We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KATHMANDU'S 1st FIVE STAR HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #75 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“KATHMANDU'S 1st FIVE STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

First of all Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu is not a part of shangri-la group. But its the first five star hotel of Kathmandu. Its a boutique hotel which have most of the five star facility.

Location wise the hotel is ideally situated in the vicinity of some embassies including Indian embassy. The Lazimpat road is under construction (widening works). Therefore walking on that road might be problem especially in night.

Rooms are good and comfortable. The hotel also has a casino where people and actually enjoy.

The food and service people are really exceptional. They are really helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Take deluxe rooms or twin bed rooms on 4th or the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiewJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    210
    102
    39
    17
See reviews for
86
117
55
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Perfect value for money, nice garden, free wifi in the lobby, mini bar, good food with a nice mix of nepalese, indian and international kitchen in a buffet style, but the best of all is the internal illy espresso bar so there is really good coffee, that is often lacking in these kind of places

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Beware of the advertisement. Yes this may be Kathmandu's first five star hotel but has not remained that way.
This should sum it up. We paid over 280 a night for a regular size room with patio.

For that price, urine should not come out of the bath tub faucet. I understand Nepal is a third world country, but when we asked for help, it took us four phone calls for someone to come up and fix it.

The food is horrible.

The front desk decided to prank phone call our room six times during evening hours.

Stay somewhere else, unless you want a golden shower-

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliJackson511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Wilmslow Cheshire
Level Contributor
246 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

In the centre of Kathmandu and a good place to travel from but could do with a make over. The staff were good the food especially the breakfast great but the rooms could do with and make over, but you have to remember that Kathmandu is in the process of change. Every street is being dug up and therefore dust is everywhere and this is sad as it is difficult even to find the footpaths let alone walk down them. Visit Nepal as it is a beautiful country but by aware of the changes that are talking place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are the ones to go for, avoid the ones at the front of the hotel. Neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimboomba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here both before and after my trekking holiday. It was an oasis away from the busy streets of Kathmandu. Food was good, rooms were nice, service as good as anywhere, the only downside was the beers were expensive. I'd definitely stay here again as it was a handy place to base yourself

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here before and after a trek in the Himalayas and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Good sized rooms in pretty good condition with really wonderful garden grounds which are such a welcome retreat from the madness of the city. Just one word of caution - both my husband and I got very sick after dinner here on our first night here despite eating very carefully and wisely, and others in our group also had issues. But the hotel itself was great, just be extra cautious in the restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

On arrival I found my room overlooked the front of the hotel and there was a lot of banging coming from the building next door. I requested another room, and also noticed they had club rooms. I asked to look at one of these and it was slightly better appointed than my room. I then received a free upgrade, and this club room happened to be at the rear of the hotel with a pleasant view of the grounds. The only other extras which club rooms appared to afford were a small sitting area near the elevator and the room's air conditioning kept working when the key card was removed from the slot.

The buffet breakfast was adequate and there was a choice of a buffet or a la carte for dinner (not sure about lunch). A barbecue was included in the buffet dinner on Friday nights.

The staff were very friendly an obliging.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#60 of 198 in Kathmandu
519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#27 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing