We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of heaven in a sea of chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #46 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Moyock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Piece of heaven in a sea of chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

A clean and wonderful hotel in the Thamel district in Kathmandu. It is located in a quiet area just off a main street. When you exit the hotel, turn to the right and walk down a few blocks and you will find many nice restaurants and shops. The breakfast buffet at the Manang is first-class. Internet connectivity is okay...and better than most of the other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Nepal. Friendly staff....excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    173
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
66
79
47
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a very good hotel here. The rooms are good. The most amazing part of the hotel is the morning breakfast buffet. Also the location is in a very happening area of Thamel. The rooms are good and clean and have heaters installed. All in all was a great experience staying here.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a bigger screen, since tvs in most rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniket_Kshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

...which surely must say it all really! I visit Nepal every year and the Hotel Manang has now become a home from home, with the consistently high standards I've come to expect. And every year there is innovation. This year I found that the owner had bought the building next door and added more rooms to the hotel (not surprising, as it seems to be getting more and more popular). The staff are as welcoming and helpful as ever, with bright, clean rooms, which have been well maintained and are in very good condition after the recent renovations. This year there are BBQs (chicken, pork, lamb) in the garden restaurant. These were delicious and very popular, both with hotel guests and other people who could smell it from the street! We spent an enjoyable evening watching Nepal play very well in the World 20:20 cricket competition, drinking beer and munching peanuts :) Thanks as usual to all the wonderful staff at the Manang who did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible! I will be back in 2015 (if not before!) and I look forward to seeing the newest innovations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to Kathmandu in a university group and got a chance to stay at around 5 different hotels and out of those I have to say that Manang has excelled the rest, their staff is really friendly, the service is great and the food is delicous. It is also located in the middle of a great shopping area and a great night life. I wish I stayed in this Hotel for the whole trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stay in Manang Hotel for 01 Night, Nice cozy room and Hotel Staff is Excellent, Food is also very good. Overall its a very good Hotel!!

Need to Improve Breakfast Options & Rest Everything is perfectly fine!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I reserved two rooms for five nights at the Manang Hotel in February 2014,one for husband and myself and one for my daughter and companion. The hotel staff are wonderful.We felt like family being greeted personally by the hotel manager. The five nights were not consecutive so we experienced different rooms all of which were comfortable. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The location is perfect.We wanted to be near the Chabad House which is a three minute walk away.When we left we were honored by the Buddhist ceremony of goodbye with the traditional yellow scarfs and Namaste presented by the warm and caring staff. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Manang Hotel staff - the Mananger, front desk and service people -
helped my group of 15 in many small practical ways throughout our stay.
They were patient when we were tired and confused. They advised on
what to do and how best to doit. We enjoyed the Thamel local for shopping.
The hotel rooms were more than we needed at a price we could afford.
Most of genuinely nice people.

Craig Smith, Kyoto Japan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Respective Smith Craig Allen, we would like to give thanks for being with us.

we are proud to serve our best service to your group as a part of HABITAT, we always respect our guest and focus on their comfort and good service.

I personally feel happy to assist to your group at the mid night.

Looking forward to see you and group again.

Suresh Shrestha
Hotel Manang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#91 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#102 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#28 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing