We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location very basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Tara Guest House
Ranked #77 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect location very basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located walking distance to Durban square and the main tourist interest sites, shops and large number of restaurants around (the most expensive ones..due to the location). The staff is very kind but as everywhere in Nepal there are problems with electricity and hot water, in summer time should be better!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelepiselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
15
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

BEST location in Thamel...near to Yak restaurant and supermarket....
Clean rooms, confortable, and price very very honest!
Bhim the boss very friendly and Krishna also very gentleman...
You can stay well in a good atmosphere...
There is inside a little garden area at 1st floor,,you can read, eat or write or...drink beer!
Even if is in Thamel, you can't ear any noise...
They have also 2 little apartements for family with kitchen,bedroom and a hall, for long stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciano537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really liked this place! I stayed here multiple times. Each time, they gave me a fair price and I never felt like I was overcharged. The rooms were simple and the bed was comfortable. It was actually the softest bed I slept on in Nepal. The wifi was a little spotty, but no worse than any of the other places I stayed at in Nepal. The power will go out at times, but you will find that anywhere you go in Kathmandu. The water was hot! It's located in a good spot on Thamel.

Cons: The shared bathrooms were a little dirty. It was no worse than anything else I found in Kathmandu though. I think that's mostly due to the shower and toilet being in the same room. That's Asia though. You get used to it. They close the door on the street a little early. Kathmandu shuts down by like a 11 o'clock, except for a couple bars. If you come back after that, you might just have to knock on the door. I never had a problem with it. If you see the door closed, don't freak out. Just knock.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms and they were all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Om Tara family are really nice and it is a good place to stay in Thamel. Close to everything you could possibly need in Kathmandu. Near to Durbar Square. Good place to book a domestic flight maybe or even go trekking or take part in an adventure sport. All you could need!

Room Tip: Get one with a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dronji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very friendly staff but there were bedbugs all over and that's just a headache not worth having... Otherwise the location is great as it is withing walking distance to Durbar Square or to get out into the "real" Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I agree with positive reviews here. Especially the guest house management is friendly and can arrange a range variety of things while making you feel at home. Location is almost as central in Thamel as it can get all services being within walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PowderPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Om Tara Guest House is a very nice place to stay in Thamel. Centrally located, clean room for a good price and service and friendly staff. Wifi is working all day, they have hot shower 24 hours and it was easy to get along with the other guests. the staff is trying to make you feel at home, which I did because of their service, advice and chats.
It is a good location to discover Thamel and the sights on walking distance (Durbar Square, Swayambhunath, Narayanhithi Palace Museum), for places further away the staff is always willing to advise you about the options to visit other sights in Kathmandu and the Kathmandu Valley.
The guest house is on walking distance from the bars and restaurants (ask the staff and they can advice you), a small supermarket and all kind of shops are at the same street and around the block.
I really enjoyed my stay in Om Tara Guest House and recommend it to all my friends and when I get back to Kathmandu, I know where to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tijnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tara Guest House

Property: Om Tara Guest House
Address: Near JP Road, Kathmandu 5034, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Tara Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Om Tara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing