We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful character hotel”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful character hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A fantastic traditional oasis of splendour in a very busy dusty city. The service is immaculate, rooms are very spacious, clean and oh so comfortable, heaven! The restaurants are varied, a bit more expensive than eating places outside but well worth it. We ate in the bar, food was excellent with a great atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel.......wonderful!

Room Tip: Having to stayed in two rooms, it makes no difference they were both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    190
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
146
449
84
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Once arriving at Dwarika's there is a sense of how this town would have looked. It's construction material are local bricks and old ironwood One leaves the chaos of a busy street to enter the peace and quiet of a well run hotel with a variety of restaurants, library, water fall and small book shop in and around a brick patio. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Only spent one night here but, would have liked a day or two more. The gardens are very beautiful as are the rooms. Old style charm, attention to detail makes this hotel a must visit.
Bathrooms are awesome.
I didn't elect such nice accommodation in Nepal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambo2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nepal, for those that have been there is not the cleanest country in the world and Kathmandu, while a living museum in places, is a major metropolitan city. That said the Dwarika hotel stands out as architecturally appropriate, relevant, local and functional. with the kind of service levels one rarely sees in Nepal. Generally friendly staff (though if the hotel's management did not take half of all the communal tips I am sure it would be better), great food and an excellent location near the airport make this the finest hotel in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuseumTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Although it is relatively new, the Dwarika's Hotel has old-style charm with big, wonderful rooms and suites. The bathrooms in particular are great--as large as the rooms themselves, with double basins, shower and tub, etc. The regular beds and day beds are very comfortable. Everyone is as pleasant as we've ever seen, the food is great (including the buffet breakfast), etc., etc. We enjoyed the Japanese restaurant very much. The only "downfall" of the hotel, if you consider it one, is the distance from the action downtown. t is closer to the airport (no noise worth noting) but has easy access to all the suburban and surrounding sights via car, cab, or tour bus. Oh--and it is almost impossible to get reservations even weeks or months ahead. If you want to go and a room is available, grab it immediately!

Room Tip: If possible, pay the extra cost for a small or regular suite, preferably overlooking the plaza where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Dwarika's possesses a charm and character that are becoming ever more difficult to find. The history of the establishment, with its attention to architectural craftsmanship, makes it a museum as well as a lodging.
Although not far from the center of the city, it is clearly outside of it and the associated activity. As partial compensation, it is a short walk from Pashupatinath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our five day stay at Dwarika's really was an amazing experience - and it is an experience to stay there. Everyone is so helpful from the staff who welcome you in traditional Nepalese style to the lovely ladies who helped us book our trips it really is a five star service. The room was the best I have ever stayed in, it was spotlessly clean with a wonderful bath and walk in shower along with lovely toiletries. You will be spoilt for choice with breakfast and we so looked forward to our evening meals. If you have any doubts - don't - book it you will not regret staying here! Thank you to everyone on the Dwarika's team for making our stay unforgetable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing