We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful break from Kathmandu chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #97 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here pre and post Everest Base Camp tour. I found it consistently clean, good service and wide range of food options (including vegetarian and FODMAP options).
Whatever I needed they helped me with - printing documents, posting items back to Aus (complex and pricey but no different to other courier services).
They have a small postbox for postcards which was handy as post offices and post boxes are impossible to find.
Rooms very clean - drinking water supplied in room. Hot shower:)
Safe in room.
Pool.
Lovely grassy area.
Free wifi in foyer (reasonable speed) or pay for in-room use.
They have their own generator so you barely notice the regular power blackouts.
Money exchange available at reception.
There's an ATM on the opposite side of the road about 10 minutes walk (towards Thamel). It currently only lets you withdraw 10,000 rupees per transaction (not unusual for Kathmandu ATMs) but you can make as many withdrawals as you want. Handy. If you don't want to walk there are often taxis literally right out the front door who'll take you there and bring you back for~200rps ($2).
TIP - you can't change rupees back to dollars at the airport without a receipt so keep your receipt! You can't change rupees outside Nepal so do it before you leave!

If you ask reception to call you a taxi to airport they might quote up to 1500rps (~Aus$15), but the guys outside the front door will happily take you for ~500-600rps (negotiate before you get in).

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KickingTheBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our entire team which will encourage them to further strive towards achieving excellence.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Loved this place, still feels like you are in Nepal and not a same old chain hotel but the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness also felt luxurious for Nepal. Reasonably priced stay, we spent 2 weeks here. Nepal is loud and the bibbing of the horns is constant, this place is just off the main road and a very short walk to the centre 4 minutes I'd say. I would stay her again if I ever had the pleasure of coming to Nepal.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and despite always getting sick I never had a bad belly, just round the corner is java coffee shop where I spent lots of time and again is a haven in amongst the madness.
When in Nepal, haggle loads but make sure it is a price they are happy with too, you are able to get so many wonderful hand made products that you would regret not buying when you get home.

Kathmandu is great but if you get a chance stay at the shangri las sister hotel in pokhura. They will arrange it for you. It's beautiful and you wake up to the Annapurna mountain range in front of your eyes.

Altogether a wonderful place and I often think of Nepal, it has a special place in your heart once you have been.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
Thank you for your wonderful comments and appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here a total of 4 nights pre- and post our trek to Everest Base Camp. We were very happy with this oasis in chaotic and dirty Kathmandu. As mentioned before, it's about an easy 20 min. walk to the Thamel shopping district - you should make the walk to get a sense of Kathmandu. The back area of the hotel is a beautiful garden area. The pool is nice and they provided an umbrella when we needed one. The breakfast has lots of variety and definitely enough to please Western tastes. The service was excellent within the hotel. Anytime we called for anything, it seemed they knocked on our door just as I hung up the phone. Staff was very friendly and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
The team at the hotel looks forward to having you with us and assure of another great stay and dining experience.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We noticed that unless you are Indian then you arent going to be served in a hurry. The price is right, rooms are nice, food just ok. The pool area needs more shade, garden are peaceful. As mentioned numerous times this isnt part of the Shangri-La hotel chain, but they do a good enough job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lin0zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay.
As regards your comment on shade around pool area, we will be adding few more garden umbrellas as the summer approaches.
Thank you for your feedback, which will be shared with team, so that we can better prepare our self and ensure a seamless experience in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you with us again for a renewed experience soon.
Thank you for taking the time to share this review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently did a trek to Base camp with Perigrine and we stayed at the Shangri La before and after the trip. It was only a short walk or cheap taxi fare from Thamel. It was set in beautiful gardens and was a great contrast to outside the gate. The buffet breakfast had a good variety and it was easy to get a pot of herbal tea or an expresso( specialised coffees had to be paid for but were worth it.) A good a la carte menu with a variety of special choices on other nights eg mongolian BBQ, live music evenings.

Room Tip: My friend and I shared an appartment of which there are only 2. It had lounge, small kitchen, bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthtriciaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu !!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and taking the time to share the review on Trip Advisor.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.

We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.

We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.

Regards.

Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This beautiful hotel has been given another face lift thanks to the new pavillion, plush garden areas and spruced up pool. I've been staying here over the course of eight years and never been disappointed. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable; the staff is friendly, helpful and flexible. Lastly, the location provides shoping and sightseeing within walking distance as well as drivers and guides at your request. This is blend of Old Nepal and New Nepal, mixed with people from all over the world creates an enjoyable atmosphere for trekking travelers.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that look over the garden/pavillion area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moveyourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu !!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal.

It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.

We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
I am delighted to know that you had experienced such an enjoyable stay with us and be it for business or leisure, we hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.

Regards.

Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is NOT part of the Shangri La chain BUT for the price it is really good the service is excellent the people are very nice and helpful
While I was away trekking my wife had to stay their for 10 days and not ones she was disappointed, every day they where looking after here
The breakfast is excellent the dinners where very good ( try the buttered Chicken Masala , unreal how nice )
The price you pay is what you get but better
Would we recommend this hotel YES any time to any one

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Mr. Don,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and taking the time to share the review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team efforts. Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
The team at the hotel looks forward to having you with us and assure of another great stay.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#38 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing