We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayin' in Katmandu”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #47 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
krungthep
2 reviews
“Stayin' in Katmandu”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel Manang consider to be one of the best hotel with a very good service. First of all me and my friend were given a room with an extremely amazing mountain view. Bathroom is new, clean with hot water.WiFi worked perfectly. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful(guys from the reception thank u lots))))). Convenient and quiet location. Will definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you guys for you service,warmth and assistance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    177
    75
    18
    10
See reviews for
68
80
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Superb hotel good service, location is best. i can say one of the best hotels at good price. The rooms are good - we were initially given a room on a lower floor which was quite average and not what we paid for. We were quite happy with the décor and facilities of the second room. Breakfasts are good. People here are very co operative.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan24x7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Really good location in Thamel,very convenient to look around all the shops and interesting places in Thamel.The guardman,the waiter here are perfect,professional and very kind.
Breakfast is also excellent,I stayed here for a whole week from May 28,until June 2.
Only a flaw in an otherwise perfect thing is,everyday here will be no power for several hours,if that happend,you have to go upstairs by your foot,and the WIFI is so week in my room.
Perhaps every hotel in Nepal is under the same situation.
The waiter here is very handsome and pretty,before I leaving Nepal,I took photos with them,that's one of the most beautiful memory in my life when I stayed in Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Manang for the second time during a return trip to Kathmandu. Location is excellent being at the quiet end of Thamel but close enough to have access to great places to eat and shop. We stayed before and after our second trek with Firante Tours and as before were able to leave our extra baggage at the hotel and in the security box. This was very handy. There were a couple of water hiccups but overall we love the Manang and all the staff are excellent. The outside courtyard is ideal for whiling away the day out of the busy street and the coffee from the bakery at the front is excellent. At this price don't expect 5 star and it won't suit fussy visitors but the cleanliness is great, food is yummy and everyone working there is really nice. We would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: get a room with the split air con as the old style in the window ones are noisy. 4th floor has some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mullaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location in Thamel. The refurbished rooms are good - we were initially given a room on a lower floor which was quite average and not what we paid for. We were quite happy with the decor and facilities of the second room.

Breakfasts are good.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a refurbished room otherwise you'll probably find better value somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I am staying in the Manang twice every year since 2007. It is for me a 'typical' hotel in Thamel. The price is acceptable, the service rather stable and o.k. The rooms are refurbished one after the other but still far from European/U.S. standards. I like the Manang because of its location in Thamel. A comment to its restaurant : breakfast is fine, but to have dinner better look around in Thamel, you will find better ones whatever taste you prefer. If you visit the Manang out of the trekking seasons in spring or autumn, most of the hotel guest will be Indian tourists. Their impact to the restaurant for breakfast is an experience you might like to miss.

I am not an expert in structural analysis of buildings, but if you look around in Thamel you might feel uneasy thinking of a possible earthquake. That applies also to the Manang. But stay optimistic!
Nevertheless, I will visit it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, it is quiter. And the view from the front side is not so interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I've stayed at the Manang every year since 2008, and have to echo the reviewer below: it keeps improving. This time we stayed in one of the refurbished twin rooms on the fourth floor for two weeks. These rooms easily match hotel standards in Europe/the US, the new wet rooms are great, the beds are comfortable, the decor is tasteful and well finished. The rest of the rooms will shortly be renovated. The staff are, as ever, lovely and keen to do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They retain their staff very well and it's great to see familiar faces year after year, people who remember you and genuinely look happy to see you. The Base Camp restaurant has also gone from strength to strength, and the food is probably the best food I've eaten anywhere in Nepal. Every afternoon we had tea and cake in the restaurant, which is worth visiting even if you aren't staying at the hotel. Leaving our luggage in the hotel when we went to Pokhara for a few days wasn't a problem. I heartily recommend it and will definitely be back next year, for six years in a row!

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth and fifth floors have been renovated, but the other floors will soon be reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 198 in Kathmandu
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#92 of 198 in Kathmandu
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#30 of 198 in Kathmandu
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing