We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #42 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Friendly place to stay in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Felt at home straight away. Clean, comfortable room and ensuite. Only had one night here, but would definitely return. Missed the roof top terrace but enjoyed a cup of tea in the foyer. Was given a packed breakfast as my plane was too early for me to eat breakfast in the dining room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jennifer B,
The privilege was all ours! Thanks so much for both the perfect review score and for staying with us recently. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time here. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    147
    56
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
93
80
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Hotel Tibet is a wonderful place to stay in Kathmandu. We were there for 3 days in April and the food was wonderful and the staff exceptional. The roof top terrace was a delightful sanctuary from the busy streets and the beer was always cold! The rooms were clean and spacious and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gissy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Gissy44
Thank you for taking time out to write a review about us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Tibet and had a memorable experience. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the property.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

With friendly staff,helpful service,the front desk is the window to your stay.You will be impressed.
A well informed concierge delivers with a smile
The foyer is spacious and comfortable,as a meeting and resting place.
An ILLY coffee is available, and light delectable bakery items are recommended,as is all the food from both the lower and upper kitchens.
The lower kitchen services the main dining,and the upper services the YETI BAR and areas.
These areas include the open air of a well furnished rooftop,and a cosy inner area,both with views over the city.
Very interesting historical photos,facts, carpets and weavings on display.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyguyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear FlyguyNZ ,
We were pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser. We look forward to having you back at Hotel Tibet!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

In brief
Clean, spacious rooms
Good food
Very helpful travel desk
Lovely roof top bar
Exceptional customer service

Time spent at the Hotel Tibet will enhance any stay in Kathmandu. A five star product is delivered at a price significantly less than some of its five star neighbours.
The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The restaurant delivers a very good standard of food with a nice variety. The travel desk will cater for all your travel needs as it did for me when I requested a very last minute flight to and accommodation in Pokhara.
The stand out however at Hotel Tibet is the outstanding customer service. You are more likely to bump into a Yeti after which the excellent roof terrace is named than you are to meet a member of staff who is not helpful, efficient and incredibly friendly.
This hotel is with out doubt exceptional value very well placed for what Kathmandu has to offer whilst a pleasure to return to after a day exploring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Toby-Traveling,
Thank you for sharing your superb experience and we are delighted to learn that you had memorable experience with us. We will continue to work hard to proof our self worthy of your every praise. I hope you are healthy by the time. We look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet soon.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a comfortable room. The hotel has a roof terrace with good views and a downstairs restaurant with outside eating area.Nice choice of vegetarian curries, best we had in Nepal. The location is quite quiet with a few small shops in street and then a few minutes to main street, which we did not explore as it was dark

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear gee70,
Thank you for taking time out to write a review about us. We are glad to hear that you liked our roof top restaurant and food as well. We hope to see you again and give you even better service. Once again we thank you for being a part of our hotel and we look forward to serving you in future.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British living in Oman
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I could not fault gage customer service. The Tibet hotel so what it is. A 3 star with excellent customer service and the best roof top bar. We loved it and will book here in future. The supervisor, Tara was professional and welcoming: a real asset to the hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorkeller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Snorkeller02,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback and great review. We are very delighted to learn you had memorable experience with us. We have shared your wonderful remarks with our staff and it is highly appreciated by all. We will continue to work hard to proof our self worthy of your every praise. We look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet soon.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I look forward to returning to my favorite place in Kathmandu, walking distance to the mountaineering equipment and other shopping in Thamel, yet in a peaceful location. Stunning handpainted details and authentic handmade carpet adorn even the comfortable rooms, which are clean and spacious. I enjoyed the extensive delicious menu and choice of dining areas, the outstandingly friendly and helpful staff, the spa service, beautiful carpet showroom and concierge service for everything I needed including shopping, trekking needs, airport, and cultural sites such as Bouddhanath. I especially thought the Yeti bar and terrace was a perfect place for a drink with friends, casual business meeting or expedition preparations. It was also a pleasure to visit with owner Tsering Dolkar and share in her gracious company and fond memories of the many Everest summiters and other prominent alpinists she has known and helped along the way.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor had direct access to the yeti terrace and was close to the meditation ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Laurelyn S,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback and great review. Thank you for your kind words about our spa and restaurant, as we take great pride in our attention to detail. Our culinary team works tirelessly to put together a stunning presentation. We also appreciate your mention of the decor and amenities of our hotel. No effort was spared in the decor and furnishing, carefully selected to exceed all expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the property!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#62 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#50 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing