We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like paradise”
Review of Hotel Vajra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vajra
Ranked #102 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
276 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Like paradise”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came back disappointed from Tibet and dicovered this wonderful hotel in the middle of a picturesque garden with wooden ornamentations. It was like reaching the paradise. The staff is very welcoming and nice. We felt like kings there. Definetely come back this year!

Room Tip: Close to the tourist attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zwillingsseele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    71
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
60
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

spent two nights here at the beginning of our South Asia trip.
On the positive side the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms spacious, the rooftop bar amazing, especially at night with a great view of the illuminated Monkey Temple which is close by, good breakfast and a wonderfully well kept, peaceful gardens with amazingly exotic plants. The place is very quiet compared to the rest of the busy and noisy city.
On the negative side the sheets weren't exactly clean but I guess that's asking a lot in a city where there isn't an awful lot of fresh water.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I in love with this place. we start our journey from here
very lovely and nice service, with caring and helpful personal.
this hotel spaces out on little areas to chill out with unique atmosphere and all together it`s become a unique lovely place of peace..
next time I do it again.
on my breakfast time I meet there very nice people from all countries in a world.
off course if you go critical to compare with 5 stars, you will find the internet connection is not stable. or sometimes you just use the candles because is no electricity for some time..
but this is about different kind of luxury - to connect with your soul luxury

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sacred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagadin, Ohrid, Macedonia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Located outside of the busy centre of Kathmandu, Vajra offers complete peace and tranquillity inside a beautiful exotic green garden. There is variety or rooms for different budget. The architecture of a temple like building is really amazing. It is easy for transportation by taxi and it is only 15 min. walking distance from the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was a part of a group who spent several nights before going to Tibet and several nights upon return. The shared room was comfortable, great shower, and views of the garden. The restaurant was excellent and the menu was varied. Amenities such as Ayurvedic massage were reasonable and of good quality. The outside garden was a quiet and peaceful place to relax with a drink and a good book. Great location for walking to sights yet quiet and removed from the hustle of the city. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the Vajra again but possibly in a less expensive room. Ceiling fans would have been an asset.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Such a beautiful Hotel.We stayed here back in May of 2012.The Hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens and the smell of the flowers that grow in it is wonderful.

There doesn't seem to be any power cuts at this hotel so that's a massive bonus.

The staff are lovely and helpful and don't expect a tip from you.This is also a plus when travelling for a long time as we were.

Our room was serviced ever day to a high standard.It's nice to come home to fresh,clean towels each evening and a nice clean bed.

We stayed in the back packers part of the Hotel and had a shared toilet and shower.Saying that though,we didn't feel like we were sharing the bathroom with other guests.We later found out that we were sharing.Not once did we have to wait for the shower or toilet.You only share with the room next door so it's not like there's going to be a big wait or anything.

it's a beautiful place with lovely staff and at around £10 a night for the back packers rooms we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: The back packer section is just a nice as the more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was amazing. We spent a few nights here before and after our trekking. At first, we loved it because it was so quiet in the middle of the city, it is close to Monkey Temple and other attractions, and it is beautiful. Wonderful rooftop bar, many flowers, and comfortable. After trekking, it felt like home to some weary hikers. I would stay here again if (when) I return to Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AveryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#19 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vajra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vajra

Property: Hotel Vajra
Address: Bijeswari, Swayambhu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vajra 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vajra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vajra Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing