We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from noizy KTM”
Review of Hotel Sunset View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunset View
Ranked #150 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Relax with nice garden and evening view. A little bet far from Thamel, but close to airport and easy access to Bhaktapor. Extension of a rood in front of the hotel is on going in 2013 spring, so dusty outside but room charge is discounted. No problem for battery charge with WIFI. Good J-breakfast, but do not expect too much. Recomendation for family stay or elder persons.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed at the Sunset View for about a week in January and then moved to a different hotel. It's a beautiful hotel and the garden and views are easy on the eye. However, it was winter and there was no heating in the rooms and backup power was iffy at best. Plus I would lose Wi-Fi connectivity unless I either left my room's door open or stood in the entrance, despite the fact that the router was right outside my room. I was here for work and remaining connected was vital for me so I had to move out. The staff were friendly however. I also thought it was pricey given that I was able to find another hotel with better facilities at a lower rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alih1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The first time in this hotel and really appreciated. Spacious room and friendly very personal service. They make the best out of the poor resources they have in Kathmandu.

Only sad point was the missing elevator, which keeps you fit :-).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beatolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

A bit pricey for Kathmandu standard and outside the main tourist hub. This hotel is a good choice for peace loving family and business travellers. Rooms in the new wings are better than the old wings. When we stayed there, there was a problem with hot water supply and had to wait for at least 45-min. Staff were friendly but expect them to be slow. Best of all is the Japanese restaurant in the hotel (where breakfast is served). The restaurant serves one of the best Japanese cuisines (but its really pricey!!). The garden is also another jewel of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yonkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I was one of those lucky ones to have stayed at this beautiful hotel (about 3 months) on the very top floor (I took over the room when my friend left) with a majestic view of the city through the walls of glass windows all around the room. It had a nice balcony and a huge walk out terrace where one can sit and relax with or without friends specially on sunny days. It was complete with a working kitchen (plus all the kitchen hardware) and a large refrigerator which made it even a great place to stay. In case you get lazy, there's a great japanese restaurant in the premises. It was surrounded by plush vegetation and the serene atmosphere. Staff were great and helpful. Certainly would stay there again if and when an official trip to kathmandu comes my way.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EAlcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
SF Bay area, California USA
17
Reviewed 3 May 2006

We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed coming back to the hotel each day for the serenity it offered. Beautiful grounds, tranquil Japanese gardens, restaraunts with outdoor seating, gift shop. Rooms are clean and spacious. Sits up on a hill high enough to have great views and catch any breeze. Amazing Japanese style breakfast each morning got us off to a good start. Walking distance to Patan's Durbar Square.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank umekichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#64 of 210 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 210 in Kathmandu
818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,117 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset View

Address: 1174 Box | New Baneswor, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £31 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunset View 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunset View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing