We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shangri La in Kathmandu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shangri La in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dwarika's Hotel is off the charts in every way. The location is not ideal for walking around, but taxis are easy to come by and very inexpensive to take you anywhere. Large rooms, excellent service, healthy food and a fantastic historical setting make this a truly one of a kind resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SchermanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    182
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
431
79
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I had visited this hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed there 2 nights.The best things of this hotel is we can see Newari art and design. Excellent service.The art and and the design of the hotel is awesome. Conventional location. Friendly environment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BIBEK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travelled to Nepal as a family. The arrival was organized by our tour guide but as soon as we entered Dwarika, the staff greeted us and offered us a local welcome drink. Everybody was friendly.

When my mother got sick. the staff tried to help as much as they could and even came to clean he room at the specific time when we asked them to. Furhermore, a gentleman at the reception went to a drug store to get some medicine for my mum.

But what I remember the most is a young and very polite man in the restaurant. Altough I assume that we were his first table which he has to serve on his own, he did a great job! He was very attentive.

The property is beautiful and the spa was relaxing. The pool was a bit toop cold for us but that is personal feeling. Another issue were the bugs in the room but in a counrty like Nepal it is only normal that bugs are in the room.

I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not far from the center of town and located on a very busy street is this unassuming lovely historical hotel. The architecture is just wonderful, has a lot of character, holds a lot of history and It takes you back in time! You can appreciate the details of the elaborate and intricate woodcarvings seen throughout the building, truly a work of art!. It has a beautiful courtyard, a spa and has a nice pool. Our suite was large and lovely and nice and clean. It has a comfortable bed so you get a good nights rest. The bathroom was spacious with two sinks, a tub and separate shower and the only drawback is, the lighting was a little dark. You have all the amenities that you will need and if there something that is not there, just ask and you will receive.

The hotel also has complimentary yoga in the mornings for those who want to meditate

The hotel is close in proximity to the Pashupatinath Temple

The staff was courteous and helpful and provided us with good service.

On our first night at the Dwarika’s we had an authentic Nepali cuisine experience, we had a taste of the local delicacies from the Nepal region. We had a western style seating arrangements which are low chairs instead of sitting on a cushion on the floor and we had to take off our shoes. On succeeding nights we had a an exceptional japanese dinner at the Mako’s restaurant where the food was great. We also enjoyed appetizer and drinks at the Toran & fusion Bar followed by a tasty dinner. Service was very good, staff was attentive and they do aim to please.

Stuart & Nanette Duzan

Room Tip: Choose one that is away from the street facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a hotel, everything down to the smallest detail is perfect. I work in hospitality and have the greatest luck to travel around the world on a regular basis. I never right reviews because i do tend to pick on things that are minor.
I wanted to write this review because i was blown away about how good this place really is!
My room on the second floor was the biggest room I have seen and the lay out was spectacular. Furnishings were beautiful, day bed with a million different shaped cushions to flop onto after a hard day out. Slate style floors throughout, walk in shower, with a big separate bath area. enough room to put a dining room and chairs lol. big tv on a wall swivel so you can turn it to different ends of the room (bed, or day bed).
The grounds are awesome, great seating everywhere with day beds by the pool or courtyard seating all around the place. All with large trees and folige to keep the sting of the sun out and i think the noise of the chaotic streets just outside. A real haven away from it all.
The staff were special. Its quit funny, the attention by the staff is over the top, if you want it to be, they will be there every second to top up a drink, have a conversation or just check if everything is alright.(this is fusion bar).On the other hand they get the idea if you want some quiet time and will let you be.
Ram the man makes a killer cocktail and will try to force free canapes in you every second. Be careful you wont eat dinner haha, a great conversationalist. He has an exceptional bunch of people with him and is training them well.
I recommend this place for all these reasons and alot more. It is a place that will stay at the top of my list for many years im sure.
I did stay at two other properties in the same price bracket and its not worth a comparison
thx guys and girls for a great stay. I will be back in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: As all the rooms are individual and unique, roll the dice and enjoy. I was in room 55 and it was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is a gem and should not be missed. When Kathmandu was being torn down in lieu of modern buildings, the Dwarika family rescued and restored antique Newari windows, doors, chandeliers and everything else you can imagine. This hotel has been built with all of these beautiful items and is a living museum of Kathmandu history. The food is also terrific, along with the pool and the spa.

Room Tip: The suite rooms definitely showcase the use of antiques the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

After two and half weeks of intensive travelling and sightseeing in Nepal and Bhutan, this was an excellent place to stay and rest before the long journey home. The room was magnificent and the whole hotel steeped in recent history. It is a very interesting story of how the hotel came about. It was a dream of a young man to save his heritage when he saw the old pillars and wooden windows being destroyed. They started with 2 rooms and now a wonderful peaceful hotel in the middle of a bustling city. Where possible they have kept to the Nepalise architecture but the bathrooms are modern and excellent.The owners do an amazing amount of work with the local communities and are involved in various educational charities. Met the Owners who are very humble and Mrs Ambica Dwarika is a very inspirational 85 year old LADY who still works tirelessly with charities and the main runining of the hotel is left to her daughter and grandson. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely Spa too. Highly reccomend this jewel in the crown.

Room Tip: Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing