We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malla Hotel
Ranked #163 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here recently for a few nights on a tour with a group. Would not want to stay here for more than a few days. The location is good but the hotel has seen better days. The rooms are very tired and need updating and redecoration. The first room I stayed in the hair dryer did not work and the toilet needed a couple of goes before a successful flush was achieved. On my return visit before flying home the room I stayed in was slightly better. The hotel is clean and the food

The staff in the dining room were not particularly good and food at all meal times was kept hot in serving dishes with lids which were never replaced to keep the food hot.

The bed sheets had holes in them.

Room Tip: My room faced the garden and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    80
    70
    30
    8
See reviews for
19
50
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a beautiful property situated in a very convenient location, just 5 minutes from the tourist hub called Thamel. Serice is good, friendly and attentive, and the restaurant serves a good buffet breakfast. Rooms however are pretty shabby and need a urgent sprucing up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
962 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel is set in great grounds within a short walk to the Thamel. The pool and gardens are lovely and well maintained. The common rooms (lobby, lounge, etc) are very impressive. The breakfast meals were excellent. There were a number of tour groups in the hotel, but the staff seemed to handle them quite well at breakfast when it is usually chaos when all the tour groups want to get away at the same time.
It was lovely to walk in the door of the hotel, after a busy day out and about, to be greeted with a smile and a salute.
However, the rooms were only adequate and looked very tired. The hotel needs to spend a bit of money doing some renovations in the rooms. We had booked a double, but ended up with singles which the hotel changed to a double as soon as one became available. There was no safe in the room but the hotel provides a safe deposit facility.
The internet was only Wifi in the lobby and it wasn't always working. Power was a hit and miss affair, but that appeared to be all over Kathmandu. The hotel laundry was efficient and cheap. Being close to the Thamel, there were many excellent restaurants nearby. It was also close to the "Garden of Dreams" which is an even better oasis in Kathmandu.
We would definitely stay at the Malla again - all things being equal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Service is good (Pradeep at reception who checked me in was very helpful, gave us recommendations, & very polite) Staff in restaurant & room service were awesome too.
Rooms - the furniture, mattress are all really old, the sofa smelled of mould/pee, no shampoo only "bath foam wash" & soap.
Stayed one night only, the girl at reception next morning was either really unhelpful or just not trained properly, she wouldn't call a "regular" taxi for us that suited our needed, we either had to book a car service through them & pay double the amount or go out & get taxi on our own. After making it clear that its her job to call us a taxi according to our needs & basically directing her in terms of what to do, the hotel got a taxi for us. If you want to avoid getting ripped, ask for a regular taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in September and October 2012 as part of a large group trek to the Khumbu region of Nepal. We stayed at the Malla Hotel on our way in and out of the Khumbu. I have stayed at other hotels in Kathmandu, and I was very impressed with the facilities at Malla Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was secure, and we were greeted with a smile and a salute everytime we entered or exited the hotel. The breakfast buffet was amazing! The food and drink prices were reasonable. The wifi was fast and reasonably priced. The courtyard was marvelous! A nice little retreat from the craziness of Kathmandu. I would highly recommend the Malla Hotel to anyone going to spend any amount of time in Kathmandu. The location is not the absolute best, but it worked out great, and Thamel is in easy walking distance. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed four times on group tours at the Malla Hotel since 2007. Still no proper lock on the lobby gents loo; air cond not reliable; TV remotes so old you have to hammer them to get them to work; noisy door locks echo down the corridoors late at night; Breakfast buffet very good but lack of staff means that the tea/coffee service is very slow and the tables are not reliably re-set with cutlery; staff very friendly, good fruit on plate in room plus water; lobby staff good; wine very expensive for a small glass but the bar and staff are good; garden cafe service somewhat slow but the grounds are lovely and hotel is close to shops and the Garden of Dreams! Evening meals very good, but a few ladies complained of cold plates and food not very hot. This hotel COULD be very good with just a little firmness and direction from the management. Enjoyed the visits but could do without the irritating problems! ITH

Room Tip: Ask for one that does NOT have a partition door to the next room (i.e. making a suite), as this make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I recently had an opportunity to stay at Hotel Malla for 3 nights.
the first time, there were problems with the AC in some of the rooms. these were fixed by the time we were back after a gap of about 10 days.
the location is very convenient - close to the central area of Kathmandu and also close to the shopping area of Thamel.
Food was average.

Room Tip: choose the pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv_Sivaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#30 of 203 in Kathmandu
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#61 of 203 in Kathmandu
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#40 of 203 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#62 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Property: Malla Hotel
Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#42 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing