We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and great staff”
Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malla Hotel
Ranked #170 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel after being evacuated from the Everest region. I stayed here for 6 days on my own. When you first arrive you think its a very nice hotel. The reception area / bar and gardens are really nicely kept. However the rooms are very old fashioned and very dated, the whole place is looking very tired. But i do feel that the location, right in the Thamel district is spot on. You can walk to the great shopping areas and to the main square and several temples. The staff here are brilliant, they all went out of their way to see i was ok, as i was on my own. Coming to my room, bringing me meals and just a pleasure to be with. I would use this hotel again for that reason. It would be nice to see them get new uniforms as lots of these were as tired as the decor!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are quieter, but all rooms on the ground floor smelt a little bit dam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My three sisters and I went for a holiday, stayed at this hotel, Ideal location, walking distance to Thamel tourist shopping areas. Warm Hospitality by the staff and General Manager. Good spread of meals. Our Mountain flight was excellent, as we had a fine sunny day.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor, quiet and had more privacy, room was spacious and well kept,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuspaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a trekking tour group, but we arrived a day early to go on the Everest Vista Flight (excellent on our day).
The Malla is a very pleasant hotel set in an oasis compared to the dust and traffic in the vicinity. The breakfast and evening meals were buffet style and were fine. Had lunch one day and that was a set meal which was also fine. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. My main issue was that the shower is in the bath and whilst a grab rail is fixed on the side wall there is no bath mat supplied and the baths are very slippery and I turned in the shower and fell out of the bath on to the wc and badly damaged my back and had to have a hospital visit with x-rays etc. My trekking was therefore somewhat harder than I had planned. The next day a shower mat appeared in the bath but it was at least a day too late. Beware, ask for a bath mat in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiseles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is not five star contrary to what has been charged by our travel agency (Snowland Travels and Tours - which is by the way, gave us a real crappy service - do not book your travel to Nepal through this agency! Real waste of money!)

The hotel badly needs refurbishment - really old and stinky room. The staff are nowhere near friendly, the breakfast was really bad and almost inedible not to mention dirty linens.

The hotel really is below average by our standards, we regret staying in this hotel for two nights especially when we think about how much we paid.

The WIFI is available in lobby but is not included in the hotel package. It is relatively cheap however, with the hotel room price and hotel condition, it should have been free.

Definitely not recommended for a family with kids like us.

On the positive note, the check in/ check out is a breeze as we arrived late at night. That's pretty much the good thing we can say about the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Centrally located to Thamel area. Found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and friendly. Ate a few meals. Nothing brilliant but standard meals were tasty and plentiful. Garden area with pool accompanied by foot massages following a trek was welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilv402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Pool area is being remodeled but quite nice in afternoon. Rooms are clean and staff is attentive and competent. Nice feeling all around and quiet away from the infernal Kathmandu traffic noise and pollution. Definitely a hotel to consider with good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neighbor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Decent place. Rooms are not bad, fine linen. Bathrooms redone. Located next to Thamel. Nice pool. Friendly staff. Didn't taste the food. There are better hotels but this one is worth the money they charge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isha e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#65 of 207 in Kathmandu
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#70 of 207 in Kathmandu
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#105 of 207 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#45 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £99 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing