We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judo for Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #70 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
kathmandu
1 review
“Judo for Peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Namaste!
Thank you so much for the wonderful stay in your hotel. I've had a wonderful time during my visit in Nepal. Working with the Judokids, enjoying Island Peak and Ama Dablam with High Valley Treks and afterwards some adventurous bikerides with Dawn till Dusk.
Your hotel gave me a lot time to relax and made me spellbound about the lovely garden and the inspiring people!

see you soon, Sabrina Filzmoser

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    200
    96
    36
    14
See reviews for
81
112
54
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here before and after a trek. Although the hotel is showing it wear, i.e. bathtubs require replacement, it is otherwise very comfortable and affordable. Staff are very friendly and helpful at all time. Wi-Fi is free in the garden and the bar but is very very slow. Saw one rat on last day of stay near the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwattsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Shangri-La Hotel is nestled centrally between the Indian and Japanese embassies in the middle of Kathmandu. It provides a welcome retreat with exceptional Nepalese charm and hospitality amid the congestion and chaos of the city. Our room had teak floors, hand loomed Tibetan rugs, and lovely teak furniture with a comfortable bed, sitting area, and balcony overlooking the beautiful large courtyard garden where ambassadors and Nepalese businessmen take lunch and tea amid American. British, and German trekkers. We met daily in the bar for an aperitif before venturing out to recommended local restaurants and one night stayed in to eat pizza and watch football with a friendly group of Manchester United fans. What really distinguishes this hotel, however, is the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. We were met at the airport by the competent head bellman and welcomed by the manager and his staff upon arriving at the hotel. Every request was met, including one night when we were fighting colds and had chicken soup room service before going to bed early.

Choose this locally owned and excellently managed hotel if you are looking for an hospitable Nepalese retreat and a responsive, high quality repose in a city that can be sometimes difficult to navigate.

Room Tip: Don't be deterred by the extremely poor condition of the road leading to the hotel. It was puzzl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is really a very good hotel to stay at Kathmandu. All the important places and markets are just few minutes away from here. More over the Airport is just 15 min far from here. The maintenance of the hotel is very good. Some of the staff are just very well behaved and some are ok. The packed breakfast which they provide are not so good but the breakfast in the hotel is just delicious. The swimming pool is not very big but well maintained. Overall I had a very good time in this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank saikat_hari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arriving at this hotel in the dark was not the best experience as the road leading to the hotel was more like a 'War Zone', part of the City's infrastructure improvements. However once inside the staff were very helpful and the room clean and adequate for our needs for a two day stay.
We had a buffet style dinner and breakfast in the lovely walled garden and an oasis from the madness outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewshighhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in two spells during first week of October. The approach road is under repair, so lot of dust enroute. Hotel was average with service not up to a 4 star rating. In my second spell of stay on 10/11 October I stayed in room 223. Telephone was not working and repeated complaints drew a blank. Nobody cared to make it right even after I went down to reception to report. Breakfast was just average.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niranjannavada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely Hotel...Great ambience...Great service ! The whole experience was very nice...! Excelent coffeshop semi outdoors very peaceful and relaxed...There was a Sasa and DJ night also which was great...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drknath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#27 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing