We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Clean Rooms, Almost free Wi-Fi, location”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #109 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stay at Hotel Excelsior from Nov 24, 2012 till Nov 27, 2012. Location is excellent, right in the heart of Touristy Thamel. Rooms are basic, clean, though a little dated. Room was bright and well ventilatedI supposed most Kathmandu Hotels are. Service was good. Most staff were smiley and friendly. You do get one of two grumpy faces but service is still instant and good. Internet is almost free. I paid less then USD1 for 24 hours. Speed is acceptable. Ask for rooms facing the back. It is much quieter. I was given a bigger room in the front. Neigbouring building very noisy, blasting music till midnight.
My daughter had a smaller room at the back. Much quieter.
Didn't notice the quality of water, but I think it was not yellowish . Showers pressure is strong and hot.

Room Tip: ask for corner room at the back, quieter and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Excelsior situated in the centre of Thamel Kathmandu (down an alley, so not easy to find). The staff were helpful and accommodating. As we had to leave early the next morning to catch a bus, they arranged breakfast for us early. They took our order the night before to ensure it was ready, and it was. They then arranged for someone to walk with us to the bus and make sure we got on the right one. The room was clean and the most comfortable room we'd slept in during our 4 week stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times when the Kathmandu Guesthouse has been full or overbooked, rooms were arranged by the Guesthouse and the same price. We felt a little cheated that we didn't have the sanctuary of the Guesthouse garden but we discovered a beautiful room top garden with views across the city. On arrival the hotel has a Mafioso feel (most of the staff being dark suited men), but it was friendly enough. The hotel is very quiet, has a cafe (which we didn't try), free wifi throughout, and the most comfortable beds in the whole of Thamel! The room was clean and the bathroom large even though it had the feel of a prison cell. I wouldn't book to stay here as a first choice but for the odd night it is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a week and must say that I had a good experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and well serviced. Hot water everyday and no power cuts. Food was standard and good service. Nicely located in Thamel without being affected by all the noise. Would def recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a single standard for single and not delux as there's no point in spending more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Hi there, I stayed at Excelsior Hotel for a few times while I was working in Nepal. I totally loved it. You have choice of different room standards and prices. Food was very safe, tasty and well cooked. Momo and salads my favourite. Hotel in central location of Thamel but not really close to any of noisy clubs and pubs. Besides everything in Thamel is closed by midnight so you still would get decent sleep. Staff was just incredibly nice and ready to help at all times. I have got a beautiful memories from Excelsior and am more that sure I'll be back there.

Room Tip: Extension of Excelsior is much cheaper so if you are a budget traveller ask for extension. You can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janusz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Excelsior two different nights in April, at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. It is in Thamel but off a side street, so it isn't crazy noisy. The rooftop is lovely and underutilized but we had drinks up there. We had an early morning flight, so the staff took our breakfast order the night beforehand, opened the kitchen half an hour early and had our breakfast ready when we came downstairs! It was great food too.

Room Tip: "Extension" rooms are the ones across the street and said to be less nice. Get a deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aj_ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed 2 times at this hotel and always enjoy it. Rooms are clean and spacious. The room service is good clean and well priced food, chai is great ! Wireless in room and TV with HBO. Bathroom with bathtub. Sheets good quality (and fit !). Location is great, central. There is noise from local bars till 11pm, but I think that would be in most places in Thamel. I personally highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again and again and will do.

Room Tip: get a delux room on top 2 floors if possible facing away from the bars on main strip of Thamel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegmomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#33 of 210 in Kathmandu
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#70 of 210 in Kathmandu
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 210 in Kathmandu
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £23 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing