We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Hotel”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Colonial Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the rooms are comfortable and the hotel has lot of character. The food is awesome and the Nepalese restaurant is excellent. The hotel architecture is amazing and has a very colonial look.

Room Tip: Request for Heritage suite Junior or Executive suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vineet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    190
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
146
449
84
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

By far nicest and very interesting place in KTM. The architecture is gorgeous and it is nice that the owners have made a conscious Decision to preserve local items . An oasis of quiet after a busy day in a busy city. Breakfast excellent and fun to try a free yoga class.

Room Tip: A bit noisy in front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nellieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay at Dwarika's. Beautifully decorated, super friendly staff, lots of character. Generally a great vibe. The building is spectacular, old wood, brick, beautiful carvings...a real feast for the eyes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed in August 2013. Kathmandu tour arranged by Mr Suman from Destination Nepal Tours & Travels. Excellent English speaking tour guide for our entire 5 days Nepal tour. He suggested this excellent and magnificent hotel.

Dwarika is extremely beautiful 5 star hotel and it is truly a heritage boutique hotel. Its splendid interior with coziness and warmth of soft coloration will bring in the feel of relaxation and ease in every stay.

Room was spacious and well-appointed with traditional touches like a massive antique wood framed couch. We had both a very nice shower and a bath tub as well as a dual sink vanity. The king bed was very comfortable , service were a very nice touch.

Fantastic authentic Nepalese dinner at Krishnarpan Nepali Restaurant; the food and the service in the restaurant were of a high standard. We enjoyed a traditional 6 course Nepalese meal and enjoyed every bite. The ambiance is fun, service excellent and the food was well prepared, nicely presented and very tasty!. When you leave you get a gift of a small terracotta brick which is a great memento. The staff are exceptional and explain all the courses in detail. It was the best food in Nepal and an example of Nepalis hospitality

The hotel also offers complimentary yoga classes in the morning.

In Summary, DWARIKA'S HOTEL - Love the atmosphere, Deluxe rooms with sunken baths, excellent service, and the amazing Krishnarpan Nepali Restuaran.

I would recommend anyone to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James Rao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dwarika's Hotel is off the charts in every way. The location is not ideal for walking around, but taxis are easy to come by and very inexpensive to take you anywhere. Large rooms, excellent service, healthy food and a fantastic historical setting make this a truly one of a kind resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SchermanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I had visited this hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed there 2 nights.The best things of this hotel is we can see Newari art and design. Excellent service.The art and and the design of the hotel is awesome. Conventional location. Friendly environment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BIBEK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travelled to Nepal as a family. The arrival was organized by our tour guide but as soon as we entered Dwarika, the staff greeted us and offered us a local welcome drink. Everybody was friendly.

When my mother got sick. the staff tried to help as much as they could and even came to clean he room at the specific time when we asked them to. Furhermore, a gentleman at the reception went to a drug store to get some medicine for my mum.

But what I remember the most is a young and very polite man in the restaurant. Altough I assume that we were his first table which he has to serve on his own, he did a great job! He was very attentive.

The property is beautiful and the spa was relaxing. The pool was a bit toop cold for us but that is personal feeling. Another issue were the bugs in the room but in a counrty like Nepal it is only normal that bugs are in the room.

I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing