We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Hotel Utse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Utse
Ranked #81 of 206 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is a good choice because it is centrally located in Thamel, but surrounding are not noisy like in many other areas. It is a old hotel, but well maintained and has a expert and welcoming service. Food is also a highlight if you want to try Tibetan specialties.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back to minimize road noises
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Utse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I'm impressed. The staff do care about what their customers think of them. They really went all out to make me happy and were very attentive. The food was delicious and it was well worth the trip. Thank You !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife & I stayed here for a total of 8 days while in Nepal. They owner was like a mother to us and walked us to a taxi that took us to the airport at 5:30am to make sure we were safe. There rooms are very comfortable and it makes you feels like you are staying in a hotel out of the era of Graham Greene. The Tibetan restaurant (oldest restaurant in Thamel) is the best food we ate while in Kathmandu, especially after coming off a 30 day trek.
The prices are quite reasonable ($30-35 for a large room) & the food is quite inexpensive (about $3.50 for a large plate of food per person). I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which is a bit larger
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkykizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Beautiful Tibetan hotel.
Lovely interior and roof top garden.
Clean and simple rooms.

Wonderful staff, service and everything. Incrediably helpful.
Great location.
Hot showers.
Storage for your excess gear while you are travellingor trekking about.
Tourist information and assistance in organising your travels if need be.
Laundry service
WiFi

Just wonderful!


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megsief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed for two weeks and found the staff very friendly, cheerful and very helpful. Often going out of their way to help. The room was very comfortable and the food I would highly recommend.
The atmosphere is warm and family like. After a busy day it was like coming home.
I would highly recommend this hotel and have already done so. When I return to Kathmandu this where I will be staying.

Room Tip: Speak to staff about your preferences, they are more than willing to help.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I enjoyed staying here so much I am actually going to bother to write a review! The quick review is if you are looking for a place to stay in Thamel that is r=super friendly, with clean rooms, wifi and great food this is your place. They will let you leave all your luggage safely in their store room whilst you are trekking or away, and will hold a room for you for your return during the busy season to ensure you have a place to stay when you return to Kathmandu.

Here is the longer version:
I came to Kathmandu with my parents on a long 2 month stay involving a lot of walking in the mountains and plans to go up into Tibet. This hotel is NOT the first place that we stayed in so I have a couple of other places that I can compare it to. When we returned from the Anapurna range hike it was so busy that any where that I had been before was full... and so unfortuantley we had to take a risk and just stay anywhere that had space. That quickly went from being a stressful unlucky situation to one that was very much a blessing!

At the Utse hotel we were quickly welcomed by staff and made to feel very much at home by Mama Utse. It being a family run place, it very quickly came to feel much more like a home stay than a hotel. The food was excellent, and the Utse family running the place really made it feel a little like a home from home.

The hotel is one of the oldest in Katmandu, and the place benefits from the atmosphere that age has lended it. The combination of that older feeling along with hot showers and modern matresses that lend for a god nights sleep is a dynamite combination.

I stayed in a few hotels, and having done ones that seem nice when you first go in only to realise at 3am in the morning when the party is still running next door that the "centeral location" is no longer an asset but actually a curse! The Utse positioning is great,. Right in Thamel tourist land, but about 5 minutes walk from the center which means you can sleep at night whilst still only having a few minutes walk to, well, everything!!

The restaurant in the place is great, and for variation within a 3 minute walk you have everything from the up market fire and ice pizza place (famous and costly) to cheaper chineese food (cheaper and still good in my opinion) to super cheap Dal Bhat!

Himalayan Bank for ATM machine is again only 3-4min walk, money changer 2 min walk, and street chai for those that like me prefer drinking tea for 15 ruppees outside in the morning 1 min on the corner!

Wifi in the lobby is good - I regularly video skyped my sister with clear line... headphones are a must for any skyping if you value some privacy on conversation.

I do no tlike to bad mouth, so all I will say is that having stayed in several places in Thamel in Katmandu, the UTSE is now without a doubt my go to place :-)

Have fun in Nepal, and if you do go tell mama Utse (the mother of the place) that Sanjay from London said hello! She will look after you well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamtheactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This eclectic, base-camp like, tibetan styled guest house was a great experience! The staff is cheerful and always ready to help. Restaurant is superb. Rooftop is beautiful. Room was clean. Everything was a little breezy though, take warm clothing because windows are permanently open all over the place. Wifi worked well in lobby and restaurant.
They got me a travel agent to organize a day and a half of touring Kathmandu and Nagarkot sunrise over the Himalayas (a little pricey but well worth it).
Location was great because it is in the south end of Thamel, closer to the Durbar Square and old town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 206 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#9 of 206 in Kathmandu
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 206 in Kathmandu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Kathmandu Home Hotel
#82 of 206 in Kathmandu
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#29 of 206 in Kathmandu
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 206 in Kathmandu
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utse

Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 206 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £27 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Utse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utse Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing