We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, rooms vary according to price, Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #108 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Excellent location in Thamel, right in the heart of where most travellers want to be, but off the main street so not as noisy as other hotels. There are a wide variation of rooms for budgets from 1000Rupees upwards varying from simple rooms without fans in the hotel extension across the street, to bright airy rooms with aircon, TV, balcony and large bathrooms with a tub in the main hotel. All were VERY CLEAN, but a couple had a musty smell so check first.
Bed was very comfortable, the shower had good pressure and was always hot, best we had in Nepal.
WiFi is available but is additional cost and in 4 days we were never able to connect so perhaps save your money and just use the internet cafe across the street. The elevator is dependent on electricity which isn't always available in Kathmandu, so don't count on it if you're likely to struggle with stairs. The hotel does have a generator and they always turn it on at night so you will always have lights.
The door men were all very warm and friendly, as were some of the reception staff, while others on reception and in the restaurant were grumpy....
Overall excellent, but for this we definitely paid more than our usual backpacker budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

I go to Kathmandu twice a year and allways stay at Hotel Excelsior. Namaste to Kunsang and his team! they offer a free airport pick up in their nice new van! tHe hotel is basic, clean and excellently located right in the heart ot Thamel a stones throw from everything. Staff are enthusiastic, friendly and will help you with anything you need. Great view of the Kathmandu valley from the roof. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within 3min walk. They have a back up generator for those daily governmental power cuts. The hotel is well kept and clean. Hot water is solar heated from solar tubes on the roof so it depends on when you shower whether the water is hot or warm. In general drink bottled water and use hand sanitizer (small dettol hand sanitizer is good) for wherever you go in Nepal. I will be going back in April and again towards the end of the year and look forward to seeing the team. I did the Everest Base Camp Trek in October 2012 and styed here before and after leaving some gear with them whilst i was away. They were very accomodating when the flight to Lukla was delayed due to fog for 3 days. WiFi is limited but is readily available in most bars, cafes and restaurants for free. I recommend Tom and Jerry's, New Orleans, OR2K, Budha Bar and definately Sam's Bar (owned and run by a German lady who has been there since the 80's, she is there every night working the bar). Enjoy! Namaste

Room Tip: I go for Room 203 when i stay as its on teh back side of the hotel and away from some of the bars no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazNRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location. Good value for money in Kathmandu. Nicer than it initially appears and the staff are really helpful with anything you need. Good food too. wifi and hot water most of the time, remember this is Nepal so pay more if you want faultless facilities (still not guaranteed to be fair), otherwise this is a great option. Stayed as a single female and felt really safe. Use the Kathmandu Guest House or Pumpernikel Bakery as a land mark for your taxi if they don't know where it is; have the number of the hotel and you can call them and they will send someone to find you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hathor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stay at Hotel Excelsior from Nov 24, 2012 till Nov 27, 2012. Location is excellent, right in the heart of Touristy Thamel. Rooms are basic, clean, though a little dated. Room was bright and well ventilatedI supposed most Kathmandu Hotels are. Service was good. Most staff were smiley and friendly. You do get one of two grumpy faces but service is still instant and good. Internet is almost free. I paid less then USD1 for 24 hours. Speed is acceptable. Ask for rooms facing the back. It is much quieter. I was given a bigger room in the front. Neigbouring building very noisy, blasting music till midnight.
My daughter had a smaller room at the back. Much quieter.
Didn't notice the quality of water, but I think it was not yellowish . Showers pressure is strong and hot.

Room Tip: ask for corner room at the back, quieter and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Excelsior situated in the centre of Thamel Kathmandu (down an alley, so not easy to find). The staff were helpful and accommodating. As we had to leave early the next morning to catch a bus, they arranged breakfast for us early. They took our order the night before to ensure it was ready, and it was. They then arranged for someone to walk with us to the bus and make sure we got on the right one. The room was clean and the most comfortable room we'd slept in during our 4 week stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times when the Kathmandu Guesthouse has been full or overbooked, rooms were arranged by the Guesthouse and the same price. We felt a little cheated that we didn't have the sanctuary of the Guesthouse garden but we discovered a beautiful room top garden with views across the city. On arrival the hotel has a Mafioso feel (most of the staff being dark suited men), but it was friendly enough. The hotel is very quiet, has a cafe (which we didn't try), free wifi throughout, and the most comfortable beds in the whole of Thamel! The room was clean and the bathroom large even though it had the feel of a prison cell. I wouldn't book to stay here as a first choice but for the odd night it is ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at Hotel Excelsior for a week and must say that I had a good experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and well serviced. Hot water everyday and no power cuts. Food was standard and good service. Nicely located in Thamel without being affected by all the noise. Would def recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a single standard for single and not delux as there's no point in spending more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#81 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#72 of 210 in Kathmandu
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 210 in Kathmandu
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £23 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing