We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in town!”
Review of Alobar1000 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alobar1000 Hostel
Ranked #40 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurdaspur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing place with so many nice people. The rooftop restaurant is nice. They specially ordered a pizza at 1.30 am as I arrived late. Have so many activities to do for the backpackers. They have a tour operator which can help arrange treks or tours across Nepal. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akash_rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    62
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
23
124
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

best for chill out in kathmandu, the people is awesome, the staff the best, the best solution for backpackers, 100% recommended, i met the best people there, i would stay forever, im going back back defo.. its the stop in ktm..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Absolutely loved my time at Alobar. Chilling out with friends that you make in an instant, chilling, partying, doesnt matter, always something happening. People from every little corner of the world.

Perfect location in Thamel, with my favourite breakfast place just 2 mins walk from there.

I am so going back here!

Room Tip: Try not to sleep in the room next to reception. Also try to avoid the room under the top level bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you want a loud hipster invasion hostel than Alobar is your scene. Rooms and communal bathrooms were surprisingly clean. Restaurant on terrace is very cheap and quite tasty. However, there is no curfew and often times the large staff would make more noise than the guest. Additionally, the guest were also loud. Construction surrounds the hostel. I recommend the Hotel Peace N Park. Better accommodations, friendlier staff, better location and cheaper than the hostel.

Have fun trekking

Room Tip: I stayed in multiple rooms before leaving and none of them out compete the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This place has all the ingredients of a perfect backpackers haunt, and it works. I've travelled the whole of the subcontinent in 6 months and apart from Stops Hostel in Varanasi, this place is the most backpacker friendly place I put down my bag.

Well located in the heart of Thamel it's set over 3/4 storeys with a great chill out area up on the roof top with so many cushions and pillows you could drown in them.

The rooms are small, but well maintained, the bathrooms are a bit dark and will be showing some age soon, a more utilitarian and little less chintzy decor prone to mildew might be in order.

Overall, excellent!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tomosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had a tremendously wonderful time staying at Alobar! The staff there is super friendly, the lunch and dinner is cheap and delicious, there is television playing the World Cup games, with beer specials, and friendly travelers! Great rooms, clean bathrooms, very fun atmosphere. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: Co-ed rooms are 350 Rs per night. Same sex rooms are 450 Rs per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went there with two friends in 2013 and had the best time of our trip. The place is nice, has a wonderful terrace were parties are held quite often. We took a private room so we were fine, just mind your personal belonings if you go for a dorm as we had a guy we met that had some problems over that. But anyways, we felt at home there, and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#49 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#27 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#8 of 125 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#4 of 125 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Happily Ever After Hostel
The Happily Ever After Hostel
#12 of 125 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alobar1000 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alobar1000 Hostel

Property: Alobar1000 Hostel
Address: 29 214 Kesarmahal Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alobar1000 is a hostel established for the very purpose of a true Nepali experience. We understand that your travel is very much important and that involves your experience. As a hostel, we help in providing a home space for your stay in Nepal. Once you feel at home your experience will be a great one, that is what we believe. Please come and experience Nepal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alobar1000 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing