We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #93 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A Nepali colleague booked a room for me, as it was near his home. The price is reasonable and the hotel is comfortable. The rooms are small, but this is reflected in the price. My bathroom was clean, but limited. Hot water is from solar panels, so variable.
The range of breakfast food is fairly good. Other meals offer limited choice, but the food is tasty and amount is plentiful. However, there are plenty of other restaurants in the area, offering a wide range of food. Wifi in the foyer and garden area is free.
The location in the center of Thamel is good. Most people seem top be part of tour parties, so being in the middle of tourist shops is useful for them. Getting taxis for travel to other parts of Kathmandu was easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna G, Manager at Hotel Marshyangdi, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for all your suggestions and appreciative comments. It was pleasure serving you. However, it won’t be difficult to book us direct as we are centrally located along with dedicated staffs 24/7 round the clock. Further we have gone through all our renovation and maintenance currently. Rooms has been expanded and made spacious along with neat and clean bathrooms. Considering guest’s choice on top priority, hotel now serves wide range of food preserving its quality.

We look forward to see you next time again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    95
    64
    27
    17
See reviews for
23
57
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Mid range hotel. Got to see a number of different rooms in the main hotel as we were part of a big party. Some rooms have been renovated and are nice, others are old and pretty crummy, with towel rails falling off in the bathrooms and poorly maintained, and some, near the staircase had no outside window, making them dark and very stuffy.Electricity supply is very intermittent and the room lighting is the worst I've ever experienced, leaving you peering through the gloom after dark.Nice foyer and restaurant. The reception staff were unbelievably unhelpful, at times downright rude. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get them to tell you if the room has been recently renovated and make sure it has an outside window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We group of 11 people staid for 2 days in this hotel. Rooms are good services also quite good.Staff is in very discipline. Manager is also of good nature.Only problem is power cut. Lighting and AC are not working . Only small light is working this is very difficult for those who have vision problem.Food is good in limited menu.For Indian food problem may face but they cooperate with Indian
Room Tip: Elimination in room is require to change.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papesh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as the starting and ending accommodation for a group tour to Tibet. I was lucky enough to have a room in the main part of the hotel. It was clean, the room was spacious enough. Others in the group had rooms in the new attached wing, which were the size of cupboards. The hotel food isn't very good, plenty of other places to eat in Kathmandu.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights before trek and 1 night after. It was just about okay.... but I'd stay somewhere else next time. I had a room in the old annex - really not that nice at all. I hear the main building is nicer. My 1st room was on the 2nd floor - dark with old decor and shower/toilet room had a lot of mould. Quite noisy (both from street noise and other guests partying). Next room on 4th floor was fresher... but still quite old looking. Breakfast buffet was nice. Could leave a bag there while trekking - no charge. Internet only available in lobby or breakfast terrace.

Room Tip: If you stay here, do not stay in the Annex - it's a bit of a kip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naas-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is located in Thamel, where you can find a lot of shopping for souvenirs and outdoors cloths.
Hotel's stuffs are very polite and efficient. Hotel's room are divided to two parts. The new section is clean with hot water but the old section is not good these days.
I think, its restaurant is the best in Thamel area.
Totally I recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose main section
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amooafshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Marshyangdi. Very friendly and helpful staff. Even late at night they were more than happy to help out a Scotsman far away from home and pour me a Johnny Walker red label scotch. This hotel is very well situated in Thamel and the military guard on the gate will always give you a cordial salute as you enter the compound. No problems here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#49 of 202 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Serenity
Hotel Serenity
#107 of 202 in Kathmandu
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Property: Hotel Marshyangdi
Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing