We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be one of the world's best authentic hotel”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
NpjBnk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Must be one of the world's best authentic hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2009

So many rave reviews are written about Dwarika's so I thought not to write a single word because I feared in lack of appropriate words I may spoil its reputation but after reading so many reviews I could not stop myself. I was not a proper guest of the hotel, it was my brother's wedding to an austrian lady Gabriele last Aug. They stayed there more than 15 days [ one week with there 15+austrian groups]. from outside the hotel can be defined as it seems like an ordinary Newari house but once you enter through a small door you can easily guess riches of the ancient and traditional Nepali culture. Someone in the review has commented about the small door [main entrance] but it is larger than what it could be. It is because in Nepal traditionally the main doors are small one should bow his head while coming inside or going out this is a symbol of honouring the house One must bow the house as come in for shelter and go out for being safe. No wonder here people worship their houses too. The hotel is without compound wall as in Newari homes they do not have walls surrounding but inside courtyard so is the hotel.The courtyard garden is very nice and peaceful.
The lobby is not what you think of the star hotels' lobby but really splendid. You can see traditional art and craft allwhere the hotel even glass mirror border is decorated with the mithila art [ a form of art popular in the mideastern terai of Nepal and bihar(India)]
The rooms were spacious double than deluxe rooms of a five star hotel in Nepal. the staffs were very nice and attentive. tea and coffee was very good but the cookies were just good. the food served during the wedding party was tasty. mango souffle and kesari kheer were above all. I have not dine in their Krrishnarpan restaurant but my friends have praised it a lot. One of them found its drawback was you can have 16 items in a six course but can not get more of the items you liked among them[ but one is satisfied with all what it come and can't think adding] Swimming pool we saw I think is only decorative{ may be untrue} I only not liked its name DWARIKA as it sounds like Indian person's name [there is religious place in UP, India named dwarika]
This hotel is just like a blend of history and modern technology. It is traditional in architechture and style but with full of advanced ammenities as if a house from Medival Nepal is taken and installed somewhere Europe or America.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiddenpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    189
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
145
448
84
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

On our first visit to Nepal in 2008 we stayed at the Yak and Yeti hotel on 2 occasions and on both occasions were very disappointed. On our second (recent) visit to Nepal in 2009 (again on 2 occasions - for 7 nights at the beginning of our trip, and 3 nights at the end) we were recommended to stay at Dwarikas Hotel and were not disappointed. We absolutely fell in love with the hotel - the attentive staff, the oversize and comfortable rooms, the personal service, great food - everything! From the moment you walk in the front entrance, you feel like you are in a serene and wonderful oasis - gentle music playing, the sound of water, friendly staff who know who you are and greet you with Namaste every time you walk through the entrance, through the lobby, through the courtyard etc. It felt like we were staying in a living museum, amongst family, but with all the trimmings of a 5 star boutique hotel. What an experience. When we left, we were almost in tears saying goodbye to the staff whom we got to know and who treated us like we were very special. We note that some people have commented on its poor location but we did not find the location any problem at all. It's 5 minutes from the airport, you can walk to some of the sights, and a local taxi to Thamel is only 200 rupee. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait to return. Just as an aside - we note that Dwarika's is only rated by Trip Advisor as number 2 best hotel in Kathmandu. We think it should be number 1. We stayed at Yak and Yeti last year (poor service, tired and dirty rooms etc and we would not recommend). We visited the Hyatt Regency this year to check it out and while it's very nice, it's just like any other international hotel. Nothing special - not like Dwarikas anyway. Ah, Dwarikas!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssalie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Dwarikas is very special. The architecture is amazing. The flower filled grounds are delightful and the traditional rooms spotless and spacious. The a la carte Nepalese food was excellent along with the service in general.
Our main gripe was that the building work was noisy and dirty. We stayed at the hotel for four nights in total and just wanted to spend a couple of hours relaxing in the grounds by the pool on one day. We asked at reception if there was going to be a quiet time but were told that the building work was carried out between the hours of 9.00am to 6.00pm. We were also instructed to complete the questionnaire form in our room before we checked out if we wanted to complain! I did put pen to paper and handed a letter to reception but I never received any response the whole time we were there.
Our other issue was that there were many organised tour groups at Dwarikas when we were staying (we always travel independently) so the restaurant was pushing the bland international buffet at mealtimes. We prefer to eat local, traditional food and seemed to be the only guests ordering from the excellent a la carte menu but we had to wait a long time for it to be served.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaffronF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed here on the last 2 days of our trip to Nepal as a treat. It certainly lived up to expectations. We had a heritage suite which was massive - the bathroom alone was huge and the power shower really welcome after dealing with dusty Kathmandu. Service was attentive, if a little stiff at times. Breakfast wasn't included but I think was worth the extra cost - we stocked up the kids with as much as we could get in them as a good start to the day. We also ate lunch one day there in the courtyard. The setting was beautiful, although we did get a little plagued by flies (not that the hotel can do anything about that). There was building work going on but it was really low key. I guess if you'd wanted to lounge by the pool it could have been more of an issue. The location is a bit out of the way but with ok traffic it only took 10 mins to get to Thamel and the plus was it only took 5 mins to the airport. This place is more than a hotel - they describe it as a living museum and I think that's pretty accurate.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We stayed here as part of a Mountain Kingdom trip that went on to Bhutan. Perhaps we had not expected much, but from the moment we arrived we were captivated by this hotel. The building work was extraordinary in its attention to detail and use of traditional materials. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and all unique. Service was outstanding. Lots of pleasant places to sit. The Nepalese restaurant on site is also spectacular and a worthwhile experience in its own right. It is true the building works were noisy, but in spite of them I think this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I can see why it is easy to rave about Dwarika's but whilst we were there they were building another wing. The hotel prides itself on using reclaimed materials and local skilled workforce, it is likely to take some time. Even at the weekend the work started at 07.00 and as it was by the pool any rest was impossible. Only go if the building work has finished, otherwise it is charming.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

You could be in Kathmandu for any reason at all, and a stay at Dwarika's would be the highlight of your trip for every reason and beyond. (It is supremely sweeter to retreat here after seven full days of trekking the Annapurnas and living above bare minimum existence in concrete, unheated guesthouses).

From the moment you cross into Dwarika's under its intricately carved gables, your mouth forms a WOW and you aren't quite able to fold up your jaw even hours after you're on a plane leaving the country. For us, the past 12 days in Nepal did not prepare us for the fact that this level of service, hospitality and luxury was available there. We're talking boutique hotel personal attention, resort refinement and Western sensibilities, without losing sight of what is most important -- local cultures, flavors and sentiments. The hotel itself is a collection of of various Nepali-style traditonal houses around a courtyard, lovingly restored by Dwarika, and each spacious room is decorated to show off the best of local interior design and decor. In other parts of Kathmandu, you might not give this architecture a second glance, buried under grime, neglect and other distractions as such -- here, you truly appreciate the detail and artisanship needed to produce such works of art.

The food, as to be expected, is as good as they come in Nepal. We sampled both Western and local offerings a la carte, through the Friday night poolside barbeque buffet as well as the buffet breakfast -- an offering of both crispy and chewy bacon? Score! Nepali board games are left across hotel reception and patio areas, as well as in the rooms, for you to have fun with and speaking of fun, nothing beats a private massage in your room. Not only did we get to enjoy that, our room had a sitting area, workspace, immense bathroom area with tub, separate toilet and shower and dual sinks. When part of the fun of staying at a hotel includes exploring it, it's a keeper -- we were extremely sorry to leave the next day, but absolutely intrigued and pleased to have the opportunity.

  • Liked — Service, heritage, food, setting, history
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desireekoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing