We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Chic”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #114 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Excelsior via a 'recommendation' from another guest house. It wouldn't really be my first choice but rather than trawl the streets looking for something better, we decided to stay.

The hotel is located centrally in Thamel which is a bonus, walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is pretty tired and outdated. It looked like it hadn't been refurbished since it opened and the lobby was dark and uninviting. However, the staff were friendly, giving us a wan smile and knew in their hearts that the hotel wasn't the best.

We were shown to our room (classed as a 'double deluxe room') which was at the end of a clean and tidy corridor. The room was basic, it had no frills and lavish furnishings which is what one would expect in an old hotel, but it was not worth the money we paid (I managed to negotiate it from USD60 plus tax to USD50 including tax).

The air con unit was on its last legs and made a noisy whirring sound like it was about to take off, the curtains were threadbare, the bathroom falling apart (see pic of glass shelf) and the wood actually peeling off the back of the cupboard. We did have a balcony though - bonus!

In the middle of the night we were awoken with shouting in the street and cats fighting - oh well, we were having to get up early for the mountain flight anyway.

The saving grace for this hotel is the nice staff (the man on reception sent up some drinks for us, which was a thoughtful gesture) and clean sheets!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Impa_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

We were told by the Kathmandu Guest House, "we are fully booked out for every types of rooms" and "we will arrange your stay in our annex which is just next to us." We were then picked up at the airport and transported to the Hotel Excelsior. It was actually located down the street from KGH but the staff was pleasant and the room we were in was adequate--mostly clean, a little small, typical hard bed and small pillow, clean sheets, fairly quiet, and warm showers if we let the water run a long time before getting in. Everything was OK for a budget hotel except for the price. For a triple with no AC we paid US$ 40.00 plus 10% service charge and 13% tax per night. On other occasions we paid at least 10USD less for better rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Dear Travelers; I too had the opportunity and pleasure of staying at the Hotel Excelsior when I journeyed through Nepal. The rooms were certainly not the Hyatt but very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The linens and towels were changed daily, and I did have hot water anytime I needed to utilize it.
The food was delicious.I love to travel but my stomach hates it, and I had no problems eating any meal in the hotel. In fact, they have a lovely rooftop graden area, and I enjoyed my breakfast there every morning with stunning panoramic views of the Kathmandu area and the surrounding mountains.
The location can't be beat, and you can walk to your shopping hearts desire from this location. The hotel can even set you up with car and driver for more personal touring. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

5  Thank Joesph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2005

We were obliged to stay at the Excelsior when a confirmed booking at the Kathmandu Guest House was not honoured. It was truly terrible. The reception hall was actually quite reasonable, but the rooms were not. They were dirty and tired, and the bedcoverings, mattresses and pillows were filthy, although the sheets were clean. The bathroom was horrible, with cracked and dirty tiling, broken fittings and cold water. We didn't risk the breakfast here. Don't stay here unless you really, really have to.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixie Cristobel... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenzing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Stanze sul retro ai piani alti
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TorongLa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gezellig33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunsang D, Owner at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 207 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#31 of 207 in Kathmandu
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 207 in Kathmandu
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £27 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing