We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster and relax Hostel”
Review of Alobar1000 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alobar1000 Hostel
Ranked #48 of 470 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is an average hostel to be honest, i stayed here 4 nights, The roof top is one of the best things along with its atmosphere. It is for far the most known backpacker hostel in the area, but lets face it, the share bathrooms were not in good condition, and the showers...only one of them worked in the bulding. in the right side...Internet is slow.
The Dorms are not that cheap as you can expect, prices start at 450 Nepali rupees up to 550 for a Share dorm.
There is a contruccion in the back of the hostel, so prepare your self to be waken up around 6.15 am everyday.
Staff are helpfull.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room facing the construccion in the back, too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe_Sanhueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Alobar1000 was Thamel's answer to hipster backpackers that exists everywhere else. While its showers could do with better flood prevention and the wifi could be a bit more reliable, everything else, from the sunny and laid back rooftop, to the vast number of free books on loan, to the friendly staff both at Alobar and Dal Bhat Power, have been great. The location is easy to find too - a rare attribute in maze-like Thamel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wthdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Alobar is a great place to stay whenever you are in Kathmandu.

If you are arriving in Kathmandu it's the place to go - The travel desk staffed by Om & the team are very helpful. The hostel also has a reception desk that's got staff there pretty much 24/7 who can help you out.

The roof-top bar is really what makes alobar legendary amongst travellers in Nepal/India. It's a great place to meet people, you can chill out there all day and it's great in the evening with a well stocked and reasonably priced bar.

There are activities every evening, Nepali langauge classes, cooking classes etc. all free. The quiz can be fun if the right crowd are around.

The staff are all awesome. Make sure you buy Sushant at the bar a beer or two, he's a top bloke!

Room Tip: I only gave "average" for sleep quality due to the fact that there was construction going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadeemontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in Alobar1000 when I was in Kathmandu and I really liked there. The room was very good for Nepalese standards and the rooftop is amazing and with nice and cheap food. A great place to meet fellow travellers and new friends!
They were renovating when I was there so they have new (and very nice) rooms and also the rooftop is bigger and nicer!
The staff is the best part of the place as they are very friendly and nice! Even though I didn't do any tour with them, they kept on being nice for the whole time I was there.
I recommend this Hostel for all those going to Nepal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu a few weeks ago and used Alobar1000 as a base for trekking and exploring more of Nepal. The staff were helpful and friendly - we felt that we perhaps paid too much with Dhal Bhat Power (the hostel's tour desk) for our Shivapuri tour (we should have asked around other companies and also looked into it more as we didn't really need a guide) - but otherwise staff were happy to help.

The dorm was basic but had all that you need, although in both rooms the fans were not working. The rooftop atmosphere was fantastic and great for meeting fellow travellers. Overalls great value for money (for budget travellers)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

i highly recommend alobar ! i came back there 3 times !

the roof top bar is very good to meet people to trek

the staff is great and helpful, food is cheap and great, hooooot shower, good location !
they also have some activite every night like cooking class, game night !

thanks alobar staff for the amazing stay !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I loved my time at Alobar. It was clean (by Nepali standards), and had the added bonus of hot water in the showers AND toilet paper!

The vibe was great, and the staff were friendly.

It was slightly over-priced by Nepali standards, but I am guessing that you're paying a bit for the vibe rather than for luxury.

The rooftop patio was a perfect, quiet, place to go unwind/meet people, after a busy day in Kathmandu.

If you're a 5-star-hotel traveller, you won't like Alobar (book a 5-star hotel). If you're a budget traveller, looking for a place to hang out/be safe/meet friends in a good location, Alobar is the place to stay. :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with construction happening close by, and avoid rooms on the third floor under the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#49 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#25 of 470 in Kathmandu
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zen Bed and Breakfast
Zen Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 470 in Kathmandu
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stupa Guest House and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Sankata Hotel and Apartment
Sankata Hotel and Apartment
#28 of 470 in Kathmandu
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zostel Kathmandu
Zostel Kathmandu
#6 of 175 in Kathmandu
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alobar1000 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alobar1000 Hostel

Address: 29 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alobar1000 is a hostel established for the very purpose of a true Nepali experience. We understand that your travel is very much important and that involves your experience. As a hostel, we help in providing a home space for your stay in Nepal. Once you feel at home your experience will be a great one, that is what we believe. Please come and experience Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Alobar1000 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing