We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alobar1000 Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
152
65
36
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
65
36
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barsocial areaprivate rooms areshare experiencesmeet other travellerscommon roombed dormground floorhot waterlocation is greatbackpackersnepalsolotrekkingpowermattressesheart
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

If this hostel were in another country I would give it a pretty low rating. The dorms are crowded and have very basic beds, it's not very clean at all, the bathrooms are horrible. But a lot of this stuff is standard in Nepal. Also, the atmosphere is great. However, the staff were pretty rude and unhelpful compared to other places I've stayed in Nepal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank trekker582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hostel is just perfect for backpackers as the crowd and saff here is young, friendly and so flexibel. You are paying for what they ofer. Their bar and restaurant work on very good prices and the food is lobely, fair play to the chef, Not to mention the roof top saff Sushont and Narayant! The warm welcome they host you is something special. From the breakfast staff Depak is the most hepful person, if you have any requeats, he is the one who can sort you out. At last but not least Prakosh was just cool. Any issues you have around Kathmandu and the hostel, he seems to be the right hand of the owner, so in doubt feel free to contact him, he will not let you down.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Akos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonton, Canada
32
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is without a doubt the best hostel in Kathmandu! The staff are fun, the place is clean (by South Asian standards), the price is right, and the rooftop bar is a fantastic place to meet fellow travellers and hang out. My only "complaints" are that the beds leave something to be desired, and the walls are thin. When I come back to kathmandu, I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

1. Cleanliness problem - Beds and comforter in Mixed dorm or Male dorm are covered by bed sheet. So it have accumulated dust, it is dirty.
2. Quiet problem - Can hear people talking and walking in the room while sleeping. So hardly to have good sleep since it is noisy.
3. Hygiene problem - Toilets are dirty since they only wash once in the early morning. Can see toilet paper everywhere on the floor. No staff is cleaning the room on daily basis too.
4. Comfortable problem - Mattress was hard, difficult to have good sleep.

I wouldn't stay there again if you paid me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

stayed in Alobar 1000 twice while I was in Nepal. Had a great time...good people staying there and the staff is great...rock n roll ;) (Om, Sushant, and Narayan) much love from Brendan (Canada). The location is perfect being right in Thamel close to everything you need. The hostel has washrooms on every floor, hot showers (most times), and the dorms are pretty good for $4.50 US a night. You can't really go wrong. Rooftop bar serves good food and cheap drinks along with a good atmosphere at night. Don't forget to hit up the signature whiskey.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews