We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel close to tourist area”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #66 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Manang in December 2011 while on a Gap Adventures trip to Mount Everest. All I can say is the Hotel Manang is...adequate, especially for the area. The staff are friendly and speak very good English. The location is pretty close to the tourist area of Thamel, as in around the corner close. But the hotel itself isn't anything spectacular, but I gave it a 3 because of the area.

The hotel room is basic. Two twin beds, a dresser, old tube TV, a rounded table with two chairs, and a couple of bedside tables. And the bathroom has a sink, toilet, and a shower/half tub combo. Yes, it has a half tub. You have enough room to squat in the tub, not to stretch out your legs. The shower has two shower heads, the standard one up high, and one attached to a hose positioned just above the temperature knobs. Even with the shower curtain, there is absolutely no way to shower in there without soaking the rest of the bathroom. Someone else in the group had their bathroom flood out into the rest of the hotel room. The hotel does have hot water, but you have to turn the faucet on and wait about 10 minutes. And even then the temperature was inconsistent, the water got colder and hotter on its own. You have to keep adjusting the temperature knobs. The beds are hard but unless you're a light sleeper, you shouldn't have any problem with it.

There is a restaurant in the Hotel Manang, I think its called the Base Camp Restaurant. The food is fine, but there are a ton of other restaurants in the area that are much cheaper. There are a lot of shops, cafes, and a couple bars and lounges just a few blocks away the Hotel Manang. There is a roof top bar nearby that is pretty nice. Take a right out of the Hotel Manang gate, make a left at the Y intersection and continue down until you hit a grocery store on the left hand corner. Make that left and about a half block down you should see "Roof top bar" or "roof top lounge" on a sign on your right hand side. Just be careful if you're a girl going there on your own. The girls I went with had a problem with the guys cause they got a little too handsy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDiver399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is pretty good, excellent breakfast and good location. However as the beds were rock hard we asked for a mattress.Bad decision as I dont think these mattresses were sprayed. Woke up next morning with insect bites.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEITH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

we stayed in nepal for 6 and a half weeks to go trekking and in the times between treks we stayed at hotel manang. it was great to come back to the beds after hiking and the breakfast buffet is fantastic! the lobby and the outside restaurant area is beautiful. all of the staff here were extremely nice and we have no complaints regarding them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I had stayed in Hotel Manang along with friends in December 2011. The location is just perfect with the busy Thamel market situated just a couple of blocks away. The hospitality is good and the hotel has a nice restaurant. But the rooms are a bit shabby and needs to be done up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razvi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

this hotel is perfectly situated at the quiet end of hectic Thamel (2 minutes walk). Manager Suresh Shrestha and his staff are very helpfull and friendly. The lobby is beautiful, The rooms very nice. And breakfast complete (and a lot!).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenkPeterHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hotel looks good on the outside, but rooms were dirty and too much chemical spell in the rooms.
We had a group room booking that were not delivered as per the booking. Very unprofessional practive.
The hotel looks only for your money and that it all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wsherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Comfortable, good hotel is value for money. if you check in on BB please order their Nepali B'fast the night before and they serve you a fabulous Nepali B"fast. Helpful and kind staff

Room Tip: 400's and 500's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#97 of 210 in Kathmandu
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#41 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#77 of 210 in Kathmandu
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#22 of 210 in Kathmandu
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £22 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing