We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #42 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our arrival in Nepal. The hotel is located in an excellent location for visiting the Boudhanath Stupa and the Pashupatinath Temple in the East of Kathmandu. Staff were friendly and attentive for the duration of our stay. While at the hotel we ate at the restaurant on the terrace, the food was delicious and reasonably priced. The price for the hotel was relatively high for Nepal, we stayed at another similar spec/priced hotel later on in our trip and found ourselves wishing we had gone back to Hotel Tibet International instead. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Healsby,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. We are very delighted to learn you had memorable experience with our sister concern hotel – Hotel Tibet International. We will convey your great review to Hotel Tibet International. They will continue to work hard to proof themselves worthy of your every praise. We look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet and Hotel Tibet International soon.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    157
    57
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
95
83
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I'm Italian.
Knowing Kathmandu, this hotel could easily be ranked best deal of the city, for convenience and cleanliness. Hot water and almost all the time electricity: go there.
Not all the room are equal, I've slept in one not-that-good at the first floor, and another very good at the second. $65 for a dus, that is an enormity in Kathmandu.
I forgot a new pair of earphones (€20, a monthly salary for a housekeeper) outside my locked bag during the cleaning, and it obviously disappeared.
My fault, but if it is normal in a $20 hotel, shouldn't be in this one.
Relaxing bar on the roof where sometimes the free internet connection works.

Room Tip: Ask far from engine generators of electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear enricoca,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. Pardon us that you lost your new ear phone pair. If our housekeeping staff has found your ear phone then they could have definitely handover as they have handover $700 iPhone, apple mini pad and bundle of cash as well. Genuinely we are very sorry further we look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet soon.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is in walking distance to the stupa and on a quiet street. From our window we could see people walking with their prayer beads to go pray so it was interesting. Reception staff checked us in promptly and greeted us with the Nepalease sash.The room was spacious and well fitted out. The restaurant on the roof top served a great breakfast and had a nice breeze. Made to order breakfast combined with buffet style.

Room Tip: The room had a little sofa perfect for one of our children to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear NMandLittleNomads,
I am pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser. I have shared your wonderful remarks with our staff and it is highly appreciated by all.
We look forward to having you back at Hotel Tibet!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Felt at home straight away. Clean, comfortable room and ensuite. Only had one night here, but would definitely return. Missed the roof top terrace but enjoyed a cup of tea in the foyer. Was given a packed breakfast as my plane was too early for me to eat breakfast in the dining room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jennifer B,
The privilege was all ours! Thanks so much for both the perfect review score and for staying with us recently. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time here. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Hotel Tibet is a wonderful place to stay in Kathmandu. We were there for 3 days in April and the food was wonderful and the staff exceptional. The roof top terrace was a delightful sanctuary from the busy streets and the beer was always cold! The rooms were clean and spacious and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gissy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Gissy44
Thank you for taking time out to write a review about us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Tibet and had a memorable experience. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the property.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

With friendly staff,helpful service,the front desk is the window to your stay.You will be impressed.
A well informed concierge delivers with a smile
The foyer is spacious and comfortable,as a meeting and resting place.
An ILLY coffee is available, and light delectable bakery items are recommended,as is all the food from both the lower and upper kitchens.
The lower kitchen services the main dining,and the upper services the YETI BAR and areas.
These areas include the open air of a well furnished rooftop,and a cosy inner area,both with views over the city.
Very interesting historical photos,facts, carpets and weavings on display.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyguyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear FlyguyNZ ,
We were pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser. We look forward to having you back at Hotel Tibet!
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In brief
Clean, spacious rooms
Good food
Very helpful travel desk
Lovely roof top bar
Exceptional customer service

Time spent at the Hotel Tibet will enhance any stay in Kathmandu. A five star product is delivered at a price significantly less than some of its five star neighbours.
The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The restaurant delivers a very good standard of food with a nice variety. The travel desk will cater for all your travel needs as it did for me when I requested a very last minute flight to and accommodation in Pokhara.
The stand out however at Hotel Tibet is the outstanding customer service. You are more likely to bump into a Yeti after which the excellent roof terrace is named than you are to meet a member of staff who is not helpful, efficient and incredibly friendly.
This hotel is with out doubt exceptional value very well placed for what Kathmandu has to offer whilst a pleasure to return to after a day exploring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Toby-Traveling,
Thank you for sharing your superb experience and we are delighted to learn that you had memorable experience with us. We will continue to work hard to proof our self worthy of your every praise. I hope you are healthy by the time. We look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet soon.
Tashi Delek!
Roji Buddhacharya
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#21 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manaslu
Hotel Manaslu
#112 of 203 in Kathmandu
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#67 of 203 in Kathmandu
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing