We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of Kathmandu”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Kathmandu”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After two and half weeks of intensive travelling and sightseeing in Nepal and Bhutan, this was an excellent place to stay and rest before the long journey home. The room was magnificent and the whole hotel steeped in recent history. It is a very interesting story of how the hotel came about. It was a dream of a young man to save his heritage when he saw the old pillars and wooden windows being destroyed. They started with 2 rooms and now a wonderful peaceful hotel in the middle of a bustling city. Where possible they have kept to the Nepalise architecture but the bathrooms are modern and excellent.The owners do an amazing amount of work with the local communities and are involved in various educational charities. Met the Owners who are very humble and Mrs Ambica Dwarika is a very inspirational 85 year old LADY who still works tirelessly with charities and the main runining of the hotel is left to her daughter and grandson. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely Spa too. Highly reccomend this jewel in the crown.

Room Tip: Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    188
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
144
447
84
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here and could not have been happier. The hotel was so beautiful, the staff was so lovely, and the food options were so great, we almost never left the grounds. Our room was large, clean, and gorgeous, the architecture of the compound was old and amazing, and the facilities were perfect. If you are looking for luxury in Kathmandu, this is really the only option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeTheGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

i found this is run by ruling class family that has pillaged nepal for centuries. too decadent that they live high off the hog while so many people suffer in this country, really suffer!
if you like hanging out with rich and uppity then this is for you, but don't expect much culture other than the superficial outer structures.

Room Tip: get closer to culture in another place that doesn't support old ruling regime.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Sarita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Dwarika_Hotel, Assistant Manager - International Sales and Marketing at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sarita T,

Please allow us to clarify on the points that you have mentioned in your review of the Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu:

“i found this is run by ruling class family that has pillaged nepal for centuries.”

Neither the owning family nor any of the personnel who are employed by the Dwarikas Group of Hotels and Resorts are a part of the ruling class family.

“too decadent that they live high off the hog while so many people suffer in this country, really suffer! “

The founder of this organization Mr Dwarikas Das Shrestha established this organization with a view of saving Nepal’s endangered heritage by collecting it’s woodwork and in doing so not only helped save and promote Nepali values and customs but also provided employment to hundreds of Nepalese. Today, the Shrestha family who are still very much involved in the running of the company have contributed in taking his vision further and the Dwarikas Hotel displays the largest collection of Nepali woodwork in the world. Furthermore, today the company also provides employment to over 500 Nepalese hereby reducing the “suffering” of many people.

“if you like hanging out with rich and uppity then this is for you, but don't expect much culture other than the superficial outer structures. “

Apart from the outer structure , cuisine and service, every detail in every room, public space and service endeavors to portray the best of Nepalese traditions and values from the Thanka paintings of the Himalayan region to the trousseaux ( Sandooks ) coming from the Southern Terai belt of this country or the simple Nepali carpets/ rugs that we use.As you can see there is nothing that is decadent in this.

I would also like to inform you that the company invests in various philanthropic activities such as the running of a Secondary High School in Chitwan in the south of Nepal called “The Dwarika Das Secondary Secondary High School” where the company sponsors the education of 300 Nepalese children, the Ram Mandir Temple where we contribute financially to its refurbishment and upkeep, The Eco-Organic Farm where we attempt to preserve and revive Nepal’s native biodiversity, promoting harmonious ecosystems and self-sufficiency.

Finally, in regards to the fact that Nepal is a poor country that you have mentioned in most of the 5 reviews left on TripAdvisor : yes it is economically so but the generosity of spirit, of hospitality and happiness of its people are incomparable to other countries who might be financially better off than we are.

We are very sorry that you were unable to capture the very essence of the ethos of Dwarikas and indeed that of Nepal.

Regards,

Bhumi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothenburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

A hidden treasure when it comes to boutique hotels. Our stay at Dwarika's was for my birthday and we were offered the kindest attention and hospitality. The cake was amazing! A must for the antique lovers ~~ ( The date was earlier than November 2013 but I hope Dwarika's still offers the same kindness to you )

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Whenever Hubby and I go on vacation we look for places that are as much an experience as the trip themselves. The Late Mr. Dwarika realized his countries history was literally being burned up as heating fuel...so he decided to save it...Nepal is known for the most beautiful wood trim...intricately carved door and window frames, columns, rafters etc. He has created a beautiful retreat within the city. It is a little bit out of the center of town...close to the airport.

The aesthetic beauty he created is complimented by the service provided the staff. Being from Orlando they seem to subscribe to the eye contact, smile and hello (or Namaste) as they approach you.

However I think the biggest hit with the Hubby was the bed. It was so comfortable and the XLarge King. The bathroom was huge, with a great soaking tub. All the soaps, shampoos and toiletries are eco friendly and the towels are fluffy.

On your trip thru Nepal, its a must!

Room Tip: the Heritage rooms are stunning...do not need a suite for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sper1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent about 4 days before and after trekking - absolute gem. The rooms are beautifully decorated - the entire property is gorgeous - authentic, yet modern, with a lot of history and culture. There are 3 restaurants on the property and I must say each has delicious items to offer. Despite the noise outside, we could not hear a single car honk inside. Amazing atmosphere. Staff is extremely polite and helpful. Will highly recommend and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We changed two rooms (one on the first and the other on the second floor) and each was beautiful - y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is great hotel in Kathmandu as my experience. nice staff and excellent breakfast. hotel pool was nice. I like the hotel structure. it's a little away from city but we had panty of time for fun.
if you would like to go main city you have to take car from hotel. but night time quite expensive .
room was great nice t.v channel . thank you for all your service. we will come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#27 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing