We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alobar1000 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alobar1000 Hostel
Ranked #41 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Bang in the middle of Thamel, next door to the Garden of Dreams (no. 3 attraction). Excellent service, Om really helped us plan the little time we had in Kathmandu. Couple of negatives there was a problem with the water and heat thereof, but that's to be expected in all Kathmandu; it was directly next to a large building site that was noisy and early. However, we wanted to be up early to make the most of our time in Kathmandu anyway!
Great, cheap little place to enjoy Kathmandu from!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    60
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
22
121
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Excellent budget accommodation. I've been to Nepal twice and stayed in Thamel both times, in various places. This place is BY FAR cleaner, more friendly, and more accommodating than any hostel I've been to. Excellent hot water showers. Prices are great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

For only 300 rupees you can't go wrong! The dorms are clean and tidy, wifi is fast, bathrooms are cleaned often and it takes only five minutes to walk into central Thamel. It's perfect for meeting other travellers and has comfy communal areas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kallista90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

As a group of backpackers, Alobar1000 was the perfect place for us. While the rooms were somewhat cramped and the bathrooms more so, everything else was perfect. The rooftop bar was a great place to enjoy a beer and talk to staff and other travellers, the travel desk was invaluable in helping us organise what we wanted to do with our time, and all of the staff were amazingly friendly and very helpful. With good staff and lots of travellers coming and going, it's the sort of place in which a community can form very easily.
Prakash at the front desk helped us find accommodation in Pokhara and even arranged a private van to take us there.
Overall, this is just a very good hostel and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xav_omalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lausanne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hi, I stayed a few days in Kathmandou and Alobar1000 is very nice.
Helpfull people, hot shower, internet, very good price. I had a good time in this Hostel.

So if you pass by Kathmandou, go in this hostel, it's in Thamel too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakatsuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this one is well up there as one of the best, especially in terms of value for money, quality of service and atmosphere. The staff here really go out of there way to provide the best possible service for their guests. They are always very friendly and happy to help. The rooftop bar and chill-out area is a great place for socialising and meeting other backpackers, which for me, is exactly what I want from a hostel since I'm travelling alone. The food is very good and charged at a fair price. Yesterday I appreciated the free cooking class that was offered by the hostel manager, which he didn't need to do, but as an example of how the staff here like to engage with their guests and show off a bit of Nepali culture.
If there was one criticism of the hostel it would be the lack of showers and space in the toilet cubicles, but this problem will not be their for too much longer. As I left this morning I noticed that work had begun on the ground floor to construct a new toilet and shower block, which is a sign of how the management here listen to feedback from guests and are quick to take action. This place is still only 18 months old so is bound to have a few flaws. But I don't think it will take too long for this strong team to make this not only a very very good hostel, but an excellent one. It will be!
Thanks for everything Alobar. Alex

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

A very welcoming team, a nice bar on the rooftop, in short, a good place to relax after an exhausting trek!
There are also some useful facilities available such as laundry (60 nrps a kilo), free info desk, free wi-fi, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#28 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#8 of 119 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#4 of 119 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Happily Ever After Hostel
The Happily Ever After Hostel
#12 of 119 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
0.0 mi away
Sankata Hotel and Apartment
Sankata Hotel and Apartment
#24 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alobar1000 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alobar1000 Hostel

Property: Alobar1000 Hostel
Address: 29 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alobar1000 is a hostel established for the very purpose of a true Nepali experience. We understand that your travel is very much important and that involves your experience. As a hostel, we help in providing a home space for your stay in Nepal. Once you feel at home your experience will be a great one, that is what we believe. Please come and experience Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alobar1000 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing