We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Manaslu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manaslu
Ranked #114 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed 4 Nights at Hotel Manalsu. Beautifully decorated room, nepalese culture & style. Beautiful garden & pool. Breakfast Excellent. Sometime wi- fi slow. The hotel staff was really great & helpful, need to wait 2 to 4 Min to have hot water.we really enjoyed during our stay.

Room Tip: ask to garden view room, I prefer Room no; 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Customer,
A very warm greeting from Hotel Manaslu. Thank you for giving your valuable time for sharing your memorable experience in Hotel Manaslu.

We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the services provided by our hotel. Our whole team of Hotel Manaslu are very happy to hear that our service has given you such a memorable experience.
We are the team that is providing the authentic nepali services with excellence since 43 glorious years of service. The review of satisfied costumer like you give us a strength to give the excellent service. And we like to assure you that we will be providing the continued excellent service in the future days.

We are waiting for your next arrival and eager to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed a total of 3 nights at this hotel - 2 different stays. It is located in a very quiet location, no noise at night apart from the occasional barking dog.

Our first room overlooked the beautiful garden, beds were ok but room was nice and clean and the shower, although on the small side and with a bathtub without a plug, luckily had hot water!

The second room was more modern, had a great, roomy shower, and very comfortable mattresses.

Lots of choice at breakfast, and very friendly, helpful staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Customer,
Thanks for your response about Hotel Manaslu in TripAdvisor. Its very great to hear that you found our hotel satisfied with everything. Our whole Manaslu team is so happy hear that you had a memorable moment in our hotel during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kathmandu.
Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel before and after our trek to Annapurna Base Camp. It is clean and quiet and the staff are friendly and competent. It is a short taxi ride or a dusty 15 minute walk from Thamal. It was booked for us by Nepal Sanctuary Treks who we highly recommend if you are looking for a tour operator in Nepal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear customer,
We are happy to have your review about Hotel Manaslu in Tripadvisor.com. Thanks for making a little bit of the time available to write few words from your busy schedule.
I personally and all of our staffs are feeling glad to hear that we are able to make your moment memorable in Hotel Manaslu. As we are providing the good service with nepali flavour and nepali culture to all of our customer and the satisfied review of our customer make us to provide the better service than it is at the present.
Thanking you once again and waiting for your next arrival in the near future and eagerly waiting for the day to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our group consisting of 13 people spent 2 nights at the Manaslu in October 2013. Our travel agent paid the fee of the rooms 1 month before our arrival. The first night was OK; we got the good rooms in the main building. After returning from our 1 week tour we arrived at 8 p.m. to the hotel, and the manager has given our good rooms to another guests, as he told, to another group of 8 people because they wanted to stay for longer. 2 of our rooms were good (main building) but the other 5 were extremely bad, shabby, mouldy and outdated (small building at the pool). We wanted to get our money back, but he refused to do it. Instead he offered dinner, which was useless for us as we have had already dinner. As the prices are the same in case of all rooms, I recommend you not to stay in Manaslu, since you cannot know which room will you get. The manager is not a fair person, he should have given us the good rooms since we paid the bill advance.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel, since you may get very bad rooms regardingless to you reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginagrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you are satisfied with our service provided and making your stay in Hotel Manaslu, a memorable stay.

Your words about our hotel have encouraged us to give us better service. And I like to remind you that we are going through the inconvenience you have felt in our hotel manaslu. Also I like to assure you that you will feel comfort next time about the problems you have felt this time.

Once again thanking for your experience and hope that we will be getting more suggestions again and again so that we will know about our best points and drawbacks as well.

Hopefully waiting for your next arrival and welcoming you.

With Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If you are after stain sheets, dirty towels and goodness knows what is living in the carpet, then this is the place for you. We had 3 nights booked and needless to say we left early. No fridge, no kettle and although breakfast is supposed to start at 6:30am so you can start your tours early, don't bank on it happening, or the staff caring but it was no great loss as the breakfast buffet was something I would prefer to miss anyway. This is not a hotel it's a hovel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else this a a total dive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear sir,
Thanks for the review and making your time available to write a review about our hotel.

At the mean time we regret for the inconvenience you have felt during your stay and we like to assure you that we are going through the problems you have mentioned in your review and we are going through the problem seriously to solve them. And i would like to request you not to take this incident as the reflection of our regular service and take this incident as a single incident which happened.

We like to remind you that, Hotel Manaslu is always aiming to provide each and every guest with a specialized and high standard of services.

We are looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again and show you that your review ha resulted in the correction of the things you have mentioned.

Best regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager

Hotel Manaslu Pvt. Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Beautiful architecture, clean rooms with acs working 24/7. Good spread of breakfast, nice pool and packed! Problems = no free wifi. You have to pay for every hour of use...which felt very stone age. And reception staff not available during the night...so hope for no emergencies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear customer,
Its great to hear from you about Hotel Manaslu. Many many thanks for such a worthy review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our service and stay over here. Our main motto is to provide the services in the best way as per the requirement of our guests. And i would like to apologize for the inconvenience you felt during your stay. We ask you to provide us the chance to make amend of our mistakes and make a memorable experience with our team. Looking forward for your next arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

quiet location not too far away from Thamel.
the rooms for singles are not overwhelming! Double rooms see to be better.
staff could be nicer - especially in a highly competitive market. there are other hotels in the immediate neighboorhood. Hotel tibet and hotel radissson ie.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a proper window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netra B, Manager at Hotel Manaslu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear customer,
A warm greeting from Hotel Manaslu and thanks for such a worthy review about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Its a great pleasure for us to serve the customer like you.
We are very happy to know that you are satisfied with our room and the services we provide.

We are looking forward for your next arrival and are eager to provide the excellent service.

Best Regards,
Netra Bhattarai
Manager
Hotel Manaslu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tibet
Hotel Tibet
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#73 of 210 in Kathmandu
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#104 of 210 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Village Hotel & Resort
Park Village Hotel & Resort
#79 of 210 in Kathmandu
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manaslu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manaslu

Address: 230 Hotel Marg | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Manaslu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Hotel Manaslu has kept the proud heritage of Nepal alive throughout its operating years of inimitable service and warm hospitality. Taking pride in the renowned craftsmanship of Nepali artisans, splendid examples of their craft, including many ancient pieces that have been carefully restored, have been incorporated in its architecture. For an intimate experience of Nepal's art and culture, welcome to Hotel Manaslu, a heritage hotel in the truest sense of the word. We could not be more conveniently located-near the old royal palace, close to many important embassies, and at the center of commercial activities, just 10 minute walking distance from the the popular tourist district of Thamel. Although located at such a busy hub, you will find peace and serenity amidst the harmonious surroundings of Hotel Manaslu, your best accommodation in Kathmandu. "At Manaslu, we combine splendor with Nepalese Hospitality. A model of elegance and services with all the comforts of home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Manaslu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaslu Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing