We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very comfortable and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is an excellent choice when staying in the busy city of Kathmandu. The hotel offers 5 starts service, the rooms are clean. We have taken the Junior suite and it over looks the pool. Very nice scenery. That being said, I have once stayed at the Hyatt regency instead and I still think that is the number 1 Hotel in Kathmandu. Dwarika would probably be a close second.

Negatives: 1} the breakfast of the hotel was way below average. the services of the restaurant and the room service quality are below average as well. 2} INTERNET is extremely slow

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Husam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    182
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
431
79
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
260 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a beautiful experience. The hotel is a testimony of the dedication of Mr. Dwarikas, who spent a lifetime collecting and renovating architectonic details from the area, who are now a part of the hotel. The level of service, attentive, sincere, is as best as it can get anywhere in the world. Only 5 minutes from the airport. Highly recommended if you go to Kathmandu,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of our trip to Nepal. Both times the rooms were very comfortable but our final stay was particularly pleasant as we were accommodated in a suite with loads of space. We enjoyed the authentic food in the basement restaurant and the peaceful ambience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billydog_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Dwarika's Hotel may just be the best thing in Kathmandu. In the chaos of the city, this place is a real haven. Somehow walking through into the courtyard the sound of the bustle outside disappears and you find yourself in a quiet, historical property. Much of the detail is antique - Mr Dwarika rescued cultural artefacts over the years and built them into the hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, although if you are travelling with friends the "romantic" bathrooms are a little on the open side - be prepared to look away. There is a nice pool and plenty of pool and courtyard tables with cafe and dining service. The food is not cheap - if that's what you're looking for, walk outside - but it's tasty and there's a good deal of variety. Splurge at least one night on the six-course feast. It is a fabulous introduction to Nepali cuisine and an experience in and of itself.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevilsAdvocate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Staff and environment makes Dwarika's the best place on earth. I can only express my gratitude for every wonderful moment I spent there. Every room is a different room and great. Totally recomment it!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. You can stay wherever they choose for you to stay. Trust me, you will be happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

If anyone doesn't find this an enchanting piece of paradise then they are severely jaded and world weary.
This is a little slice of heaven, and a peaceful sanctuary amid the noise and chaos of Kathmandu with resident dogs and gorgeous gardens and wonderful staff. It's the Nepalese experience rather than a cookie cutter hotel stay, but without compromising on delivering a 5 star product.
The rooms are really lovely, the property overall is gorgeous and sure there may be some little glitches such as plumbing draining a tiny bit slow or the hot water not instantaneous, but this is in Nepal where blackouts occur daily.
Loved the Fusion bar, wonderful decor (and the great service), and we went there every day for terrific drinks and a cigar (husband).
Had a superb 6 course meal at Krishnarpan their Nepalese restaurant and again, wonderful and gracious service. It was my husband's birthday and they made him the most decadent and delicious chocolate cake and he really loved it (and ate every bit of it!).
There is a charming and erudite Manager who clearly runs a very well oiled ship as all the staff here are superbly trained and have just the right combination of friendliness and professionalism. On average they have all been at Dwarika's for a number of years, which is a very good sign and it shows in the service levels.
Try and get to the Kaiser Cafe (Thamel) which is also run by the same group, as the setting in the Garden of Dreams at nighttime is simply breathtaking.
As you can tell we really enjoyed out 3 nights at Dwarika's and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We had a corner room above the centre block that had a wonderful panoramic view of the garden from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalGal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I had just been on a 8 day trek and needed to unwind, so we booked this hotel to really have a wonderful end to our honeymoon, and we were not disappointed. This was by far and large the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. We had a suite that was enormous and the grounds were beautiful. The only thing that surpassed the sheer beauty of the place was the service itself. From the manager right down to the cleaning staff, everyone was excellent. A few things to note:
- They do not like tips, there is a tipping box in the lobby that is the best way to ensure your tips to the waiters etc find their way to those working behind the scenes.
- It is a luxury 5* hotel, but at the same time it is family run. A testament to how amazing this place is, is that the family still live on the premises (they even came to us in the library to congratulate my wife and I on getting married - nice touch!)
- They have a traditional nepalese restaurant that has been frequented by several celebreties and honoured guests (including Prince Philip, Hillary Clinton) and it is AMAZING. We had a lot of local food and this did it justice.
- The breakfast is the best I have had anywhere in the world.
- The spa is an oasis.
- Location is smack in the middle of town, so lots of hustle and bustle, yet no noise in the rooms AT ALL.
My wife and I are frequent travellers and have been to several luxury hotels around the world and we will be returning here every year to celebrate our anniversary. Excellent hotel, excellent service, great food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing