We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base and help staff”
Review of Alobar1000 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alobar1000 Hostel
Ranked #40 of 455 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu a few weeks ago and used Alobar1000 as a base for trekking and exploring more of Nepal. The staff were helpful and friendly - we felt that we perhaps paid too much with Dhal Bhat Power (the hostel's tour desk) for our Shivapuri tour (we should have asked around other companies and also looked into it more as we didn't really need a guide) - but otherwise staff were happy to help.

The dorm was basic but had all that you need, although in both rooms the fans were not working. The rooftop atmosphere was fantastic and great for meeting fellow travellers. Overalls great value for money (for budget travellers)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Alobar1000 Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

i highly recommend alobar ! i came back there 3 times !

the roof top bar is very good to meet people to trek

the staff is great and helpful, food is cheap and great, hooooot shower, good location !
they also have some activite every night like cooking class, game night !

thanks alobar staff for the amazing stay !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I loved my time at Alobar. It was clean (by Nepali standards), and had the added bonus of hot water in the showers AND toilet paper!

The vibe was great, and the staff were friendly.

It was slightly over-priced by Nepali standards, but I am guessing that you're paying a bit for the vibe rather than for luxury.

The rooftop patio was a perfect, quiet, place to go unwind/meet people, after a busy day in Kathmandu.

If you're a 5-star-hotel traveller, you won't like Alobar (book a 5-star hotel). If you're a budget traveller, looking for a place to hang out/be safe/meet friends in a good location, Alobar is the place to stay. :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with construction happening close by, and avoid rooms on the third floor under the roof...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

They provide Airport pick up and I found this arrangement very comforting as this is the 1st time i travelled to Nepal.

I'd booked a female dorm room. However, when i entered the room, i found that i was arranged to a mixed dorm instead. Since i would travel to Pokhara next morning, so that it didn't trouble me at all.

Bus tickets, taxi services could be made by the sister travel agency next to the hostel, it is very convenient.

Room Tip: Travellers with large luggage, try to fight for a room in the main building... as i climbed all the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaiko0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When you arrive they greet you with 'welcome home' and indeed it is. There is a huge sense of 'togetherness', especially on the rooftop where you just can slide down beside some strangers and drink a beer og two and feel welcome. It's full of backpackers, so it'll maybe best suit the younger travellers, even I did see a few people with grey hair.
It's also a wonderful place to meet others, especially is you're alone and need a travelpartner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annasofiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

So i just stayed one night in Alobar1000 as I had only a short two week volunteering trip in Pokhara. it was a fun night, meeting some interesting people, and even though the travel agency next door was closed when i got home they still managed to book me a bus to pokhara for the following morning! I had an afternoon to kill by myself on the way back before my flight home and the friendly and helpful staff mentioned I could just crash at the hostel, it was great- they looked after my bag whilst i grabbed dinner in Thamel and i even met more awesome people whilst chilling in the hotel lobby.
Thank you staff at Alobar1000, you're all awesome :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

If this hostel were in another country I would give it a pretty low rating. The dorms are crowded and have very basic beds, it's not very clean at all, the bathrooms are horrible. But a lot of this stuff is standard in Nepal. Also, the atmosphere is great. However, the staff were pretty rude and unhelpful compared to other places I've stayed in Nepal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank trekker582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#83 of 207 in Kathmandu
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#29 of 455 in Kathmandu
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zen Bed and Breakfast
Zen Bed and Breakfast
#39 of 455 in Kathmandu
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#47 of 455 in Kathmandu
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#9 of 151 in Kathmandu
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alobar1000 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alobar1000 Hostel

Address: 29 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 455 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alobar1000 is a hostel established for the very purpose of a true Nepali experience. We understand that your travel is very much important and that involves your experience. As a hostel, we help in providing a home space for your stay in Nepal. Once you feel at home your experience will be a great one, that is what we believe. Please come and experience Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Alobar1000 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing