge & suites, 2 specialty restaurants (Chinese & Indian), coffee shop, bar, large conference / banqueting facility for up to 1500 persons, swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna, beauty parlor, tennis court, business center, shopping arcade & an international casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Everest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing