We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and inviting hotel in the heart of Thamel”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #55 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of our trip in March, and returned in April after our trek for another 3 days.
This hotel us ideally located close to shopping, restaurants, Durbar Square, the Garden of Dreams and lots of the attractions of Kathmandu.
The lobby and outdoor/ restaurant areas were a haven within this very busy city.
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Hot water was a bit hit and miss, but no huge issue for us.
Internet connectivity was also a bit patchy, but again, no real biggie.
The lift was not in operation while we were there, so lots of steps! However, as we were there for the trekking, as were most other customers, I cannot imagine that the lift was important.
Breakfast was good and plentiful. There was also a good coffee shop next door.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay, and a perfect place to commence and end your visit to Nepal.

Room Tip: Choose a back room as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 4 days and it was awesome experience there. The staff members were very cooperative and room service was excellent. It is located in Thamel which means you are at centre of shopping area. The food quality was really very delicious. They planned our stay and sight seeing in the best manner. Thanks to all management committee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank er_navjotkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A clean and wonderful hotel in the Thamel district in Kathmandu. It is located in a quiet area just off a main street. When you exit the hotel, turn to the right and walk down a few blocks and you will find many nice restaurants and shops. The breakfast buffet at the Manang is first-class. Internet connectivity is okay...and better than most of the other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Nepal. Friendly staff....excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a very good hotel here. The rooms are good. The most amazing part of the hotel is the morning breakfast buffet. Also the location is in a very happening area of Thamel. The rooms are good and clean and have heaters installed. All in all was a great experience staying here.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a bigger screen, since tvs in most rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniket_Kshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

...which surely must say it all really! I visit Nepal every year and the Hotel Manang has now become a home from home, with the consistently high standards I've come to expect. And every year there is innovation. This year I found that the owner had bought the building next door and added more rooms to the hotel (not surprising, as it seems to be getting more and more popular). The staff are as welcoming and helpful as ever, with bright, clean rooms, which have been well maintained and are in very good condition after the recent renovations. This year there are BBQs (chicken, pork, lamb) in the garden restaurant. These were delicious and very popular, both with hotel guests and other people who could smell it from the street! We spent an enjoyable evening watching Nepal play very well in the World 20:20 cricket competition, drinking beer and munching peanuts :) Thanks as usual to all the wonderful staff at the Manang who did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible! I will be back in 2015 (if not before!) and I look forward to seeing the newest innovations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to Kathmandu in a university group and got a chance to stay at around 5 different hotels and out of those I have to say that Manang has excelled the rest, their staff is really friendly, the service is great and the food is delicous. It is also located in the middle of a great shopping area and a great night life. I wish I stayed in this Hotel for the whole trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stay in Manang Hotel for 01 Night, Nice cozy room and Hotel Staff is Excellent, Food is also very good. Overall its a very good Hotel!!

Need to Improve Breakfast Options & Rest Everything is perfectly fine!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikas_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 207 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#16 of 207 in Kathmandu
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £27 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing