We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel smack in the middel of Thamel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #51 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Decent hotel smack in the middel of Thamel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night right after arriving from Holland. The reception was well staffed and our room on the second floor was dated but clean and well set-up. The hotel is on the edge of Thamel which makes it possible to stroll right down the busy streets of the tourist area. Lots of restaurants and shops. The restaurant of the hotel had a very decent menu with local and continental options. The service was friendly and swift. For a one night stay a good hotel, but for longer I would look for something with a bit more atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    172
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
65
79
47
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I return to the Manang year after year and so have been able to see the huge improvements to both the rooms and the restaurant over time. All rooms have now been updated, with new soft furnishings, beds and wet rooms, which would not be out of place in a European hotel. As in all of Nepal, you will experience load-shedding, but there is a generator on-site which means that this is not too much of a pain at all. As mentioned by other reviewers, the staff are really the priceless asset of the hotel. Without fail they are warm, friendly, knowledgable, calm, helpful and efficient, even when the hotel is full and the restaurant is booked solid. The management retain their staff well, and it's been good to see new recruits becoming senior staff over the years. The receptionists, waiters, chefs, bakery staff, chambermaids, gardeners and the other staff are all so willing to help. The food in the restaurant is very good, and the buffet breakfast could last you all day. My tip is to go to the roof to watch the sunset and get a great view of Swoyambhu. (I don't think many people know they are welcome to go up and see the views. There is talk of a bar being constructed up there, which I think is a great idea.) Thank you Shambu, Anil, Ramesh, Apsara, Krishna, Raju, Yakka, and of course not forgetting Devendra and Suresh, and everyone else there. I look forward to seeing you all again next year!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the 4th and 5th floors are the best, as you get even better views than on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Located at the very top of the Thamel area, the hotel is within easy walking distance to the shopping and eating areas of Thamel. Most of the rooms have recently been renovated, but they are still pretty basic. It's also quite difficult to get a double or queen bed (most rooms have 2 single beds). The food in the restaurant is OK, but you will find better and cheaper outside the hotel. The coffee is very good though. As usual in Nepal, the staff are all very friendly, and a pleasure to deal with. Also be aware that there is no power in the hotel from 2:00pm until 5:00pm every day, and no air conditioners cannot be used until 7:00pm. Free WiFi is a welcome extra, but the signal to the rooms on the upper floor is often very weak or non-existent.

Room Tip: When booking, make sue to ask for a room with a 'Large' bed, and preferably on the 2nd or 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Hotel Manag is close to the centre of the Thamel tourist dielectric. The courteous staff are always willing to help and the rooms are in the process of being upgraded. At both ends of my trip to Nepal I stayed in one of the old rooms and one of the new rooms. The rebuild is good and provides neat and tidy facilities at a reasonable price.
Suffers from the perennial problems of load sharing for power so don't expect the elevators to run during the day or the hot water to be on when you wnat a shower to start the day. Carrying bags up the stairs can be tiresome but the porters will help and a tip goes a long way to getting well looked after!
Breakfast is a nice spread and the organic coffee they offer is excellent. All in all a reasonable quality hotel for a reasonable price and a good place to base yourself out of the centre of Thamel but close enough to get in to the heart of the city in a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms - also make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is in thamel, Its a proper city and the proper place for outing and shopping. We booked this hotel trough Suchitra Bhandari from the same hotel. It was a awesome experience, Staff was very good, Very hardworking and very friendly too. They have a small garden area where you can enjoy match on big screen and you can have food and liquor in garden too. We have tried only Indian food there and it was good.Rooms are neat and clean as they took 3hr while doing that but they have only ac in rooms no fan.Do not take room on 3rd and 4th floor because no electricity after 11am. Nice hotel for family trip.

Room Tip: Take roon on 1st floor or 2nd floor only ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woomera, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Manang Hotel.

The Good:
1. Located in Thamel, and thus there is very easy access to restaurants and shopping. Also, it is in a relatively quiet region of Thamel which makes it quieter and potentially safer than elsewhere.

2. Clean rooms, free wifi (slow though), flat LCD TV works all day, heater/air-conditioner at night, hot water all the time.

3. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. There is a security guard and a scruffy guard dog.

The Bad:
1. Lift hardly worked for my entire stay. Not a big problem as staff can port your bags up and down the stairs, but still it can be inconvenient if staying on the higher floors (5 floors of rooms)

2. Food is slightly pricey (despite a 15% hotel-stay discount), but is nonetheless of an acceptable standard.

Conclusion
Manang Hotel provides all the basic amenities but few luxuries and is equivalent to 3-star hotels in other countries. The staff are well trained and most importantly the hotel is clean and safe.

Room Tip: My room on the fifth floor (highest floor) had inconsistent wifi. My room on the fourth floor had m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nightinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

The Hotel Manang is a nice hotel, clean and nice rooms situated in Thamel where you can find all kinds of shopping, restaurants, cafés etc. The staff is very friendly and they always try to solve your problems, whatever it is. There are Wifi in the rooms as well and a generator which run the light and router when there is load shedding which happend two times per day. The food in the restaurant is excellent and can be highly recommended. A good choice for a pleasant stay ín Kathmandu!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Carin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#93 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#100 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#39 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#30 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing