We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #50 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Superb, bespoke hotel. We loved the ambience, the staff and the closeness to Thamel. We didn't get to Thamel till late (10 mins walk) as we spent a lot of time in the jewellery shops outside the hotel!
From the doorman to the waiters, the staff were wonderful. Our rooms were clean and well appointed and had a balcony for taking tea!
The entrance hall was beautifully decorated in Tibetan style - we had driven in from Tibet and after ten days of egg rice or buff, the food was also excellent.
If you are going to Kat. don't miss it!

  • Liked — closeness to Thamel and lovely ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank havefeet..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    146
    55
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
89
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

We spent four nights at the Yak and Yeti before traveling to Tibet, when we returned we stayed at Hotel Tibet and it was wonderful. The bathrooms were much nicer than Yak and Yeti, the tv (i know it sounds terrrible) offered much more in terms of english channels, and the hotel and lobby is beautiful. They have a nice patio area for drinks and food (which was great) and also a rooftop terrace. Most importantly, the staff was friendly and attentive. The only negatives - the towels were a bit worn and tattered, and the dining staff offered friendly but slow service.

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Disliked — its a bit worn
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beezus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2006

While wandering through the tumult and stress that is Thamel I came across this little hotel... botique by nepalese standards. The rooms are simple and clean. The breakfasts are filling and the staff is terrific. A find methinks...

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ccustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2006

We were in Kathmandu during the recent demonstrations and curfews and the The Hotel Tibet was a beautiful oasis of calm - clean, efficient , nice decor and a real friendly welcome - only a family business could deliver this service. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all. Nigel Feetham. Nottingham UK

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NigeFeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2006

Hotel Tibet felt like a "home away from home"! Exceptional staff & owners, each going out of their way to be helpful & welcoming. Good sized room with balcony overlooking small street in front of hotel. Clean rooms with attached bathroom (bathtub & hot water!), excellent storage for unpacked items, comfortable beds. Food good, with choice of dining in outside patio area. Grounds small, but nicely landscaped. Hotel beautifully decorated in Tibetan style. Storage room for traveler's items is a plus. Left suitcase there on extended side trip to Tibet. Miss this hotel & would stay in no other if/when in Kathmandu again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travellinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2006

This is a very late review, but I am new to tripadvisor. I can't say enough about our trip and stay in Nepal. We had a great time, the staff was very friendly and very helpful! We were on a clinic abroad mission and after taking care of thousands of Nepalis, we were always welcomed back to the hotel with smiles, food, and love. Everything we needed was provided for without exemption. I would highly recommend staying here, why stay at the Radisson, when you have come all the way to Nepal?

  • Stayed July 2003, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dharmadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2005

Tsering and her family have created an oasis in the frenzy that is Kathmandu. The hotel is grand and lovely. The service and food is superb. For those of you who knew Tsering when she had her shop in Thamel many years ago, this hotel is built by her Father and family and is one of the best places to stay in kathmandu. Whether on a trek or an expedition, I highly recommend it as a base in kathmandu.

Stayed October 2000
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#17 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heranya
Hotel Heranya
#60 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#49 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Lazimpat Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing