We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #46 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

The staff are excellent and the location is quiet and relaxing, yet close to the chaos of Thamel. The roof top patio is the best in the area and the food is great and fast. The only question I have is whether to stay in the old Hotel Tibet, or the new one in Bhoudanath. I think the new location has an even better patio, very nice grounds, and the bathrooms are probably the best in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unexpected-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    147
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
93
80
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We checked into this hotel after trekking and were happy to have a comfortable, clean room with a hot shower. It's a beautiful place in a quiet part of Kathmandu (seems to be a residential area for consulate/embassy folks). The rooftop is a nice place to read, and the outdoor garden bar area is excellent for having a beer and chilling out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bozleesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed 2 days at the beginning and end of my holiday
The hotel is comfortable, situated in a quiet area about 15 mins walk to Thamel.
The staff were very helpful . There is reasonably priced internet facility in the lobby
Yes I will stay again when visiting Kathmandu

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife and I recently visited this beautiful hotel that has recently opened in Kathmandu. It combines sleek comfortable modern furnishings with authentic Tibet architecture and design. The richness of the craftsmanship—carvings, painting, textiles, etc. and attention to fine detail created a wonderful environment. A wonderful memory of our time in Nepal.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CA108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stay at the recently opened Hotel Tibet near the Boudhanath stupa in Kathmandu. Pricing was very reasonable and the rooms were well appointed. Just a short walk from the stupa which I was able to visit nightly. Very easy to grab a taxi just outside the hotel, the staff was also very helpful in arranging a car if needed. What made my stay most enjoyable was the staff. They were were friendly, personable and willing to help me with what ever I needed taken care of. They spa was also fantastic and I could usually just walk right in for a massage. I would highly recommend this the Hotel Tibet!

Room Tip: The third floor and above have a good view. I stayed on the side away from the street to be away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenm415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, loved the doorman. I enjoyed the location, just a 15 minute walk from Thamel's craziness and away from traffic noise. The lobby is amazing; the rooms, especially the bathroom, are rather tired but comfortable and relatively clean-ish by Nepalese standards. Hot water always worked fine. Breakfast is simple, muesli, toast and eggs. The restaurant serves decent dishes in a lovely garden. I'd come here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Looks great from the lobby but sadly the rooms and the service do not match the initial impression given. My bed cover was stained with "human bodily fluids" (which is putting it politely) and I had to ask three times for this to be changed. When the staff finally got around to doing it, they sent up a very surly young man who told me that they had no clean bedding as the hotel was fully booked up. When I said that they must have a linen cupboard with spare bedding, he just looked at me blankly. After the intervention of our tour leader, they miraculously managed to find some clean bedding - all the while insisting that the staining was just from beer.....

Other members of my group suffered similar experiences - one of whom had blood stained sheets and no hot water, others complained of grubby towels in the bathrooms and floors that had not been cleaned thoroughly. At breakfast, both the cold milk and the butter were off, and the lid to the hot milk jug had not been secured properly meaning that it emptied all over the floor (and my legs) when used.

The fact that my room had a decent shower, fortunately with hot water, is the only redeeming feature. Might have been a nice hotel once but has sadly let standards slip very far.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#62 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#59 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing