We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OM TARA- Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Tara Guest House
Ranked #85 of 488 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

BEST location in Thamel...near to Yak restaurant and supermarket....
Clean rooms, confortable, and price very very honest!
Bhim the boss very friendly and Krishna also very gentleman...
You can stay well in a good atmosphere...
There is inside a little garden area at 1st floor,,you can read, eat or write or...drink beer!
Even if is in Thamel, you can't ear any noise...
They have also 2 little apartements for family with kitchen,bedroom and a hall, for long stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciano537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really liked this place! I stayed here multiple times. Each time, they gave me a fair price and I never felt like I was overcharged. The rooms were simple and the bed was comfortable. It was actually the softest bed I slept on in Nepal. The wifi was a little spotty, but no worse than any of the other places I stayed at in Nepal. The power will go out at times, but you will find that anywhere you go in Kathmandu. The water was hot! It's located in a good spot on Thamel.

Cons: The shared bathrooms were a little dirty. It was no worse than anything else I found in Kathmandu though. I think that's mostly due to the shower and toilet being in the same room. That's Asia though. You get used to it. They close the door on the street a little early. Kathmandu shuts down by like a 11 o'clock, except for a couple bars. If you come back after that, you might just have to knock on the door. I never had a problem with it. If you see the door closed, don't freak out. Just knock.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms and they were all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Om Tara family are really nice and it is a good place to stay in Thamel. Close to everything you could possibly need in Kathmandu. Near to Durbar Square. Good place to book a domestic flight maybe or even go trekking or take part in an adventure sport. All you could need!

Room Tip: Get one with a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dronji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very friendly staff but there were bedbugs all over and that's just a headache not worth having... Otherwise the location is great as it is withing walking distance to Durbar Square or to get out into the "real" Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I agree with positive reviews here. Especially the guest house management is friendly and can arrange a range variety of things while making you feel at home. Location is almost as central in Thamel as it can get all services being within walking distance.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PowderPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Om Tara Guest House is a very nice place to stay in Thamel. Centrally located, clean room for a good price and service and friendly staff. Wifi is working all day, they have hot shower 24 hours and it was easy to get along with the other guests. the staff is trying to make you feel at home, which I did because of their service, advice and chats.
It is a good location to discover Thamel and the sights on walking distance (Durbar Square, Swayambhunath, Narayanhithi Palace Museum), for places further away the staff is always willing to advise you about the options to visit other sights in Kathmandu and the Kathmandu Valley.
The guest house is on walking distance from the bars and restaurants (ask the staff and they can advice you), a small supermarket and all kind of shops are at the same street and around the block.
I really enjoyed my stay in Om Tara Guest House and recommend it to all my friends and when I get back to Kathmandu, I know where to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tijnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Nice clean place with good room. 24hour reception and free wifi in the rooms even when the power is out (witch happens all the time in Kathmandu due to loadshare) Many bars resturants and Stores in the area.

Great personel witch will help you with travel advice or any other thing you need.

Recommend to Stay here to all my friends!!! Its like a second home, The Omtara Geusthouse.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main can be very noise but courtyard side is very quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haystackbaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#3 of 183 in Kathmandu
158 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tara Guest House

Address: Near JP Road, Kathmandu 5034, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Tara Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Om Tara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing