We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants”
Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malla Hotel
Ranked #160 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice hotel just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is a lovely clean hotel just on the outskirts of the main shopping /tourist area. We had breakfast included in our package it is recommended. The hotel is a little dated but the for the area, it’s very luxurious. The beds were big and very comfortable and the pool is set in a relaxing atmosphere.I’ve read some reviews slating this hotel but what people need to remember is they are in Kathmandu which is years behind some of the top tourist areas and the whole area is dated and needs upgrading!. We used the hotel as a stop off when we travelled to Mount Everest and were able to leave some of our gear in the hotel until we returned. I would recommend this hotel and comparing it to most of the other hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    80
    70
    30
    8
See reviews for
19
50
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Good place to escape the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. Friendly staff, large bedrooms, unlimited breakfast. Welcome respite after a 17 day trek, but like a few things in Nepal there are always a few issues - like running out of hot water. Still, nothing's perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have to give HUGE props to the doormen and security staff at Malla Hotel. I stayed here with humanitarian tour group after some village home stays, so the clean facilities and comfortable bedding were breath of fresh air. I had taken a taxi from the hotel (I flagged the taxi down near the Monkey Temple) and accidentally left my camera in the taxi. I did not figure this out until 2 minutes later to my utter dismay and was running around frantically around Bouddha Gate looking for this taxi driver. With the assistance of other taxi drivers in the area, I was taken to the police station to report this, in the off-chance that it was returned or could be tracked down. After 1 1/2 hours of going through surveillance tapes the police were able to narrow the taxi down to two taxi numbers, but I had to go back to the hotel to see if this was recorded in order to identify the actual taxi number so that the police could find the taxi to retrieve my camera.

I'm so glad that I did not stay at some cheesy, cheap hotel because low and behold, the security records every single driver that comes through to the hotel, and I was able to identify the taxi number. The security staffed spoke with the police and helped me along the way and really made me feel at ease. Not only was it a $400 camera, but the photos were memories of my past week working and playing with school kids and Nepalese villagers. The doorman and security staff also ordered another taxi for me and explained the situation to him, which made me feel comfortable and completely safe. In the end, I was able to retrieve my camera after 5-6 hours of searching and investigating.

I can't express how helpful and ethical the security staff was at Malla Hotel and every one else they worked with. It showed true human spirit and people working together to make this one tourist come out of the country feeling blessed to be there.

Thank you so much for the warm hospitality! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay at a safe and helpful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Arrived about 9pm to NOT be greeted - the guy behind reception said nothing when I said "Hi, checking in please", so I tried to tell him my name and my trekking company name and he disappeared off, 2nd guy was not much better but he did check us in, but no usual directions to the room or times of breakfast or dinner, consequently we didn't have hot water to shower that night as it must run out at either 10pm or 9pm never learnt which!!! Not sure if the problem was language or that the staff are a bit brusque, but i reckon it was a bit of both. We stayed twice during out Nepal tour, the first room we had was horrible and dirty and stank, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and assess on basis of the second room which was clean with everything working. Bathroom and room are dated and would have looked great in the 80s, but is definitely tired now, the theme of 80s and tired ran throughout the public areas, the lobby and restaurant. Plentiful western TV channels, bed was comfy enough, hotel generates it's own electric when the power goes off, a few shops in reception (souvenier) and a casino in the car park.
Breakfast was acceptable but nothing special. First night had the dinner buffet which I felt was rather poor and tasteless. For food I recommend walking out of the hotel front gate, turn left, at first road turn left again down the side of the hotel and about 50m on your right is a 2 floor restaurant with tables in a rear garden also and Nepali ethnic dancing from about 7pm, it seems that many tour companies use this place as it was full every evening with large groups, so it must have something going for it when compared to the competition.
Not a lot going for this hotel, but I feel that if you want something better you will have to spend considerably more per night to get it and end up staying in the Hyatt or Shangri La, however if you want something that is OK and safe and not too expensive for a couple of nights then Malla will suffice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel after being evacuated from the Everest region. I stayed here for 6 days on my own. When you first arrive you think its a very nice hotel. The reception area / bar and gardens are really nicely kept. However the rooms are very old fashioned and very dated, the whole place is looking very tired. But i do feel that the location, right in the Thamel district is spot on. You can walk to the great shopping areas and to the main square and several temples. The staff here are brilliant, they all went out of their way to see i was ok, as i was on my own. Coming to my room, bringing me meals and just a pleasure to be with. I would use this hotel again for that reason. It would be nice to see them get new uniforms as lots of these were as tired as the decor!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are quieter, but all rooms on the ground floor smelt a little bit dam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My three sisters and I went for a holiday, stayed at this hotel, Ideal location, walking distance to Thamel tourist shopping areas. Warm Hospitality by the staff and General Manager. Good spread of meals. Our Mountain flight was excellent, as we had a fine sunny day.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor, quiet and had more privacy, room was spacious and well kept,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuspaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potters bar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a trekking tour group, but we arrived a day early to go on the Everest Vista Flight (excellent on our day).
The Malla is a very pleasant hotel set in an oasis compared to the dust and traffic in the vicinity. The breakfast and evening meals were buffet style and were fine. Had lunch one day and that was a set meal which was also fine. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. My main issue was that the shower is in the bath and whilst a grab rail is fixed on the side wall there is no bath mat supplied and the baths are very slippery and I turned in the shower and fell out of the bath on to the wc and badly damaged my back and had to have a hospital visit with x-rays etc. My trekking was therefore somewhat harder than I had planned. The next day a shower mat appeared in the bath but it was at least a day too late. Beware, ask for a bath mat in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#44 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#57 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#98 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Property: Malla Hotel
Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#41 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing